Anna Vertrees Love Ackerly had a life-long relationship with home economics. This collection includes a summary of her many accomplishments, but highlights her career as an active member of New York State Federation of Home Bureaus. She held many positions within this organization, including Vice-Chairman of the County Executive Committee, Secretary-Treasurer (and later director) of the Eastern District, and International Relations Chairman. The collection includes writings from other members of the NYSFHB, her friends, and her family on the topic of her life.

Sarah Gibson Blanding was born in Lexington, Kentucky and earned an A.B. from the University of Kentucky in 1923, an M.A. from Columbia in 1926, and studied at the London School of Economics from 1928 to 1929. She went on to become an educator. During her time at the University of Kentucky, from 1919 to 1941, she was an instructor of physical education, professor of political science, and dean of women. She then moved on to become the director of the New York State College of Home Economics at Cornell University, and finally a dean, then president, of Vassar College. The collection contains material pertaining to her career, including an oral history transcript about her time directing the College of Home Economics at Cornell.

Home economist, hospital dietician, principal of Miss Farmer's School of Cookery (1915-1944), and cooking editor for the Woman's Home Companion (1916-1936), Bradley was a nutrition consultant for the government and private industry, teacher at cooking schools and on the radio, and the author of numerous cookbooks, manuals, and articles. Most of the collection consists of brochures and clippings from Miss Farmer's School of Cookery and biographies of Alice Bradley by her sister, Marion Bradley Atwood.

The American Home Economics Association was founded in 1909 and served as the voice for the home economics profession in America. This collection includes State Governors' letters in reply to AHEA President Florence Wilkinson Low's request for support for the President's Commission on the Status of Women. The AHEA published a number of bulletins, newsletters, and journals, some of which are held at the Schlesinger, such as News-Letter: American Home Economics Association, AHEA: A History of Excellence, The Journal of Home Economics, and For You... A Career in Home Economics.

This collection consists of one notebook, entitled Persis Conant Cook Book, which contains handwritten notes and recipes that probably were taken during a cooking class. The notes are divided by lesson on topics such as washing dishes, using a stove, and setting the table, as well as recipes for common dishes. The collection also contains a pamphlet advertising uses and recipes for Sea Moss Farine, and a pamphlet of recipes for Wm. Underwood Co's deviled meats.

The Cambridge Home Information Center was a small, community-based organization in Massachusetts. It consisted of middle-class homemakers from the area who needed such an organization in light of the changing role of housewives after World War I. Originally, the Center was an educational organization hosting courses on cooking and household management, and offered consulting sessions once a week with a home economist. During World War II, members assisted with the war effort through home economy projects. By 1947, the Center's goal was to help its members adjust to the often changing problems and expectations of home management. These records contain administrative records and bylaws, membership lists, correspondence, menus, recipes, and photographs.

Laura Oakes Cushman was a Home Economics educator. She taught domestic science at the Walter E. Fernald State School and later the Boston Cooking School. In 1941 she led a Mobile Canteen Cookery Course for the Massachusetts Women's Defense Corps. An instructor at Miss Farmer's School of Cookery in Boston, Cushman also taught at the New England School of Home Arts, the Household Nursing Association, and Framingham State College. This collection includes a memory book, photographs, yearbooks, and Cushman's diaries from 1918 to 1976, many of which detail her extensive travels with Alice Bradley, an acquaintance from Miss Farmer's School of Cookery. It also includes lesson plans, recipes, and other teaching materials from Miss Farmer's School of Cookery, the Boston Cooking School, and the Mobile Canteen Cookery course, among others, and recipes collected by Cushman including those of the Food Magician and his Boston radio series, World Rambles in Epicurean Cookery.

Home economist, lecturer, and author, Frederick campaigned for more efficiency in the kitchen. She set up and directed the Applecroft Home Experiment Station on Long Island, wrote on household management and the role of women as consumers, was an editor for Ladies Home Journal and The American Weekly, and in the 1950s became an interior decorator. She and her husband, J. George Frederick, had helped found the Advertising Women of New York in 1912. The collection primarily contains photographs of Frederick's work at Applecroft Home Experiment Station, but also includes correspondence, speeches, pamphlets, and some documents and photographs pertaining to her personal life.

Grace E. Frysinger was a well-educated home economist who served as an instructor at the School of Domestic Science and Arts in Chicago, the director of the Home Economics Department at Bellmont College in Nashville, a food conservation lecturer in New York City, and the senior home economist at the Extension Service of the United States Department of Agriculture. This collection contains materials relevant to Frysinger's work re-educating rural women and the Rural Home Conference in Washington, D.C in 1934.

Hattie A. Harlow was a seamstress and music teacher from Brockton and Bridgewater, Massachusetts. This collection consists of hand-sewn scrapbooks containing manuscript instructions in knitting, lacemaking, gardening, cooking, personal care, and various household remedies. Also included are clippings, reading lists, physiological drawings, rules for business, phrenological diagrams, and other examples of self-instruction; and one flyer advertising her services.

Home Economists in Business, a section of the American Home Economics Association, had its beginnings in 1921 when a small group of women announced their desire to have a section of the organization devoted to business interests. It was founded in 1924. Members of the HEIB were employed by food and textile manufacturers, utility companies, and women's magazines, where they facilitated communication between producers and women consumers. The HEIB also evaluated and made recommendations for home economics curricula at American colleges and universities. The archival records contain history and administrative information, records of the governing boards of the HEIB, financial information, photographs, and audiovisual material related to the history, objectives, and future of the HEIB. The Schlesinger Library holds a significant amount of published material related to the HEIB, such as The News Letter about All of Us, Timely Topics, National News Notes, and Communique.

Marjorie Child Husted was an advertising executive, home economist, and director of the Home Service Department of General Mills, Inc. She planned and implemented the "Betty Crocker" radio program for twenty years, beginning in 1926. The collection contains biographical material, typescripts of six speeches, and pamphlets regarding women in business.

The Institute of Women's Professional Relations was established in 1928 in New London, Connecticut, to raise the level and number of women in professional positions. The bulk of this collection consists of studies and interviews on chemistry, banking dietetics, and home economics, and studies and reports carried out in cooperation with Works Progress Administration project 2132 and the League Women Voters, on Connecticut and Rhode Island state governments.

Betty Hosmer Mawardi was an alumnae of Radcliffe College, Harvard Graduate School, and Wellesley College. She earned her Ph.D. in Social Psychology from Radcliffe College in 1959. Throughout her life, Mawardi worked in academia, taking jobs at Wellesley College, Harvard University, and Case Western Reserve University. This collection consists of a notebook, probably from her home economics class at Horace Mann School, containing recipes, lists of utensils, layout of a table setting, etc. It also contains a notebook containing recipes clipped from magazines, and typed notes from an undated lecture concerning her travels in Egypt.

Emily Sibley grew up in Cambridge Massachusetts. She attended Radcliffe College and later Simmons College, where she was educated in home economics. She went on to teach home economics at many different institutions, eventually settling into a part-time position teaching home economics at the Choate School in Brookline, Massachusetts. This collection contains family accounts and recipes, lectures on home economics, and lecture notes on cookery, budgeting, diet, nutrition, and dressmaking. Several recipes from this collection have been digitized and are available online through the finding aid for the Papers of Emily Sibley.

Evelyn Schmitt Wallace was a homemaker and teacher from Stratford, Connecticut. She married David Wallace in 1954, and they had three children together. She stayed at home with them until 1973 when she began teaching English at Prospect Hall in Frederick, Maryland. This collection consists of diaries, notebooks, correspondence, and household account books detailing her daily activities, menus, housekeeping chores, and finances. Her diaries become more personal and reflective in her later years, after she was diagnosed with breast cancer and the illness began to progress.

The first woman journalist in Boston, White used the pseudonym Penelope Penfeather. As special reporter for the Boston Post in 1870, she covered women suffrage conventions and related activities. She continued to report on women's rights activities and local news and advised on fashion and household problems for the Boston Herald until shortly before her death. This collection includes family correspondence, letters White received from notable persons, volumes of clippings of her newspaper articles and columns, photographs, a biographical essay on White by her granddaughter, and papers of her daughter Grace Elinor Joy (White) Pratt. Additional related material can be found in the Additional Papers of Sallie Joy White.

Beatrice Jeanette Whiting grew up in Richmond, Virginia and spent her life as a primary and secondary school teacher. She taught home economics at the all-black Armstrong High School in Richmond, Virginia, and eventually earned a four-year college degree. After Whiting retired in 1960, she received an award from the Old Dominion Vocational Association for her many years of faithful service in the public schools of Richmond, Virginia. She never married. This collection consists of a volume of sewing exercises dating to about 1915 with instructions and samples completed by Whiting. Also included is a volume of congratulatory messages presented to Whiting by the faculty of Armstrong High School upon her retirement in 1960.