Good Housekeeping was founded in 1885 and is still published today. It contains recipes, advice for health and diet, and literary articles on the topic of home economics. Schlesinger Library holds issues of Good Housekeeping ranging from 1885 to 2018 with gaps. Harvard affiliates and in-person researchers can access Good Housekeeping online through the Women's Magazine Archive.

Housekeeper's weekly began publication in 1890 and ceased in 1893. Schlesinger Library holds ten issues, the bulk of which are from 1892.

Four issues of this monthly magazine from Housewife Publishing Company in New York are available at Schlesinger Library. A title from July 1890's cover reads, "The Housewife makes the home and the home makes the nation." Schlesinger Library holds three issues from 1889, and one from 1913.

Ladies' Home Journal is an American magazine first published in 1883 and is a long standing, popular women's magazine. The Ladies' Home Journal was also published under the title of The Ladies Home Journal and Practical Housekeeper. Harvard affiliates and in-person researchers can access Ladies Home Journal online via the Women's Magazine Archive.

The Schlesinger Library holds the annual cumulation of the monthly Magazine of Domestic Economy from 1838.

This magazine is part of the History of Women microfilm collection, and as such has been digitized. Harvard affiliates and in-person researchers can access The Mother at Home and Household via Gale's Nineteenth Century Collections Online. This database is available to all Harvard affiliates and in-person visitors. Available volumes range from January - November, 1869.

New England Kitchen Magazine was published under a variety of titles from 1894 - 1907. Published in Boston by Miss Anna Barrows and Mrs. Estelle M.H. Merrill, the magazine was published first as The New England Kitchen Magazine (from 1894 - 1895), then as American Kitchen Magazine (1895 - 1903), Home Science Magazine (1903 - 1905), Modern Housekeeping (1905 - 1906), and, finally, Everyday Housekeeping (1906 - 1907).

Schlesinger Library holds the proceedings of the first through third conferences, September 1899, July 1900, and June of 1901, of the proceedings of the annual Lake Placid Conference on Home Economics, held on the topic of the latest advancements in the field.

This zine by Emma Karin Eriksson was published in 2013.

Catharine Beecher is the author of one of the best known books of advice on housekeeping, A Treatise on Domestic Economy: For the Use of Young Ladies at Home and at School, which was published in 1843 and which she dedicated to American mothers. She later wrote Miss Beecher's Domestic Receipt-Book: Designed as a Supplement to her Treatise on Domestic Economy. Her book Principles of Domestic Science: As Applied to the Duties and Pleasure of Home was published in 1870, and was written by Beecher to be used as a text-book for young women in higher education. Catharine Beecher's well-known sister, Harriet Beecher Stowe, was her co-author for The American Woman's Home, or, Principles of Domestic Science: Being a Guide to the Formation and Maintenance of Economical, Healthful, Beautiful, and Christian Homes, published in 1869. The revised edition, The New Housekeeper's Manual, was published in 1874.

Written by Sarah Josepha Buell Hale, this book contains recommendations about how to cook a variety of meals, as well as Hale's reflections on the works of Dr. Combe, a food and health expert of the day, and recommendations about when to eat and how much. It also contains her religious musings related to food.

Published in 1924, this bibliographic work was written by Annie Isabel Robertson, a home economics teacher at Hartford Public High School. You can access Guide to Literature of Home and Family Life online via HathiTrust.

Caitlin Flanigan, social critic and staff writer for the New Yorker, published To Hell With All That in 2006. It contains reflections on the rituals that shape women's lives today in comparison to the rituals and experiences of fifties housewives. It is written in a humorous tone.

Author Maria Parloa founded the original cooking school in Boston and wrote prolifically on topics related to home economics. This book contains advice for women and servants on the matters of home economics covers a range of topics from laundry, to providing good table service, to buying meat, to removing stains.

Written by Isabel Bevier and Susannah Usher The Home Economics Movement is a history of home economics published in 1906. It contains chapters on home economics in agricultural colleges and state universities, cooking schools, and home economics in public schools, as well as an introduction to the work.

Written by Mrs. Christine Frederick and published for the first time in 1915 by the Home Economics Association, this book contains recommendations for the efficient home maker, including family financing and record-keeping, how to run a servantless household (or, alternatively, how to manage houseworkers), and methods of daily planning of housework. You can access Household Engineering through Harvard's Mirador Viewer.

Written by Charles Pierce and published in 1857, contains advice for in-home servants in order to "create harmony in households." It outlines the duties of all servant positions in the household.

Television personality and businesswoman Martha Stewart is famous for her housekeeping and homemaking advice. This book, published in 2006, contains her recommendations on interior design, personal organization, and effective cleaning methods, as well as anecdotes about her personal experiences caring for homes.

Published in 2005, this is a collection of poetry by American women authors about housekeeping. Featured poets include Margaret Atwood, Jan Beatty, Marilyn Chin, Barbara Crooker, and Geraldine Conolly.

Published in 1813 in Manchester England, this work is alternatively titled Frugal Housewife and is a well-known home economics reference guide containing information on pickling and preserving, potting, and cooking. It also contains directions for letter writing, drawing, and painting.