From this page you can access research guides on topics covered by the Schlesinger Library's collections, how to... guides, and information about planning for a future visit.

This is a guide to digitized content from the Schlesinger Library's collections, highlighting collections that have been fully and partially digitized. Check out the Research Tips page for advice on using a variety of tools such as HOLLIS Images.

Thousands of photographs from the Schlesinger Library and the Radcliffe College Archives have been digitized and are available through HOLLIS Images. To view only Schlesinger or Radcliffe images, simply select the desired option from the "Repositories" dropdown menu to the right of the search bar.

This guide highlights new e-books that have been added to the Schlesinger Library's book collection. Most will be accessible to Harvard affiliates. If your local library does not provide access or if you have any trouble accessing these resources, please contact us.
Note: Although this Public Books Database resource is not technically part of the Schlesinger Library's collections, it does include access to e-books that relate directly to themes of the collections: gender, sexuality, feminisms, culinary topics, and more.

This research guide lists databases and e-resources that relate to Schlesinger Library collections - gender, sexuality, activism, women's health, culinary topics, and more. Some databases are accessible only by Harvard affiliates, but we have included open access resources whenever possible.

This research guide allows you to explore biographies for the women who were interviewed and the actual interview contents - all online. You can search across all of the digitized interview transcripts on the "Search" page of the guide.

In response to Black Lives Matter and anti-racism movements in spring 2020, the Schlesinger Library began a project to highlight Black women's voices from within the library's collections. This project became Hear Black Women's Voices, sharing curated audio and video clips, photographs, and other materials. The companion research guide presents those posts along with additional content from the Schlesinger Library and resources beyond Harvard University. This resource is intended for students, researchers, and activists seeking to study and learn from African American women leaders.

In the summer of 2020, the Schlesinger Library launched the Suffrage School, a platform where a broad array of researchers, writers, and teachers have been invited to create a series of digital teaching modules. Each lesson in the Suffrage School connects in rich and unpredictable ways to the Library’s Long 19th Amendment Project, which tackles the tangled history of gender and American citizenship.

This exhibition site is the digital expression of the brick-and-mortar exhibit 75 Stories, 75 Years that was on view in 2018. The 75 documents and objects in this anniversary exhibition evoke the depth and breadth of the Library’s holdings. They tell 75 stories—harrowing, heartbreaking, pathbreaking, brave—about women’s lives and about the history of the Schlesinger Library itself.

Two years of Hidden Collections grants from the Harvard Library allowed Schlesinger Library to select, catalog, and digitize a large portion of photograph collections that document the women’s liberation movement between the late 1960s and 1980s. The exhibit includes photographs by Bettye Lane and Freda Leinwand.

This guide provide links to digitized content from Radcliffe College related collections and related resources.