Slavic and East European Film at Harvard : General Resources
A still from: Dziga and his brothers / Tsymbal, Y., Selʹianov, Libergal, & Milestone Film & Video. (2002). (Independent World Cinema: Classic and Contemporary Film). Harrington Park, NJ: Milestone Films.Available via Alexander Street Video.
- Biltereyst, Daniël, and Vande Winkel, Roel. Silencing Cinema : Film Censorship around the World. Global Cinema. 2013.
- Bingham, Adam. Directory of World Cinema. East Central Europe. Directory of World Cinema ; v. 8. Bristol, UK ; Chicago, IL: Intellect, 2011.
- Goulding, Daniel J. Post New Wave Cinema in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe. Midland Book. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1989.
- Hames, Peter. The Cinema of Central Europe. 24 Frames. London: Wallflower Press, 2004.
- Haynes, John, and Bahun, Sanja. Cinema, State Socialism and Society in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, 1917-1989 : Re-visions. BASEES/Routledge Series on Russian and East European Studies ; 97. 2014.
- Herzog, Todd, and Gott, Michael. East, West and Centre : Reframing Post-1989 European Cinema. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2015.
- Imre, Anikó. A Companion to Eastern European Cinemas. Wiley-Blackwell Companions to National Cinemas. Malden: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
- Imre, Anikó. East European Cinemas. AFI Film Readers. New York ; London: Routledge, 2005.
- Iordanova, Dina. Cinema of the Other Europe : The Industry and Artistry of East Central European Film. London ; New York: Wallflower, 2003.
- Kristensen, Lars Lyngsgaard Fjord. Postcommunist Film : Russia, Eastern Europe and World Culture : Moving Images of Postcommunism. Routledge Contemporary Russia and Eastern Europe Series ; v. 32. New York, NY: Routledge, 2012.
- Liehm, Mira, and Liehm, Antonín J. The Most Important Art : Eastern European Film after 1945. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1977.
- Mazierska, Ewa. Masculinities in Polish, Czech and Slovak Cinema : Black Peters and Men of Marble. New York: Berghahn Books, 2008.
- Mazierska, Ewa., Kristensen, Lars Lyngsgaard Fjord, and Näripea, Eva. Postcolonial Approaches to Eastern European Cinema : Portraying Neighbours On-screen. International Library of the Moving Image ; 14. 2014.
- Näripea, Eva, and Trossek, Andreas. Via Transversa : Lost Cinema of the Former Eastern Bloc. Tallinn: Place and Location, 2008.
- Paul, David W. Politics, Art, and Commitment in the East European Cinema. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1983.
- Portuges, Catherine, and Hames, Peter. Cinemas in Transition in Central and Eastern Europe after 1989. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2013.
- Sarkisova, Oksana, and Apor, Péter. Past for the Eyes : East European Representations of Communism in Cinema and Museums after 1989. New York: Central European University Press, 2008.
- Skrodzka, Aga. Magic Realist Cinema in East Central Europe. Traditions in World Cinema. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2012.
- Slater, Thomas J. Handbook of Soviet and East European Films and Filmmakers. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
- Stoil, Michael Jon. Balkan Cinema : Evolution after the Revolution. Studies in Cinema ; No. 11. Ann Arbor, MI: UMI Research Press, 1982.
- Stoil, Michael Jon. Cinema beyond the Danube: The Camera and Politics. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1974.
- American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies. (1961). Slavic Review.
- American Association of Teachers of Slavic East European Languages. Slavic and East European Journal., 1957.
- Center for Advanced Study in Theatre Arts. Institute for Contemporary East European Drama Theatre. Slavic and East European Performance : Drama, Theatre, Film., 1992.
- Center for Advanced Study in Theatre Arts. Institute for Contemporary East European Drama Theatre. Soviet and East European Performance., 1989.
- Center for Advanced Study in Theatre Arts. Institute for Contemporary East European Drama Theatre. Soviet and East-European Drama, Theatre, and Film : SEEDTF., 1985.
- Studies in Eastern European Cinema. (Direct electronic access here.)
- University of London. School of Slavonic East European Studies. The Slavonic and East European Review., 1928.
- University of Pittsburgh. Department of Slavic Languages Literatures. Studies in Slavic Cultures : SISC., 2000. Direct electronic access at: http://www.pitt.edu/~slavic/sisc/
Academic databases accessible with a Harvard ID and PIN:
- EBSCO Academic Search Premiere – A comprehensive database of scholarly books, articles, dissertations, book reviews, and other published research, with links to full-text content and/or Harvard library call number, where available.
- JSTOR – A database of scholarly articles and book reviews (full text).
- ProQuest’s International Index to Performing Arts Full Text – Database of scholarly articles, books, reviews, images, and clips. Full text available for all content
- New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts, 1990-Present - includes several full-length feature films from Eastern Europe and Central Asia.
- New York University’s Slavic Cinema Research Guide.
- University College London – Slavic and Russian Cinema resource
- FIAF International FilmArchive Database (1972-) -
- Film Index International
- Film Literature Index
- Film Stills Resource Page
- Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
- Margaret Herrick Library (Motion Picture Academy)
Slavic Poster Collection. A guide to Harvard Library's growing collection of posters from various Slavic countries. Includes film posters.
Soviet film abroad : ephemera, 1974-1989. Selected programs for exhibitions, film screenings and academic programs related to the study and promotion of Soviet film in Europe and North America primarily in 1980s.