United Nations Treaty Collection

Harvard has subscribed to the online United Nations Treaty Collection. It includes five treaty-related databases:

  • Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General: Provides the latest status of multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations (and those formerly deposited with the League of Nations) as Member States sign, ratify, accede or lodge declarations, reservations or objections. Links to the full texts.
  • The United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS): This is a collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. Includes detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic language(s). Currently lag time for reference information is about two years; about 10 years for complete texts.
  • Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties: This collection consists of the texts of multilateral treaties recently deposited with the Secretary-General that have not yet been published in the United Nations Treaty Series.
  • Photographs of Treaty Signature Ceremonies.
  • Titles of the Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General in the UN official languages.

This database also includes the Treaty Reference Guide which provides a basic overview of the key terms used in the United Nations Treaty Collection and a glossary of terms relating to Treaty actions.

Treaties, and other documents, can also be found on the HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection.

The United Nations Law Collection in HeinOnline contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty.