Research Guides - Gender Studies Periodicals -- Organizations

Schlesinger Library Research Guides

Discovering American Women's History Online

Second Wave Feminism: Researching the Modern Women's Movement

The American women's rights movement: a chronology of events and of opportunities from 1600 to 2008, by Paul D. Buchanan. Boston: Branden Books, 2009. 256 p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository RSNI53
--Full Text linked from HOLLIS Record

The Feminist Chronicles: Timeline

Contemporary Women's Issues (1992- ) includes full text of English-language journal articles, newsletters, research reports, pamphlets, newspapers, directories, guides, and fact sheets from scholarly and government/non-profit agency/international organization publications concerned with women's issues in 190 countries.

GenderWatch (1974- ) provides full text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (1995-)

LGBT Life with Full Text indexes magazines, academic journals, news sources, gray literature, and books that deal with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender concerns.

International bibliography of research in marriage and the family. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press. 2 v.
CONTENTS: v. 1, 1900-1964; v. 2, 1965-1972.
Widener | Soc 5205.4 F (F means it is oversize and at the end of the Soc’s)

Women's Studies International (1972- ) accesses a variey of women's studies databases.

Les Associations féminines. Paris: CNIDFF Edition, 1994, 67 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | HQ1883 .A87 1994

Encyclopedia of women's associations worldwide: a guide to over 3,400 national and multinational nonprofit women's and women-related organizations, ed. by Jacqueline K. Barrett. London; Detroit : Gale Research, 1993, 471 p.
Countway Medicine | Ref.12 | HQ 1883 E56 1993
Schlesinger | Ref. | 367 B274e
Widener | RR 4761.51.10

Women's movements of the world: an international directory and reference guide, ed. by Sally Shreir. Phoenix, AZ; Harlow, Essex: Longman, 1988, 384 p.
Schlesinger | Ref. | 305.4025 S561w
Widener | WID-LC | HQ1883 .W63 1988

Directory of women's organizations, by Jenrose Felmley. [S.l.: The Allstate Insurance Co., 1985] 274, 30 p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 367 F32d

Affiliate handbook: 1977-78 directory of services and publications of member organizations / Federation of Organizations for Professional Women; prepared by Jamie Segal. Washington, D.C.: The Federation, [1977] 80 leaves, p. 81-92
Schlesinger Ordered--received

International directory of women's development organizations, by Franziska P. Hosken. Washington: Agency for International Development, 1977, [35], 311 p.
Gutman Education | HQ1240 .H67 1977
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 301.412 U58i
Widener | WID-LC | HQ1883 .H67x 1977

Women's organizations & leaders directory. Washington, Today Publications & News Service.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 301.412 B26w (1973, 1975-76)
Widener | WID-LC | HQ 1883 .W4 (1975/76 )

International directory of women's organizations. 75th anniversary souvenir ed., 1888-1963. New York: Research and Action Associates, 1963. 1 v.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 305.4025 N277i

World directory of women's organizations, by Mary Buchanan. London, England: World Directory of Women's Organisations, 1953? 222, xxxii p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 396.06 W92
Widener | Soc 6324.2

Guide to women's organizations; a handbook about national and international groups. Washington, Public Affairs Press 1949, 167 p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 367 A54

Official register and directory of the women's clubs in America. Boston, Mass. : Helen M. Winslow, 1898?-1922.
HOLLIS Record
Gerritsen Collection—Women’s History Online (1903-1909)
HathiTrust 1910-1922

Continued by:
Annual register of Women’s clubs and national organizations in America: containing also a directory of club lecturers, entertainers and musicians. Shirley, Mass.: Helen M. Winslow, 1923-1931
Not at Harvard: BPL has 1923

Continued by:
The Register of Women's clubs. New York: Essex Pub. Co., (1933 only?)
Not at Harvard: BPL has it

Loading ...

Digital Collections - Periodicals

Lists:

Gender and Sexuality Studies (Voice of the Shuttle)

Research Using the Web Gender and Sexuality Resources

Schlesinger Library research guides

Blogs: Capturing Women's Voices includes samples of some 20 blogs selected and archived by the Schlesinger Library. a sample of approximately 20 blogs. These blogs illuminate the lives of African-American and Latina women, lesbians, and women grappling with health and reproductive issues, and typically reflect their engagement with politics, their personal lives and philosophies, and their work lives.

Defining Gender Online: Five Centuries of Advice Literature for Men and Women (1450-1910). Includes a section "The Body."

Discovering American Women's History Online

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: An On-line Archival Collection (Duke University)

Everyday Life of Women in America 1800-1940  provides primary source material for the study of nineteenth and early twentieth century American cultural and social history from the collections of the New York Public Library and the Duke University. Topics include fashion, beauty, prescriptive literature, and medicine.

The Feminist Chronicles: Early Documents

Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 includes books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Includes over 4000 monographs, primarily in English, German, and French, plus 265 periodical titles.

Hearth: Home Economics Archive (Mann Library, Cornell University) is a collection of books and journals published between 1850 and 1950.

Herstory Project: A History of the Chicago Women's Liberation Union (CWLU) contains archive of full-text documents of the Chicago Women's Liberation Movement and of classic Second Wave documents.

LGBT Thought and Culture offers books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the twentieth century to the present. Includes letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera, as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from more than 600 women writing from Colonial times to 1950. Some 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials are included in addition to biographical information.

Redstockings: Women's Liberation Studies Archives for Action

Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the U.S. and the U.K. 1815-1914  presents  images of of trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library's  trial collections. Included are trials of the wealthy and renowned as well as stories of ordinary men and women thrust into the public eye when their marriages and love affairs went wrong. 

Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 offers journal articles, manuscripts, books, pamphlets, bibliographies, images, and other sources. Interesting to search organizations by by date founded

Women and Social Movements, International (1840- )

Women Working, 1800-1930 includes books, pamphlets, manuscripts and images selected from Harvard's library and museum collections.

Women's Magazines

Online

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900. Open Publications, then Look up Publication Subjects, then Women

Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 has numerous periodicals. See Browse Periodicals on home screen.  More information.

HEARTH: Home Economics Archive

Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1880)

Vogue Archive

Working Mother (1979-2008) in Google Magazines 

Microfilm

Women's periodicals: 18th century to the great Depression.
Online guide linked from HOLLIS record.

Herstory Microfilm Collection. (Women's History Library, Berkeley, Calif. International Women's History Periodical Archive). 90 reels.
Online guide
Printed guide 

Women’s Studies: Guide to Microform Research Collections in the University of Chicago Library

Paper and Indexes to Paper

Schlesinger Guide on Women’s Magazines

Women's newsletter and periodical collection, 1923-2011 (inclusive), 1970-1995 (bulk)

The following magazines are indexed in Readers' Guide Retrospective 

Glamour (1978-1982) - Good Housekeeping (1909-1982) - Ladies' Home Journal (1900-1982) - Mademoiselle (1953-1982) - McCall's (1952-1982) - National Business Woman (1956-1961) - Parents Magazine [title varies] (1929-1978) - Redbook (1961-1982) - Vogue (1953-1982) - Woman Citizen (1924-1927) - Woman's Journal (1928-1931) - Womans Home Companion (1904-1957)

Access (1975-1999) indexes periodicals not included in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, including the Harvard Magazine (1981- ). Book reviews are included.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.14
Indexes: American Girl - Cosmopolitan - Family Circle - Modern Bride - Viva - Woman’s Day - WomenSports

Several reference books on women’s periodicals are available.

I thank Susan Gilman for help with this section.

Loading ...