What is the meaning of terms used in this source? Do they have meanings difference from those in current use?
Large old unabridged dictionaries are useful
A compendious dictionary of the English language, by Noah Webster. New Haven: From Sidney's Press. For Hudson & Goodwin, Book-sellers, Hartford, and Increase Cooke & Co. Book-sellers, 1806, 408 pages
HathiTrust search for Webster's Dictionaries.
HathiTrust search for Worcester’s Dictionary
Webster’s international dictionary of the English language
HOLLIS Records (1890-1906)
Imternet Archive Full text: 1895 -- 1898 -- 1907
Webster's New international dictionary of the English language
HOLLIS Records (1910-1961) Sort by date, Oldest first
Internet Archive Full Text (1923) 1927: Vol.1 - vol.2
HathiTrust full text for both Webster's International Dictionaries
Search in HOLLIS and HathiTrust:
"Century dictionary an encyclopedic lexicon” several editions 1889-1914
“New Century dictionary of the English language” several editions 1927-1948
Oxford English Dictionary (click on full entry in order to see uses of this word in context at different points in time)
Dictionary of Regional American English (DARE)
A dictionary of American English on historical principles,ed. by Sir William A. Craigie and James R. Hulbert. The University of Chicago press, 1938-44, 4 v.
Contemporary subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are useful in interpreting primary sources. They can be found by an Expanded Search in the HOLLIS Catalog with, e.g., <Medicine dictionaries> [Keyword search], limited by year range.
An illustrated dictionary of medicine, biology and allied sciences ..., by George M. Gould. 3d ed. Philadelphia, Blakiston, 1897, c1894.