Reference and Biography

CQ Encyclopedia of American Government 

Online in CQ Press Electronic Library includes:

Encyclopedia of the First Amendment, ed. by John R. Vile, David L. Hudson Jr., David Schultz. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2009. 2 v.
Law School | KF4770 .E53 2009
Widener | WID-LC | KF4770 .E53 2009

Encyclopedia of U.S. political history. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2010. 7 v.
Harvard Kennedy School | Ref Pillars | E183 .E53 2010
Widener | RR 3627.13.1

Encyclopedia of United States Indian policy and law, ed. by Paul Finkelman, Tim Alan Garrison. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2009. 2 v.
Lamont | REFERENCE | KF8205 .E525 2009
Law School | Reference | KF8205 .E525 2009

Guide to interest groups and lobbying in the United States, ed. by  Burdett A. Loomis, Peter L. Francia & Dara Z. Strolovitch,. Washington, DC : CQ Press, 2012, 490 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | JK1118 .G85 2012

Guide to political campaigns in America / Paul S. Herrnson, editor-in-chief ; Colton Campbell, Marni Ezra, Stephen K. Medvic, associated editors. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2005, 457 p.
Harvard Kennedy School | Harvard Depository | JK2265 .G84 2005
Widener | WID-LC | JK2265 .G84 2005

Guide to the presidency and the executive branch, ed. by Michael Nelson. 5th ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: CQ Press, 2013. 2 v.
Widener | RR 4218.5.2

Guide to U.S. elections. 6th ed. Washington, DC : CQ Press, 2010. 2 v.
Harvard Kennedy School | Ref | JK1967 .C662 2010
Law School | Reference | JK1967 .C662 2010

Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court / David G. Savage. 5th ed. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2010. 2 v.
Law School | Reference | KF8742 .W567 2010

Vital statistics on American politics / Harold W. Stanley, Richard G. Niemi. 5th ed. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c1995. xviii, 440 p.
Widener | WID-LC | JK274 .S74 1995

Vital statistics on the presidency : George Washington to George W. Bush, by  Lyn Ragsdale. 3rd ed. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2009. xviii, 580 p.
Lamont | REFERENCE | JK518 .R34 2009x
Widener | WID-LC | JK518 .R34 2009x 

Who's who in economics, ed. by Mark Blaug and Howard R. Vane. 4th ed. Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA : Edward Elgar, 2003, 971 p.
Widener  |  RR 4504.5

HOLLIS number [008064092]
Who's who in economics, ed. by Mark Blaug. 3rd ed. Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA : Edward Elgar Pub., 1999, 1235 p.
--Does not replace the 3rd ed. which comprises a biographical dictionary of major economists covering 1700-1996.  The 4th ed. includes only economists alive as of January 1, 2002. 

A biographical dictionary of dissenting economists, by Philip Arestis, Malcolm C. Sawyer. Cheltenham, U.K.; Northampton, Mass.: E. Elgar, 2000

A biographical dictionary of women economists, by Robert W. Dimand, Mary Ann Dimand, Evelyn L. Forget. Cheltenham, U.K.; Northampton, Mass.: Edward Elgar, 2000

Economic thinkers: a biographical encyclopedia, by David A. Dieterle. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood, 2013

Loading ...

Political Science Literature, Statistics/Data, Policy Literature/Think Tanks

Alternative press index (1969- ) is available online as Alt-Press Watch (1995- ) indexes the alternative/radical periodical literature. Includes book reviews. Alternative Press Center's Online Directory lists periodicals in the Alternative Press Index. For earlier coverage:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.A4 Consult Braun Room.
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Per PN4888.U5 A27 (1969-1971)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.8 Latest 10 years WID-LC HN90.R3 A48x Earlier

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (1991- ) includes articles, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc.

C.R.I.S.: the combined retrospective index set to journals in political science, 1886-1974
LOCATION: Law School: ILS RR JA1.A1 Z992x 1977 Library has: v.1-8
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA1.A1 Z992 1977x Library has: 8 v.
--Over 115,000 articles from over 200 English-language journals arranged by subject. Journal code numbers in the entries are explained on the end-papers.

Military and Government Collection (largely 1980s- ).covers periodicals, many with full text, on military, foreign affairs, national security, intelligence, etc. Considerable earlier indexing (Congressional Digest back to 1922).

ProQuest Government Periodicals Index (1988- ).

Index to periodical articles ... in the Library of the Royal Institute of International Affairs, 1950-1989.

1950-1964. LOCATION: Widener: H 9.64.5 Library has: 2 v.
1965-1972. LOCATION: Widener: H 9.64.6
1973-1978. LOCATION: Widener: H 9. 64.7 F
1979-1989. LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche W 4007 Microfiche Library has: 50 microfiche. INDEX Microfiche W 4007 = Guide
--Unannotated references grouped by subject classification (guide in front), subject and geographical indexes.

Indexes to independent Socialist periodicals.
LOCATION: Widener: Soc 708.11 no.4

Indexes:
Anvil, 1949-60
Labor Action, 1949-58
The New International, 1934-58
Student Partisan, 1947-50

International bibliography of political science (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.

International Political Science Abstracts (1989- )

Print version:
International political science abstracts, 1951- .
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Abst. & Indexes Z 7164 IN88 (1964-71)
LOCATION: Littauer: Ref. Z7161.I58 x (1951-93)
LOCATION: Littauer: CD-ROM JA 36.I5 On Reserve (1989- )
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4402.4 Latest 5 yrs. WID-LC JA36.I5 Earlier

JSTOR includes the full text of 119 political science journals from their date of inception to about 5 years ago. List of titles

Left Index Online (1982- , a few earlier) Promptly indexes Marxist, radical, and leftist articles. No newsletters or newspapers.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1915- ) indexes international public and social policy literature. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, government documents, etc. Journals indexed in PAIS http://www.csa.com/factsheets/pais-set-c.php

PARLIT Database (1992- ) includes citations for books and articles on parliamentary law and practice.

Theories of political processes: a bibliographic guide to the journal literature, 1965-1995, by G. G. Brunk.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA71.Z99 B78 1997x
--Arranged by subject, with author and subject indexes.

United States political science documents, 1975-91.
LOCATION: Littauer: RR Z 7165.U5.U5x
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA66.Z99 U54x
--Abstracts about 150 U.S. political and public policy journals.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975- )

Voting Statistics

CQ Voting and Elections Collection (1789 – present) offers historical data on elections (presidential, congressional and gubernatorial), campaign finances, voter demographics, voter turnout, political parties.

Clerk of the House Election Statistics offers biennial election data from 1920 to present. Vote counts for congressional and presidential elections.

American National Election Studies offers data from presidential and congressional elections, 1948-present.

Pennsylvania Election Statistics: 1789-2006 offers county level voting returns for statewide elections for President, Governor, and Senator, 1789-2004.

US Electoral College. Historical Election Results

Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008. 

Political Party Platforms of Parties Receiving Electoral Votes: 1840 – 2012

Voting Law

Of the people, by the people, for the people : a documentary record of voting rights and electoral reform / Thomas J. Baldino and Kyle L. Kreider.. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2010. 2 v.
Law School  |  JK1846 .B35 2010 
Widener  |  WID-LC    |  JK1846 .B35 2010

Political Speeches

American Rhetoric: the Power of Oratory in the United States

Campaigns

Museum of the Moving Image: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008

Images and Objects

Presidential Campaign Memorabilia from the Duke University Special Collections Library

PolicyFile (1990-) offers public policy reports and studies published by think tanks, university research programs, research organizations including the OECD, IMF, World Bank, the Rand Corporation, and a number of federal agencies.

Policy Archive is a digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.

Virtual Technical Reports Center offers links to online providers of technical reports.

Think Tank Search - from the Kennedy School of Government, a customized Google search of documents produced by think tanks.

Google advanced search. You can limit by domain: .org

Loading ...