Context/Background - Organization Directories

Encyclopedia of American social movements, ed. by Immanuel Ness. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2004. 4 v.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | HN57 .E594 2004
Kennedy Sch of Gov | Ref | HN57 .E594 2004
Widener | RR 4745.10

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest (1500- ). Print version:
The international encyclopedia of revolution and protest : 1500 to the present, ed. by Immanuel Ness. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009. 8 v.
Widener | WID-LC | JC491 .I58 2009

Revolts, protests, demonstrations, and rebellions in American history: an encyclopedia, ed. By Steven L. Danver. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011. 3 v.
Widener | WID-LC | HN57 .R48 2011

People power and protest since 1945: a bibliography of nonviolent action, by April Carter, Howard Clark and Michael Randle. London: Housmans Bookshop, 2006, 199 p.
Widener | WID-LC | HM1281 .P36 2006x

Nonviolent action: a research guide, by Ronald M. McCarthy, Gene Sharp. NY: Garland Pub., 1997, 720 p.
Kennedy Sch of Gov | HM278.Z99 M33 1997
Law School | HM278.Z99 M33x 1997
Widener | WID-LC | HM278.Z99 M33 1997x

The sixties in America, ed. by Carl Singleton. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1999. 3 v.
Widener | WID-LC | E841 .S55 1999

The 1960s: an annotated bibliography of social and political movements in the United States, by Rebecca Jackson. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992, 237 p.
Lamont | HN59.Z99 J33 1992x
Widener | WID-LC | HN59.Z99 J33 1992x

Revolutionary and dissident movements : an international guide,  ed. by Henry W. Degenhardt. 2nd ed. Harlow : Longman, 1988. xi, 466 p.
HOLLIS Record

The radical right : a world directory,  by Ciarán Ó Maoláin. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-Clio, 1987. ix, 500 p.
Not at Harvard. Get via BorrowDirect

Political dissent : an international guide to dissident, extra-parliamentary, guerrilla, and illegal political movements,  by Henry W. Degenhardt. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Company ; Harlow, Essex : Longman Group, 1983. xiii, 592 p.
HOLLIS Record --  HOLLIS Record

The right guide : a guide to conservative and right-of-center organizations. Ann Arbor, Mich. : Economics America, Inc., 1993-  .
HOLLIS Record

Right minds : a sourcebook of American conservative thought / Gregory Wolfe. Chicago : Regnery Books, 1987. 245 p.
HOLLIS Record

Guide to the American right. Kansas City, Mo. : Editorial Research Service, 1984-1999.
HOLLIS Record

The left guide : a guide to left-of-center organizations. Ann Arbor, Mich. : Economics America, Inc., 1996-
HOLLIS Record

Guide to the American left. Kansas City, MO : Editorial Research Service.
HOLLIS Record

Loading ...

Document Collections -- Periodicals

Bibliography

The American left, 1955-1970 : a national union catalog of pamphlets published in the United States and Canada, by Ned Kehde. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1976, xviii, 515 p.
HOLLIS Record

Digitized  --  Microfilm  --  Paper

Digitized

American Radicalism (Michigan State University)

Voices of Extremism (Illinois State University) - Interviews

Microfilm

The American radicalism collection. 4 pts. on 236 reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1336.1
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1336.1 = guide
HOLLIS Record
Online Guide

Part 1: Leftist Politics and Anti-War Movements
Part 2: The Religious and Radical Right
Part 3: Race, Gender, and the Struggle for Justice and Equal Rights
Part 4: Twentieth-Century Social, Economic, and Environmental Movements

The Communist Party, USA, and radical organizations, 1953-1960. FBI reports from the Eisenhower Library. Microform.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 916 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 916 = guide Level B
HOLLIS Record
Online Guide

FBI file on the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization [1962-1977] 8 microfilm reels. [microform]. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, [1991]
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 617.20 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 617.20 = Guide Level B
HOLLIS Record

FBI files on white extremist organizations. 20 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont)  |  Film A 1553
Microforms (Lamont)  |  INDEX Film A 1553 = guide
HOLLIS Record

J. Edgar Hoover and radicalism in Hollywood. Part 1, Communist infiltration of the motion picture industry. 14 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1449.1
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1449.1 = guide
HOLLIS Record
Online Guide

Radical pamphlet literature microform : a collection from the Tamiment Library 1817 (1900-1945) 1970. 90 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 452
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 452 = guide
HOLLIS Record

Radicalism, reaction and dissent : selections from the Hall-Hoag Collection at Brown University : from the holdings of John Hay Library at Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island.  2 pts. on 78 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1376
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1376 = guide
HOLLIS Record
Online Guide

The Right wing collection of the University of Iowa Libraries, 1918-1977.  177 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont)  |  Film A 188
Microforms (Lamont)  |  INDEX Film A 188
Microforms (Lamont)  |  INDEX Film A 188.1
HOLLIS Record

Socialist collections in the Tamiment Library, 1872-1956. [microform] 68 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 451
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 451 = guide’
HOLLIS Record

U.S. military intelligence reports Surveillance of radicals in the United States, 1917-1941. 34 microfilm reels. microform / [edited by Randolph Boehm]. Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, 1984.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 436.4 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 436.4 = guide Level B
HOLLIS Record

United States. Department of Justice. Department of Justice investigative files [1912-194-] Microform.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 704 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 704 = Guide Level B
HOLLIS Record
Online Guide Part 1
Online Guide Part 2

United States. Subversive Activities Control Board. Records of the Subversive Activities Control Board, 1950-1972. Microform.
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 703 = Guide Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 703 Level B
HOLLIS Record
Online Guide

Paper

[SDS and Weather Underground pamphlets, posters, and handbills. Record 1].  1963-2002.  63 items.
HOLLIS Record
Widener Harvard Depository: View in Phillips Reading Room

Collection of Berkeley (Calif.) protest posters, 1970 May. Unprocessed
--- Posters produced by students in a political poster workshop on the campus of the University of California, Berkeley.
HOLLIS Record http://id.lib.harvard.edu/aleph/014626195/catalog
Houghton

Encyclopedia of social movement media, ed. by John D. H. Downing. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2011 , 602 p.
HOLLIS Record with Google Books preview

Periodicals

See the Underground / Alternative Press page on the Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes

Marxists Internet Archive: History Archive Newspapers, Magazines and Journals

Alternative Serials in the Tamiment Library: Digitized Serials

Bibliographies

Anarchist periodicals in English published in the United States (1833-1955) : an annotated guide / Ernesto A. Longa. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2010. xiv, 321 p.
HOLLIS Record

Directory of conservative and libertarian serials, publishers, and freelance markets, by Dennis D. Murphy, Tucson, Ariz. : Murphy, 1977. 64 p.
HOLLIS Record

From radical left to extreme right; a bibliography of current periodicals of protest, controversy, advocacy, or dissent, by Robert H. Muller et al. 2d ed.  Ann Arbor, Campus Publishers, 1970-1976, 3 v.
HOLLIS Record

Radical periodicals in America, 1890-1950 : with a genealogical chart and a concise lexicon of the parties and groups which issued them : a bibliography with brief notes, by Walter Goldwater. 3d ed. New York : University Place Book Shop, 1977, 56 p.
HOLLIS Record

Loading ...