Research Guides: Library Research Guide for American Studies: Organizations

Organizations

Directories

Directories can lead you to organizations related to your topic and which may offer publications

HOLLIS/WorldCat Subject Terms
--Associations, institutions, etc. -- Directories.
--Learned institutions and societies -- Directories.
--Education -- United States -- Societies, etc. -- Directories.

HOLLIS Records for general directories/bibliographies of directories.

R.L.Polk's directory of directories, contains an alphabetically arranged list of directories published in the United States and Canada, also list of trade and professional directories. NY: R.L. Polk & Co. 1916, 32 pp.
HathiTrust Full Text

Directories in print. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Inc., 6th ed. (1989)-
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text

The Directory of directories, annuals and reference books. London : Business Publications Ltd., 1950.
HOLLIS Record

The Directory of directories. Detroit, Information Enterprises; distributed by Gale Research Co. 1980-1988. 1st-5th ed.
HOLLIS Record

The directory of directories, 1983 : an annotated guide to business and industrial directories, professional and scientific rosters, and other lists and guides of all kinds
Internet Archive Full Text

Encyclopedia of associations. Detroit, Gale Research Co., 1961- .
Current editions (2008- )
Widener | Harvard Depository | Soc 6537.5 Earlier
Widener | RR 4213.12.6 Latest
Hollis record
Internet Archive Full Text
--Continues Encyclopedia of American associations. Detroit, Gale Research Co., 1956, 1959
HOLLIS Record

Guide to public affairs organizations, with notes on public affairs informational materials, by Charles R. Read and Samuel Marble. Washington: Public Affairs Press, American Council on Public Affairs, 1946, 129 p.
HOLLIS Record

Handbook of social resources of the United States, by Genevieve Poyneer Hendricks. Washington, D. C., The American Red cross, 1921, 300 p.
HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust Version

List of IGOs (Inter-Governmental Organizations)

International Agencies

Governments on the WWW: Multi-Governmental Organizations

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) (Berkeley)

NGOs (Benedictine University)

Custom Google Search for NGO sites

The following list of directories of organizations is in inverse chronological order:

International organizations : a dictionary and directory, by Giuseppe Schiavone. 7th ed. Basingstoke [England] ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2008, 411 p.
Widener | WID-LC | JZ4838 .S344 2008
--Contents : Introduction -- Dictionary A-Z -- Glossary -- International organizations: membership tables -- Classification of countries and membership of major groups -- Foundation dates -- Classification of organizations -- Index of acronyms -- Index of names.
--3rd ed.: 1992. Check HOLLIS for other eds.

Annuaire des organisations internationales = Yearbook of international organizations, 1948-present. Brussels: Union of International Associations, 10 v.
Current edition
Countway Medicine | JX 1904 Y4
Widener | Harvard Depository | Int 17.7

Annuaire de la vie internationale : unions, associations, instituts, commissions, bureaux, offices, conférences, congrès, expositions, publications, 1905 -. Bruxelles : Office central des institutions internationales, INstitut international de bibliographie ; Monaco: Institut international de la paix. 5 v.
Law School | Harvard Depository | 131 3500
Widener | Int 112.7 (1908/09; 1910/11)
1906 in Google Books
--Have terminal chronological list of organizations, index of personal names, and subject index

Women's Organizations

Women's movements of the world: an international directory and reference guide, ed. by Sally Shreir. Phoenix, AZ; Harlow, Essex: Longman, 1988, 384 p.
Schlesinger | Ref. | 305.4025 S561w
Widener | WID-LC | HQ1883 .W63 1988

Directory of women's organizations, by Jenrose Felmley. [S.l.: The Allstate Insurance Co., 1985] 274, 30 p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 367 F32d

International directory of women's development organizations, by Franziska P. Hosken. Washington: Agency for International Development, 1977, [35], 311 p.
Gutman Education | HQ1240 .H67 1977
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 301.412 U58i
Widener | WID-LC | HQ1883 .H67x 1977

Women's organizations & leaders directory. Washington, Today Publications & News Service.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 301.412 B26w (1973, 1975-76)
Widener | WID-LC | HQ 1883 .W4 (1975/76 )

International directory of women's organizations. 75th anniversary souvenir ed., 1888-1963. NY: Research and Action Associates, 1963. 1 v.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 305.4025 N277i

Encyclopedia of associations. Detroit, Gale Research Co., 1961- .
Current edition
Widener | Harvard Depository | Soc 6537.5 Earlier
Widener | RR 4213.12.6 Latest
--Continues Encyclopedia of American associations. Detroit, Gale Research Co., 1956, 1959
Widener Harvard Depository Soc 6537.5

Official register and directory of the women's clubs in America. Boston, Mass.: Helen M. Winslow, 1899?-1922.
--Continued by: Annual register of women's clubs and national organizations in America
HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust Full Text

Publications

Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory

Local Sources

Simmons College Archives holds a Charities Collection (1790s to about 1950): annual reports and other publications of private charities, public welfare agencies, and hospitals in Boston, Massachusetts, the eastern United States, and England.