Library Research Guide for British Colonial and Foreign Relations Sources

A guide to manuscripts and documents in the British Isles relating to the Far East, by Noel Matthews and M. Doreen Wainwright. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 1977, 182 p.
Harvard-Yenching | Ref (W) | CD1048.A77 M37
Widener | WID-LC | CD1048.A77 M37

Foreign Office confidential papers relating to China and her neighbouring countries, 1840-1914; with an additional list 1915-1937, by Lo Hui-Min. The Hague, Paris: Mouton, 1969. 280 p.
Documents (Lamont) | Br Doc30.10
Harvard-Yenching | Ref (W) | CD1051 .A42
Law School | Harvard Depository | 57 1190

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 contains materials from the British Library, the School of Oriental and African Studies (London), and other institutions. Includes, papers of individuals in the Chinese Maritime Customs service, records of diplomatic missions to China from the late 18th to the late 20th century, papers of missionaries, files from the British National Archives relating to relations with China in the 1970s, and a searchable run of the Chinese Recorder (1867-1941). Includes numerous maps and images.

Archives Unbound: Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945 presents files from the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in Shanghai's former international settlement.

Chinese Maritime Customs Project

Britain and the China trade 1635-1842, selected and with a new introduction by Patrick Tuck. London; New York: Routledge, 2000. 10 v.
Location : Widener WID-LC HF3508.C5 B65 2000x
HOLLIS Record
--v. 1-5. The Chronicles of the East India Company trading to China, 1635-1834 / H.B. Morse
v. 6. The Crucial years of early Anglo-Chinese relations, 1750-1800 / Earl H. Pritchard
v. 7. pt. 1. The instructions of the East India Company to Lord Macartney on his embassy to China and his reports to the company, 1792-4 / Earl H. Pritchard. pt. 2. Lord Macartney’s embassy to Peking in 1793 : from official Chinese documents / J.L. Cranmer-Byng
v. 8. An embassy to China : Lord Macartney’s journal, 1793-1794 / J.L. Cranmer-Byng
v. 9. pt. 1. British trade and the opening of China 1800-42 / Michael Greenberg. pt. 2. Opium smoking in Ch’ing China / Jonathan Spence
v. 10. Notes of proceedings and occurrences during the British embassy to Pekin in 1816 / George Thomas Staunton

Vols 1-5 available as:
The chronicles of the East India company, trading to China 1635-1834, by Hosea Ballou Morse. Cambridge, Harvard University Press; Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1926-29. 5 v.
HOLLIS Record  --  HOLLIS Record

East India Company factory records: sources from the British Library, London. Currently 6 pts. on 141 microfilm reels.
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1325
Online guide
--Pt. 1. China and Japan (34 reels) -- pt. 2. China (34 reels) -- pt. 3. Fort St. George, Madras (25 reels) -- pt. 4. Fort St. George (Madras) (25 reels) -- pt. 5. Calcutta (9 reels) -- pt. 6. Bombay, 1669-1710 (14 reels). From the Oriental and India Office Collections, British Library. --“Factories” = trading posts.

[Canton factory records]  East India Company. London, England: India Office Library and India Office Records, 1971. 10 microfilm reels
HOLLIS Record

British military intelligence on China and the Boxer Rising, c. 1880-1930. India Office Library and Records. 185 microfiches.
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Microfiche W 6127 (Printed guide)
Microforms (Lamont) Microfiche W 6127
Online Guide
--Contents : BIC-1. Gazetteers, reports, etc., 1884-1930; BIC-2. China Expedition, 1900-1903.

Asian economic history. Series 2, Economic development in Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, 1950-1980: (Public Record Office files from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, Treasury, Dominions Office, Board of Trade and Cabinet Committees). 3 pts. on 84 microfilm reels.
Online guide
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1187.2
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1187.2 = guide (2 v.)
--pt. 1. Files for 1950-1954 (24 reels)
--pt. 2. Files for 1955-1958 (24 reels)
--pt. 3. Files for 1959-1962 (24 reels)
--pt. 4. Files for 1963-1966 (24 reels).

Foreign Office

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 includes the complete British Foreign Office Files FO 371 and FCO 21 from the National Archives, Kew. These files deal with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan

Confidential British Foreign Office political correspondence. China, Series 1, 1906-1919
4 pts. on 437 microfilm reels.
HOLLIS Record http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990078111690203941/catalog
Online guides
-- pt. [1]. 1906-1908  (105 reels) -- pt. 2. 1909-1911 (106 reels) -- pt. 3. 1912-1914 (99 reels) -- pt. 4. 1915-1919  (127 reels).

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Confidential print, Far Eastern affairs, 1937-1941. London: Foreign Office, 1937-1941. 11 v.
--Contents of reel at beginning of each reel.
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Film S 830 FO 436

Foreign Office files for Japan and the Far East. Series one, Embassy and consular archives--Japan [1905-1940]: Public Record Office class FO 262. Online Guide pts. 1-2
Online Guide pt. 3
Online Guide pts. 4-6
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 814.1 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 814.1 = Guide Level B A Listing and guide to parts 1-6 (3 v.). --pt. 1. Imperial expansion and the rise of capitalism (FO 262/1466-1511, 2033-2034), correspondence to and from Japan, 1905-1920 (reels 1-18. ) --pt. 2. The early twenties, growth of a new world power (FO 262/1512-1601), detailed correspondence for 1921-1923 (reels 19-62). --pt. 3. Economic and electoral reform, the Chinese Boycott, and the end of the Taisho Period (FO 262/1602-1672), detailed correspondence for 1924-1926 (reels 63-106) --pt. 4. Detailed correspondence for 1927-1929 (reels 107-150). --pt. 5. Detailed correspondence for 1930-1933 (reels 151-175) --pt. 6. Detailed correspondence for 1934-1940. (reels 176-188)

Foreign Office files for Japan and the Far East. Series two, British Foreign Office files for post-War Japan (Public Record Office class FO 371). 9 pts. on 201 microfilm reels.
Online Guide pts. 1-4 
Online Guide pt. 5 
Online Guide pts. 6-7
Online Guide pt. 8
Online Guide pt. 9
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 814.2 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 814.2 = guide Level B
--pt. 1. Complete files for 1952-1953 (reels 1-38) -- pt 2. Complete files for 1954-1956 (reels 39-77) -- pt. 3. Complete files for 1957-1959 (reels 79-92) -- pt. 4. Complete files for 1960-1962 (reels 94-118) -- pt. 5. Complete files for 1963-1965 (reels 119-136) -- pt. 6 Complete files for 1966-1968 (reels 137-147) -- pt. 7. Complete files for 1969-1971 (reels 148-162) -- pt. 8. Complete files for 1972-1974 (reels 163-182) -- pt. 9. Complete files for 1975-1977 (reels 183-201).

Foreign Office files for Japan and the Far East. Series three, Embassy and consular archives--Japan post 1945: Public Record Office class FO 262: detailed correspondence for 1945-1957.
Online guide
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 814.3 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 814.3 = guide Level B

China political reports 1911-1960. Slough: Archive Editions, 2001
--Reports sent by British Officials based in China back to the British Foreign Office.
--Description
--v. 1. 1911-1921 -- v. 2. 1922-1923 -- v. 3.1924-1927 -- v. 4. 1928-1932 -- v. 5. 1933-1936 -- v. 6. 1937-1941 -- v. 7. 1942-1945 -- v. 8. 1946-1948 -- v. 9. 1949-1954 -- v. 10. 1955-1957 -- v. 11. 1958-1960.
HOLLIS Record

Hong Kong annual administration reports, 1841-1941, edited by R.L. Jarman. Slough, England: Archive Editions, 1996. 6 v. 
--v. 1. 1841-1886 -- v. 2 1887-1903 -- v. 3. 1904-1919 -- v. 4. 1920-1930 -- v. 5. 1931-1939 -- v. 6. 1940-1941/42.
HOLLIS Record

Foreign Office files for Japan, 1919-1952 includes Japan-specific files from the FO 371 and FO 262 series and the Western and American Department papers in FO 371. Section I: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945 -- Section II: Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952 -- Section III: Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930.