Reconnoitering

Reconnoitering; or, Looking is much more fun when you don't know what you are looking for.

Newspapers

The local call number News is attached to 66 HOLLIS records, many of which have no other indication that they are newspapers. Of these, 24 are on microfilm.

Latin American News: 4

Latin American Labor News: 56

The local call number Labor: News is attached to 1099 HOLLIS records, of which 858 are on microfilm

Check  Berliner Tageblatt und Handels-Zeitung in NMRR list

Latin American newspapers in United States libraries; a union list compiled in the Serial Division, Library of Congress. Austin, Published for the Conference on Latin American History by the University of Texas Press, 1969, 619 pp.  https://archive.org/details/latinamericannew0000unse

Microfilm

Guide to Large Microform Sets on Latin America https://web.stanford.edu/~c0y0t8/calafia/micro1.pdf

Microform Collections - Latin America (U Okla) guides.ou.edu/micro/latin

Latin American & Iberian Studies Microform Collections (Columbia) https://guides.library.columbia.edu/c.php?g=220519&p=1459634

LAMP (CRL) https://live-crl-www.pantheonsite.io/area-studies/lamp/membership-information

Historical Primary Sources: Latin America (Berkeley) https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=1321839&p=9725276

Guides, Bibliographies

Maya ethnohistory : a guide to Spanish colonial documents at Tozzer Library, Harvard University, by John M. Weeks. Nashville, Tenn. : Dept. of Anthropology, Vanderbilt University, 1987, 121 p.  https://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990006437540203941/catalog

The Scholes collection of manuscripts relating to Middle American Indians : an index to photoreproductions and transcripts of manuscripts in the Tozzer Library, Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, Harvard University from Archivo General de Indias, Seville, Archivo General de la Nacion, Mexico, Archivo Notarial, Merida, Biblioteca Nacional, Madrid, by John M. Weeks. Tozzer Library, 1982, 147 leaves  https://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990012578960203941/catalog

Middle American Indians : a guide to the manuscript collection at Tozzer Library, Harvard University, by John M. Weeks. New York : Garland, 1985, 244 pages   https://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990004628770203941/catalog

Spanish administrative documents relating to Middle American Indians in Tozzer Library, Harvard University, by John M. Weeks. 1984, 115 leaves https://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990086642710203941/catalog

A guide to Central American collections in the United States, by Thomas M. Leonard. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994, 186 p. 
HOLLIS Record

A guide to Cuban collections in the United States, by Louis A. Peréz, Jr. New York : Greenwood Press, 1991, 179 p.
HOLLIS Record

A guide to collections on Paraguay in the United States, by Thomas Whigham and Jerry W. Cooney. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1995, 114 p. 
HOLLIS Record

A guide to manuscript sources in United States and West Indian depositories relating to the British West Indies during the era of the American Revolution, by George F. Tyson, Jr. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 1978, 96 p.
HOLLIS Record

Latin American agriculture : a bibliography on pioneer settlement, agricultural history and economics, rural sociology and population (including immigration and foreign minorities), agricultural cooperatives and credit, from the holdings of the Widener Library, Harvard University, by Martin H. Sable. Milwaukee : University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee, Center for Latin American Studies, 1970, 74 p. 
Latin American Center special studies series ; special study no. 1
HOLLIS Record

A list of material relating to Paraguay in Harvard College Library, Cambridge, Mass., July, 1938, by Mildred E. Nickerson. Harvard University. Library, 53 pp.
HOLLIS Record

The Latin American, Portuguese, and Spanish collections in Harvard College Library. A description based on the statements in "The Library of Harvard University. Descriptive and Historical Notes, by Mildred Eleanor Nickerson. 4th ed. Cambridge, Harvard University Press, 1934." With revisions and additions. June 1938,13 pp.
HOLLIS Record

Luso-Brazilian economic literature before 1850 : a list of the Kress Library's holdings. Kress Library of Business and Economics. (Kress Library bulletin, no. 13) Boston : Baker Library, Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration, 1978, 28 p. https://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990114390560203941/catalog

First Printings of South America in the Harvard Library, by Antonio Rodriguez. Harvard Library bulletin, 1968-01, Vol.16 (1), p.38-46

Widener Library Shelflist

Browsing Old Widener call numbers obtained from the Shelflist may reveal pertinent books which do not bear the equivalent LCSH. For example, Old Widener Historiography includes biographies of historians. Generally, the Old Widener call number are more inclusive than the LCSH

Widener Library Shelflist. 1965-1979, 60 v.
HOLLIS Record  https://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990076586150203941/catalog

 v. 5-6. Latin America. vol. 1 pp 4-126: Classification Schedule SA  https://iiif.lib.harvard.edu/manifests/view/drs:434887158$15i
 v. 21. Latin American literature  SAL https://iiif.lib.harvard.edu/manifests/view/drs:436898599$17i
 v. 15. Periodical classes SAP https://iiif.lib.harvard.edu/manifests/view/drs:436891293$359i

Focused Collections

The Loeb Design Library vertical file collection includes 851 Latin American items

The Labor Collection contains 219 Latin American items. Non-newspapers: 149