Library Research Guide for Latin American Studies

Latin America in general

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947-1996. The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a US government agency which translates daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, etc. from non-English sources worldwide. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology.

Latin American Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive)
offers full text of Caribbean, Central American, and South American newspapers covering various date spans, 1805-1922.

Latin American Newsstand (2005- )
Provides full text of 37 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries. Some coverage back to 1995.

Google News Archive Latin American/Spanish Language Newspapers (U of Chicago)

Information Services Latin America (ISLA)
Clippings from the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, Manchester Guardian, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal and Miami Herald. By country, arranged within each country by topic, and chronologically within each topic.
1975:Nov.; 1983-2007 (Find It @ Harvard)
1996:Apr.-Dec.; 1997-2007 (Find It @ Harvard)
Online (2007-  )

Listings of current online newspapers in Latin America

• Newspapers and News (LANIC)
• Latin American and Mexican Online News
• Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers
• ICON
• Wikipedia

Caribbean Newspapers

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library

Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876 from the American Antiquarian Society Library.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1993) includes several Caribbean newspapers (mostly 19th century).

For all Latin American countries, do the following two searches to find relevant newspapers on microfilm at Harvard:

1. Search HOLLIS for [Country name] newspapers as a subject.
2. Use the Widener Collection of Newspapers on Microfilm Search tool to look for newspapers available on microfilm.
   • It's worth double-checking the actual microfilm to see what years are available, as the search tool is not kept up-to-date.

These two searches will overlap, but each will also have titles that the other does not have.

Barbados

Barbados Mercury and Bridgetown Gazette 1783-1848

• Endangered Archive Project
• Digital Library of the Caribbean

Bolivia

The Center for Research Libraries in Chicago has microfilmed seven Bolivian newspapers from the late 19th century, and they are all available now for lending. The titles were contributed by the University of Connecticut and represent a cross-section of opinion from Bolivia during a period of political instability and conflict. The titles include:
Estrella de Tarija (Tarija, Bolivia) 1877-1892
Estrella del Oriente (Santa Cruz, Bolivia) 1879-1892
El Heraldo (Cochabamba, Bolivia) 1877-1908
El Imparcial (La Paz, Bolivia) 1888-1897
La Industria (Sucre, Bolivia) 1881-1908
Patria (La Paz, Bolivia) 1880-1886
El Trabajo (Tarija, Bolivia) 1882-1892

More information.  Request microfilm via Interlibrary Loan.  Put "From CRL http://www.crl.edu/news/9351" in ILL Request form Notes field.

Brazil

Diario de Pernambuco is available online starting with the first issue November 7, 1825 through September 1978. It is the oldest newspaper in circulation in Latin America, published in Recife, Brazil. Announcement.

Hemeroteca Digital Brasileira

Cuba

Granma Archives Index searchable list of articles published 1965-1992 in the official daily newspaper of Cuba.
Full text scans online

Dominican Republic

El Caribe (“The Caribbean”) (1956-2021)  Published in Santo Domingo

Haiti

Haïti à la une: une anthologie de la presse haïtienne de 1724 à 1934, (Find It @ Harvard) Available in print.

Mexico

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection (mid-1800s-1970s) includes 20 Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico

Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (1807-1972)

Revolutionary Mexico in newspapers, 1900-1929. 345 microfilm reels. (Find it @ Harvard) Available in microfilm.
Online guide
-- Includes pages from Mexican newspaper titles published in the Distrito Federal (362) and in other Mexican cities from 28 states (234 papers).

Independent Mexico in newspapers, the 19th-century. (Find It @ Harvard) Available in microfilm.
Online Guide

Uruguay

Publicaciones Periódicas del Uruguay

To find newspapers beyond what Harvard has, search the following union lists:

• Latin American newspapers in United States libraries; a union list compiled in the Serial Division, Library of Congress (1968) HOLLIS Record  --  Internet Archive Full Text
• Latin America North East Libraries Consortium (LANE): Union list of current newspapers and selected serials

For country-specific lists search HOLLIS/WorldCat:

Chilean periodicals -- Bibliography
Chilean newspapers -- Bibliography

and

Chilean periodicals -- Microform catalogs
Chilean newspapers -- Microform catalogs

Example: Catálogo de periódicos brasileiros microfilmados / Fundação Biblioteca Nacional ; [coordenação editorial, Ana Fanfa]. Rio de Janeiro : Fundação Biblioteca Nacional Departamento Nacional do Livro, 1994. 403 p.
HOLLIS Record

Finding Newspapers Published in a Particular Place and Time

These two directories have worldwide listings: When Willing's or Benn's have multiple volumes, non-U.K. listings are in the 2nd or 3rd volume.

Willing's press guide [title varies], 1890- .
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: 1.Ba.186.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 681.312 Latest
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository B 2083.3 (1895-1897)
Harvard Depository B 2083.3 Earlier (1899-1927)
Harvard Depository B 2083.3 Earlier (1928-2012)

Newspaper press directory, 1846-1976; later title, Benn’s press directory, 1978- . [title varies]
HathiTrust
Google Books version
In Internet Archive
Location : CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) [To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request via your home library] (1953-76)
Location : Widener 10467.26.10 (1905, 1946/7, 1951, 1954, 1965, 1973-76)
Location : Widener Harvard Depository PN4731.Z99 B4612x (1978-1982) Vol. 1, UK; vol. 2, Overseas.
Location : Widener Harvard Depository PN4731.Z99 B4612x (1983-1985) UK ed.
Location : Widener Harvard Depository PN4731.Z99 B4612x (1986-1991) UK ed. 
Location : Widener Harvard Depository PN4731.Z99 B4613x (1986-1991) Internat. ed.
Location : Widener Harvard Depository PN4731.Z99 B47x (1993-2009) [Vols. for 1993- issued in 3 vols.: Vol. 1, United Kingdom; v. 2, Europe; v. 3, World]

Also search WorldCat for [Country name] newspapers as a subject to search library catalogs across the world.

Obtain microfilm not held by Harvard from Interlibrary Loan. Put the OCLC number (bottom of WorldCat record) on the loan Request form in the OCLC Number field. This usually takes about 10 days or 2 weeks. When the microfilm arrives it will be held for you in the Widener Reading Room.

Newspaper Digitization Projects

• ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers - Newspaper digitization projects.
• List of online newspaper archives.

For more information on finding newspapers, see the Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes.

Searches can be limited to Comics and Editorial cartoons in Proquest Historical Newspapers and American Periodicals Series Online - More Search Options, then Document Type.