Page Contents

Document collections contain various types of primary source documents, often unpublished or ephemeral.

Latin American Document Collections - Online
Collections may pertain to Latin America as a whole, or are spread across several Latin American countries

Latin American Document Collections - Microfilm
Collections may pertain to Latin America as a whole, or are spread across several Latin American countries

Document Collections by Country/Region - Online/Microfilm
Collections are specific to individual countries or geographic regions within Latin America

Latin American Document Collections - Print
Latin American material in the Harvard labor collections

___

More on pamphlets

Latin American Document Collections - Online

Finding Primary Sources Online general information

Latin American, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Online Free E-Resources (LACLI) includes, among other material, the resources in:

History: Latin America: Primary Sources (University of Washington guide)

SALALM - Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Resources

Gale World Scholar Latin America & the Caribbean Archive (1500-1986)
Offers over 1.3 million pages of historical material from archives in the United States and Europe about Latin America and the Caribbean. Materials include manuscripts, letters, expedition records, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, etc.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection (1600-1960) contains advertisements; broadsides, editorials, essays, letters, monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, periodicals, poetry, reviews, short stories, and other materials documenting Hispanic-American literature, political commentary and culture. Texts are written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), and are indexed and searchable in both languages.

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera (from Princeton University)
Contains pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards on a wide variety of topics.

Latin American Ephemera Collection (from Princeton University) includes pamphlets, brochures, flyers, posters and other printed items from Latin America. Digitized on ongoing basis; for full collection, see the Princeton University Latin American pamphlet collection in the microfilm section below. 

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection (1820-1920)
More than 5,000 pamphlets documenting the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states, and illuminating many aspects of their populations' social and cultural life.

LatinAmerican anarchist and labour periodicals (c. 1890-1920)

Digital Library of the Caribbean
Digitized archival materials originating in the Caribbean and also Latin American beyond the Caribbean. Collections, subjects covered, and types of materials included.

Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano
Contains manuscripts, sound recordings, newspapers, maps, drawings, and other primary source materials from the national libraries of Latin American countries.

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC): Guide to Latin American material on the Web, with links to primary sources.

LAOAP: Providing Access to Latin American Grey Literature

Jewish Diaspora Collection (JDoC) offers Jewish heritage materials from Florida, Latin America and the Caribbean.

Slave Societies Digital Archive includes Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Mexico, Uruguay

Latin American Document Collections - Microfilm

More on microfilm

Lists of microfilm collections

Princeton University Latin American pamphlet collection (On microfilm)

Latin American twentieth century pamphlets. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm. Online guide

Latin American pamphlets from the Yale University Library (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
Covers social, political, economic conditions in Latin America in 17th-19th centuries (focus on Mexico & Peru). Guide.
 
Archive of Latin Americana (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm. Online guide.
Ephemera and serials relating to socioeconomic and political conditions in Latin America from the 1960s through the 1980s.
 
Latin America, special studies, 1962-1980 (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm. Online Guide
Also see microfilm supplements for following years:

 

Conquistadors: the struggle for colonial power in Latin America, 1492-1825. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm. Online guide

[Archives, 1960-1995] Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
Reports, yearbooks, annual reports, "informes", and other documents.

CIDOC Collection: The History of Religiosity in Latin America (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

Iglesia en América Latina (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

Simon Bolivar: a collection of pamphlets (1827-1947) (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

Robert Jackson Alexander papers, 1890 (1945)-1999 the interview collection (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
Contains 12,000 interviews with people across Latin America on major political and social events.
 
Mexican and Central American political and social ephemera, 1980-1991 (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
A collection of 3112 pamphlets, broadsides, and posters documenting the political and social climate in Mexico and Central America during the period 1980-1991.
 
Microfilm collection of manuscripts on cultural anthropology (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm. Online Guide
Most of the collection consists of ethnolinguistic materials (grammar notes, vocabularies, dictionaries, phonology, linguistic atlases, texts, translations, field data), but there are also materials on ethnography, field diaries and notes, social studies, interviews, etc.
 
Organization of American States.  Documentos oficiales – Official Records. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
 
Treaty Series (Organization of American States.  General Secretariat.) (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
 
[Microfilms largely on Latin American politics and human rights, especially women’s rights]
Choose Browse HOLLIS by.. and adjust menu to Other call number
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 806 – A 812

Document Collections By Country/Region - Online/Microfilm

Argentina

Boletín Oficial de la República Argentina, 1893-2013

Argentine political parties pamphlets (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
Includes portraits, broadsides, posters, newspaper articles in The Princeton University Library Latin American Collection

Publicaciones políticas y culturales Argentinas, c. 1917-1956 (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm. Online guide
Cultural and leftist political periodicals. Related collections with varying years available on microfilm: to find, search Publicaciones políticas y culturales Argentinas in HOLLIS.

Archivos del Sindicato de Trabajadores Concord (Si.Tra.C.), Córdoba, Argentina, 1970-1971 (Find It @ Harvard)
Labor union files.

Brazil

Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: Oliveira Lima Library (1801-1983) offers 2,750 Brazilian and Portuguese pamphlets published from 1801-1983, on history, politics and literature. Also includes monographs and other publications from the mid-16th century into the first quarter of the 20th century.

Documentos Revelados: Brazilian military dictatorship, 1964-85.

United States and Brazil: Expanding Frontiers, Comparing Cultures
Explores the history of Brazil, interactions between Brazil and the United States from the eighteenth century to the present, and the parallels and contrasts between Brazilian and American culture and history. The project is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the National Library of Brazil.

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Primary source documents related to slavery.

Brazil's popular groups, 1966-1986 (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

  • Description (A collection of materials issued by socio-political, religious, labor and minority grassroots organizations)
  • Several supplements follow: search Brazil's popular groups, 1966-1986 in HOLLIS.
  • Online guides

 

Partido dos Trabalhadores historical archives (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
PT national periodicals and single-issued publications and clipping collection, besides other items such as the party first book of acts.

Caribbean

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Primary source documents related to slavery.

Havana Slade Trade Commission
Contains over 750 documents from the Havana Slave Trade Commission between 1824 and 1841.

Deed books 1728-1912 (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
Deed record books (copies of agreements, appraisements, bills of sale, covenants, deeds of gift, manumissions, leases and releases, powers of attorney, sales of slaves, wills).

Naval office shipping lists for the West Indies (excluding Jamaica), 1678-1825 in the Public Record Office, London (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
 
Records, 1744-1787. West-Indische Compagnie (Netherlands) (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
Letters and papers from Curaçao and St. Eustatius addressed to its Kamer Amsterdam.

The Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association papers, ed. by Robert A. Hill. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1983- .  13 volumes
HOLLIS Record 

Vol. XI, The Caribbean diaspora, 1910-1920, 1 online resource (1129 p.)
​Online Version 

Volume XII :The Caribbean Diaspora, 1920-1921. 1 online resource (473 p.)
Online Version

Volume XIII :The Caribbean Diaspora, 1920-1921. 1 online resource (469 p.)
Online Version

These papers contain over 2300 documents relating to the presence and influence of the Universal Negro Improvement Association in the Caribbean from 1911 to 1945.

 Marcus Garvey, life and lessons : a centennial companion to The Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association papers, ed. by Robert A. Hill and Barbara Bair. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1987, 451 p.
HOLLIS Record

Chile

Chilean Protest Murals (Harvard College Library)

Cuba

Archives of Christian churches and organizations in Cuba online

Castro Speech Data Base (1959-1996)
Full-text translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences. 

Cuban Heritage Collection- University of Miami
Manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources.

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-Present

  • Part 1: "Casa y cultura": Digitized primary documents from the Casa de la Américas in Havana; includes articles, newspaper clippings, interviews, and and other ephemeral material, including programs of events at the Casa, which focused on well-known intellectuals and artists.
  • Part 2: Writers: This section includes artists and the international avant-garde as well as famous and little-known authors. A large portion of the collection consists of press clippings and ephemeral documentation
  • Part 3: Theater: This section documents the history of theater in Latin America and the Caribbean, with a special focus on Revolutionary Cuba. In addition, there are files about countries on other continents, such as the Soviet Union, the United States (with a focus on Latino and Chicano theater), and various countries in Europe and Africa.The collection covers theater groups, festivals, performances, and persons (actors, playwrights, directors).
Feminism in Cuba nineteenth through twentieth century archival documents
This collection of unique and difficult-to-acquire materials lends itself to a study of Cuban women in politics, Cuban feminism, Cuban women's literature and the legal status of women from 1898 through 1958 (a.k.a. the Stoner Collection).

The Cuban missile crisis, 1962 (Find It @ Harvard) In print. Also on microfilm.

The United States & Castro's Cuba, 1950-1970 the Paterson Collection (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
Reproduces photocopies of declassified documents, such as memoranda, letters, telegrams, diary entries, intelligence and military reports, transcripts and minutes of meetings, and speeches from presidential librares and government archives, collected by Thomas G. Paterson during his 25 years of research and writing on U.S.-Cuba relations during the Cold War period.
 
On microfilm. Online finding aid.
 
Dominican Republic
 
Crises in Panama and the Dominican Republic:  National Security Files and NSC Histories (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
 
Guatemala
 
Digital Archive of the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive

 

Jamaica

Slave Revolt in Jamaica, 1760-1761: A Cartographic Narrative

Mexico

Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico

Mexico Digital Library (searches across digital collections of many institutions)

Fideicomiso Archivo Plutarco Elías Calles and Fernando Torreblanca (FAPECFT) - This collection documents political, military, religious, and labor history in post-revolutionary Mexico (1909-1980).

Mexican Labor and World War II: The Bracero Program.
Collection of era photographs, documents, and oral history interviews.

Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

Archicofrad’a del Sant’simo Sacramento y Caridad. Records, 1555-1858 (University of Chicago Library). Legal materials

Acervo Digital (Archivo Historico del Estado de Aguascalientes)

Fideicomiso Archivo Plutarco Elías Calles and Fernando Torreblanca (FAPECFT) - This collection documents political, military, religious, and labor history in post-revolutionary Mexico (1909-1980).

Ticha, a digital explorer for colonial Zapotec (Haverford College), 17th century-  . 

Mexican Political Pamphlets, 1808-1832
Citations and digitized pamphlets related to the independence movement in Mexico, 1789-1828 - hosted at the Internet Archive.

El Virreinato de Nueva España y Perú durante los siglos XVI y XVII.  Correspondencia virreinal de la Audiencia de Nueva España, años 1536-1673. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

El Virreinato de Nueva España y Perú durante los siglos XVI y XVII.  Registros Nueva España, 1529-1714. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

El Virreinato de Nueva España y Perú durante los siglos XVI y XVII.  Residencias, Virreinato de Nueva España, 1543-1547. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

Peru

El Virreinato de Nueva España y Perú durante los siglos XVI y XVII.  Registros, Perú. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

El Virreinato de Nueva España y Perú durante los siglos XVI y XVII.  Correspondencia de los Virreyes, años 1552-1657 (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

Tribunal de Lima.  Relaciones de causas de fé, años 1570-1696. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

Puerto Rico
 
A la Izquierda: The Puerto Rican Movement (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
Contains newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets, and political writings of Juan Antonion Carretjer.
 
Suriname
 

Music and Dance in Surinam: A comprehensive collection of source literature extracted from over 4,000 publications. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm and in print.

United States
 

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection (1600-1960)

  • Focus on Hispanic culture in United States
  • Contains advertisements; broadsides, editorials, essays, letters, monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, periodicals, poetry, reviews, short stories, and other materials
  • Documents Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture.
  • Texts are written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), and are indexed and searchable in both languages.

Venezuela

Mapas y planos de Venezuela, ca. 1500-ca. 1799. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

Venezuelan History Pamphlet Collection, 1811-1946 (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.

Print

Slichter Industrial Relations Collection includes U.S. and international labor agreements, labor newspapers and periodicals, labor union constitutions and proceedings, arbitration awards and agreements, and labor-related pamphlets.

Search for material from the Labor Collection in HOLLIS Library Catalog Advanced search with searches of the form:

Code: Local call number contains: Labor*  [The * is necessary.]
AND
Keywords anywhere contains: California

Browse material from the Labor Collection in HOLLIS Library Catalog Advanced search with searches of the form:

Starts with/Browse: Call number - Other: Labor

See also the Labor Collections at Harvard guide

The library of Harvard University; descriptive and historical notes, by Alfred Claghorn Potter, , 1867-1940. 4th ed. Cambridge, Harvard university press, 1934, 186 p.
HOLLIS Record