Digitized Full Text

Bibliographies and Reference

Find travel accounts in HOLLIS by searching advanced search for the subject term “Description and Travel” AND the relevant geographical terms: Central America OR Belize OR Guatemala OR Salvador OR Honduras OR Mexico

Other Subject terms:

  • Discovery and exploration
  • Scientific expeditions
  • Travel in literature
  • Travelers' writings
  • Travelers
  • Voyages and travels

Bibliography of natural history travel narratives, by A.S. Troelstra. Utrecht: KNNV Publishing, 2016, 460 pages
--Well-annotated entries arranged alphabetically by author. All known editions and translations are cited. Offers references to biographical information on each author.  Index by region then country.
HOLLIS Record

The exploration of South America : an annotated bibliography, by Edward J. Goodman.
 New York : Garland Pub., 1983, 174 p. 
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text

Explorateurs, voyageurs et savants : grands livres de voyages terrestres du XVIIe au XIXe siècle (Afrique et Amérique du sud). By  Dominique de Montmollin, Michel Schlup et Michael Schmidt. Neuchâtel : Bibliothèque publique et universitaire, 2001, 245 p.
Subjects
Scientific expeditions -- South America -- Exhibitions
South America -- Discovery and exploration -- Manuscripts -- Catalogs
HOLLIS Record

Catálogo de las expediciones y viajes cientificos españoles a América y Filipinas (siglos XVIII y XIX) : fondos del Archivo del Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales, by María de los Angeles Calatayud Arinero. Madrid : Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Museo Nacional Ciencias Naturales, 1984, 433 p.
South America -- Discovery and exploration -- Spanish -- Bibliography -- Catalogs
HOLLIS Record

Accounts of nineteenth-century South America: an annotated checklist of works by British and United States observers, by Bernard Naylor. London, published for the Institute of Latin American Studies by the Athlone P., 1969, 80 p.
South America -- Description and travel -- Bibliography
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text

Women through women's eyes : Latin American women in nineteenth-century travel accounts, edited by June E. Hahner. Wilmington, Del. : SR Books, 1998, 184 p.
Women -- Latin America -- Social conditions
Women -- Latin America -- History -- 19th century
Women travelers -- Latin America -- History -- 19th century
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text

Travel accounts and descriptions of Latin America and the Caribbean, 1800-1920: a selected bibliography, by Thomas L. Welch and Myriam Figueras. Washington, DC: Columbus Memorial Library, Organization of American States, 1982, 293 p.
Widener | WID-LC | F1409.Z99 W44 x, 1982
Internet Archive Full Text

English interpreters of the Iberian new world from Purchas to Stevens: a bibliographical study, 1603-1726, by Colin Steele. Oxford: Dolphin Book Co., 1975, 206 p.
Widener | WID-LC | E141 .S82
Internet Archive Full Text

Latin America in the nineteenth century; a selected bibliography of books of travel and description published in English, by A. Curtis Wilgus. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1973, 174 p.
Widener | SA 879.73
Internet Archive Full Text

American travelers to Mexico, 1821-1972: a descriptive bibliography, by Garold Cole. Troy, NY: Whitston Pub. Co., 1978, 139 p.
Not at Harvard; obtain via Borrow Direct

Mexico in American and British letters: a bibliography of fiction and travel books, citing original editions, by Drewey Wayne Gunn. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1974, 150 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text

Encyclopedia of exploration, by Raymond John Howgego. Sydney: Hordern House, 2003-2006, 3 v.
Widener | RR 4004.3
v. 1. to 1800; v. 2. 1800-1850; vol. 3, 1850-1940.

Literature of travel and exploration: an encyclopedia, ed. by Jennifer Speake. NY: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003. 3 v.
Fine Arts | Reading Room | RFA74.50
Widener | RR 4006.10