Library Research Guide for Latin American Studies

In HOLLIS the following terms are found on literary works and works of literary scholarship.

• Argentina -- Politics and government -- Fiction (or Drama, or Poetry): refers to literary works
• Argentina -- In literature: Refers to literary scholarship.

MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography
Provides references to scholarly articles in over 3,000 literature journals and books of collected essays from 1926 to the present.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts 
Indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles from over 1200 journals annually in all areas of language and linguistics. LLBA also includes books, book chapters, bibliographies, monographs, conference proceedings, etc..

HAPI, Hispanic American periodicals index
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index contains citations to articles in more than 400 scholarly journals published in Latin America or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics. Dates of coverage: 1970 to present.

Handbook of Latin American Studies 
The Handbook of Latin American Studies contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference papers from 1990 to the present.

Latin American Women Writers (colonial era-present) includes about 100,000 pages of prose, poetry and essays, and 300 plays from 19 countries. Searches can be limited by race.

Encyclopedia of Latin American literature. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997.
Widener: RR 3218.10
Lamont: REF.ROOM PQ7081.A1 E56 1997
This one-volume work contains lengthy survey articles on writers, works, topics along with survey articles on the literatures of individual countries. Lists of works following each article include biographies, selected works, editions, further reading, some interviews and bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003 / edited by Daniel Balderston and Mike Gonzalez. London; New York: Routledge, 2004.
Widener: RR 3219.30
Particularly useful for introduction and overview of the literatures of each country. Overview and general bibliography.

Latin American writers. New York: Scribner, 1989. 3 v.
Widener: RR 3219. 20
Lamont: REF.ROOM PQ7081.A1 L37 1989
Introductions to Spanish American and Brazilian literature are followed by a chronological table of literary and political events from 1415-1987. Entries contain brief biographical information, a description of the writer’s production and bibliography

Handbook of Latin American literature / compiled by David William Foster. New York: Garland Pub., 1987.
Widener: RR3212.9
Lamont: REF.ROOM PQ7081.A1 H36 1987
General works followed by chapters on the literatures of various countries: long survey articles (in English) and briefly annotated bibliographies of critical work.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes 
A digital archive of Spanish and Spanish-American bibliography, documentation and criticism. Established in 1999 and sponsored by the Universidad de Alicante, el Banco Santander Central Hispano and the Fundación Marcelino Botín.

Internet Resources for Latin America 
Excellent compilation of many Latin American resources, along with useful links to other large searchable internet portals. Includes Latin American Newsletters newsfeed. By Molly Molloy, New Mexico State University Library, Las Cruces.

Latin American Women Writers
100,000 pages of prose, poetry and essays, and 300 plays from 19 countries.Starting in the colonial era and moving through to the present, the literary works, memoirs, feminist essays and other materials will give researchers the feminine perspective of the development of an entire continent.

Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction
Full text access to approximately 200 novels and many hundreds of short stories; 20,000 pages of poetry; and 450+ plays dating from 1850 to the present, several never-before published. Texts in English and Spanish, by Latin American authors working in the United States.

LANIC Literature in Latin America
The language and literature segment of the University of Texas gateway to Latin American studies resources on the internet.

Brasiliana eletronica (1931-1993)
Offers full text of titles from the Brasiliana collection primarily dealing with the development of the Brazilian nation after the 1930 revolution. Collection includes works in history, anthropology, sociology, geography and other fields.

Digitalia (2007- )
Offers a e-books and e-journals from Spanish and Latin American publishers.