Middle East and Islamic Studies Library Resources

Center for Research Libraries

https://www-crl-edu.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/programs/memp

https://www-crl-edu.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/focus/article/466

Middle East Microform Project

Middle East in Microform: A Union List of Middle Eastern Microforms in North American Libraries(link is external) is now available on the University of Washington’s Website. This resource was compiled by Fawzi W. Khoury and Michele Bates in 1991 and was originally conceived by the MEMP Executive Committee as a guide for selection of material for microfilming or acquisition.

• Barid al-Janub (London, England) [1995-2001]. Published in London, this opposition paper documents the Iraqi community in exile through the events of 2001.
• Al-Sahwah (Sana'a, Yemen) [1985-2001]. Another opposition paper, this title is the organ of the Tajammu’ al-Yamani lil-Islah (Yemeni Alliance for Reform), an Islamic party from Yemen.
• Al-Samir (Brooklyn, New York) [1936-1957]. Al-Samir was one of the longest-running Arabic newspapers in the United States. It was edited by the Lebanese writer, journalist, and poet Elia Daher Abu Madi (1889-1957). The newspaper contains news and articles concerning the Arabic community in America along with international news. All of the editorials were written by Abu Madi.
• Link to Arab-American newspapers, Focus issue on Middle East Studies (Spring 2004)

Middle East

• Cumhuriyet—Istanbul, Turkey (daily) [1956–present]

Ahali Group Newspapers

The Ahali Group of Newspapers reflect the ideas, philosophy, and political activities of first the Ahali Group and later the National Democratic Party of Iraq.  The political publications of the Group commenced in 1932 and continued intermittently, under various names, until 1963.  The Chadirji Research Centre produced a set of 27 microfilm reels and an index to the collection.  It contains collections of al-Ahali, Sawt al-Ahali, al-Mabdaa, al-Bayan, Sada al-Ahali, al-Mauatin, and al-Akhaa al-Watani. An article index is available on CD-ROM.
Catalog Record  Guide

Chaquèri Collection of Iranian Left-wing Materials 1960-1985

MEMP has filmed a portion of the Chaquèri Collection of Iranian left-wing materials produced by, or relating to, a number of groups opposing the regime of Muhammad Riza Shah Pahlavi (r. 1941-1979). The collection amounts to 1,100 items, and includes pamphlets and other ephemeral material.  The items in the collection are cataloged individually and can be accessed here.
Catalog Record  Guide

Library of Congress Arabic Pamphlet Collection,
Part I

This collection was filmed in the 1990s from material collected at the Library of Congress.  Materials are in Arabic, English, French, German, and other languages.  The collection contains pamphlets and other ephemeral materials from the 1950s through the early 1980s.
Guide

Library of Congress Arabic Pamphlet Collection,
Part II

This collection of over 4,000 items was microfilmed on 89 reels by MEMP in 2009-2010.  The materials were collected by Dr. George Atiyeh, former Head of the Near East Section of the Library of Congress from 1967 to 1996.  The collection includes pamphlets, speeches, newsletters, and other ephemera from across the Middle East, published mostly 1960-1995.  Many of the materials are in Arabic, but there are quite a number of items in English and French and also German, Spanish, Russian and other languages.
Catalog Record  Guide

Library of Congress Arabic Pamphlet Collection, Part III

This collection includes over 1,300 documents microfilmed on 55 reels by MEMP in 2019.  Many of the items are from Egypt, Sudan and West Bank/Gaza, with additional materials from other countries.  They were published in the late 1990s and 2000s, up until 2015.  They deal with a wide variety of subjects such as politics, culture, laws, women, public health, environment, economics, and human rights.  They also contain materials regarding different political parties, movements, and social and economic events.  Many of the materials are in Arabic, but there are quite a number in English and French.
Catalog Record  Guide

Al-Samir

MEMP has filmed this newspaper from New York, which was once the largest Arabic daily publication in the United States. The newspaper contains news and articles concerning the Arab community in the United States along with international news. All of the editorials were written by Abu Madi, one of the founders of the "Pen League".
Catalog Record

Tangier Gazette

The newspaper was published under various names from 1884 through 1960 and exists in the British Library on a total of 23 reels. This newspaper, in English, is virtually the only continuously published newspaper source on Morocco from such an early date.
Al-Moghreb al-Aksa: Tangier chronicle and Morocco gazette. Jan. 2, 1897 - Feb. 3, 1923
Al-Moghreb al-Aksa: Tangier gazette. Feb. 10, 1923 - Jan. 22, 1927
Tangier gazette: al-Moghreb al-Aksa & Morocco. Jan. 29 ,1927 - May 14, 1932
Tangier gazette and Morocco mail. May 27, 1932 - May 28, 1940
Tangier gazette and al Mogh-reb al Aksa. May 17, 1949 - Dec. 28, 195

Aljadid

This serial is produced by the Nagam Cultural Project to be a “record of Arab culture and arts.” MEMP has filmed al-Jadid from June to November 1993 and Aljadid from November 1995 to Summer 2002. MEMP will continue to film this title on a continual basis.

Beirut Times

An ethnic newspaper from California, the Beirut Times documents Arab-American communities, with a focus on Los Angeles, and is being filmed by Bay Microfilm, Inc. MEMP owns August 31, 1985–December 31, 2008 and intends to preserve additional issues.

Habzbuz

Habzbuz is an illustrated, satirical Arabic-language newspaper published in Baghdad after the 2003 invasion. MEMP has digitized issues from 2003. The newspaper contains a wealth of political cartoons on events and public figures during the U.S. occupation.

al-Iraq

Al-Iraq is an Arabic-language newspaper of the Iraqi diaspora community, published in Glendale, California. The issues included in this digitization project are from April 2011 to October 2013.

Iraqi Newspapers

MEMP is microfilming several post-2003 Iraqi newspapers from the collection of the University of California, Berkeley.  al-Dawah is published by the party to which Prime Minister Maliki belongs.  al-Zaman is a major indepedent newspaper in London which covers Iraqi politics.  Al-Fat'h al-Mubin, al-Bayyinah al-Jadidah, and al-Huda represent Shi-ite political views.

MEMP has also received more than 20 newspaper titles from Iraq that were collected by the Library of Congress office in Cairo.  These will be microfilmed in 2014 and 2015.  Titles include:  Al-Istiqamah (Baghdad, Iraq) Dec. 27, 2003 – Oct. 16, 2008,  Al-Manar al-Yawm (Baghdad, Iraq) Mar. 22, 2004 – Apr. 6, 2005, Al-Sa’ah (Baghdad, Iraq) December 27, 2003 – April 8, 2009, and many short runs of other titles.

Journal de Teheran

Journal de Teheran is a general newspaper in French from Iran.  Stanford has contributed its holdings for 1949-1956 and 1960-1967 for MEMP microfilming.

al-Quds al-Arabi (London)

MEMP is filming issues from 1989 to the present of the London title al-Quds al-Arabi, which covers contemporary Middle East issues. Holdings are being provided by Yale University and Exeter University (UK).

Subh-i Iran

MEMP will preserve issues from 1987-2005 of this Persian language daily newspaper published in Los Angeles.  The newspaper contains information on the local Iranian community as well as news from Iran.

al-Tahrir

This Egyptian journal began publishing in 2011, after the revolution began.  Stanford is providing holdings of al-Tahrir for this MEMP microfilming project.

Turkish Newspapers

MEMP's project microfilmed Turkish newspapers held by CRL, which complements previously filmed material held around the United States. This multiyear commitment has filmed several titles, including  Milliyet, Son Posta, and Vakit.

Yas Turkistan

MEMP microfilm holdings from 1932-1939 provided by Indiana University.  Yas Turkistan was an anti-bolshevik journal in Arabic script published in Berlin by Central Asian immigrants who created the political group struggling for freedom in Central Asia.