Explore subject-specific databases
In addition to the general, multi-disciplinary databases listed in the "Get Started" section, explore subject-specific databases to deepen your understanding of the existing literature. Some of the most relevant resources in the areas of international and global affairs are:
-
IREON: The International Relations and Area Studies GatewayContains citations (and some full text) on foreign and security policy, international development,
European politics, transatlantic relations, regional and country studies, and global energy and environmental policies through access to the WAO – World Affairs Online database, which is curated by several German international affairs research institutes. -
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online (Harvard Login)Continuously updated, comprehensive site that curates articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, etc. on international relations and related fields, including security studies, international law, and human rights.
-
PAIS International (Harvard Login)Comprehensive database of international policy-oriented social science literature (ranging from political science and international relations to education and public health to economics and finance), with content in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Harvard Login)Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations.
Explore subject-specific research guides
Take a look at our subject-specific research guides, curated by HKS librarians or their colleagues at other Harvard schools.
Other Key Resources
Top International Relations Journals
According to Journal Citation Reports, these are the top journals by impact factor in the field of international relations as of 2024.
Journalism Focusing on International Affairs
-
The Economist (Harvard Login)London-based weekly news magazine (which somehow still likes to refer to itself as a "newspaper") that contains excellent coverage of current events around the globe.
Note: Please disregard any prompts to register or subscribe as this will limit your access. If you experience any difficulty with access you can also get articles in ABI/Inform or by using the unproxied Economist website while on the Harvard VPN. -
Foreign Affairs (HKS Login)Perhaps the most influential American magazine in foreign policy and international relations, published bimonthly by the Council on Foreign Relations.
-
Foreign Policy (Harvard Login)Website of the bimonthly magazine, updated daily; contains news, analysis, and opinion—as well as some very interesting, informative podcasts.
-
Project Syndicate (Harvard Login)Billed as "the world's opinion page," publishes commentary and op-eds from major international scholars and intellectuals on a vast array of topics in international politics, economics, etc.