Explore subject-specific databases
In addition to the general, multi-disciplinary databases listed in the "Get Started" section, explore subject-specific databases to deepen your understanding of the existing literature. Some of the most relevant resources in areas of social and urban policy are:
-
Urban Studies Abstracts (Harvard Login)Interdisciplinary database covering research literature in urban sociology, community development, urban planning, urban history, and related fields.
-
ProQuest Sociological Abstracts (Harvard Login)A core resource for researchers, professionals and students in sociology, social planning and policy and related disciplines.
-
Applied Social Sciences Indexes and Abstracts (ASSIA) (Harvard Login)Indexes articles on social policy broadly speaking, including social services, health, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education.
-
Social Services Abstracts (Harvard Login)Covers research in the areas of social work and human services, as well as related fields including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
-
3-in-1 Search: Education (Harvard Login)Allows you to search three education-related databases (ERIC, Education Abstracts, and Academic Search Premier) for articles on all aspects of education, including education policy and management.
-
Race Relations Abstracts (Harvard Login)Includes abstracts (and select full text) of articles, book chapters, and books on race relations, ethnicity, immigration, etc., primarily in the United States.
Use subject-specific research guides
Also take a look at our subject-specific research guides, curated by HKS librarians or their colleagues at other Harvard schools.
HKS research guides:
Research guides from other Harvard schools:
Other Key Resources
Top Demography & Urban Studies Journals
According to Journal Citation Reports, here is a selection of the top journals by impact factor in the fields of demography and urban studies as of 2024.