Explore subject-specific databases
In addition to the general, multi-disciplinary databases listed in the "Get Started" section, explore subject-specific databases to deepen your understanding of the existing literature. Some of the most relevant resources in areas of democracy, policy, and institutions are:
-
CQ Press Electronic LibraryA comprehensive reference resource for research in U.S. politics, elections, government, and public policy. Includes CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher Plus, the Congress Collection, Voting and Elections Collection, and more.
-
HeinOnline (Harvard login)Major database of legal materials and publications, including law reviews, U.S. Code, U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Federal Register, etc. Some foreign law is also covered.
-
Historical Abstracts (Harvard Login)Covers scholarship on world history (except the U.S. and Canada) since 1450. Also includes abstracting and indexing for major non-English, non-American history journals.
Note: For U.S. and Canadian history, use HA's companion database, America: History & Life. -
PAIS International (Harvard Login)Comprehensive database of international policy-oriented social science literature (ranging from political science and international relations to education and public health to economics and finance), with content in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
-
Policy File Index (Harvard Login)Abstracts of and links to domestic and international public policy research published by think tanks, university programs, and other research organizations.
Explore subject-specific research guides
If you need to dive in even more deeply, check out the topical research guides curated by your friendly HKS librarians (and their colleagues at other Harvard libraries).
HKS Library research guides
Research guides from other Harvard libraries
Other Key Resources
Top Public Administration Journals
According to Journal Citation Reports, these are the top journals by impact factor in the field of public administration as of 2024.