The Man of Sorrows and the Mater dolorosa, ca. 1480 Strassburger Werkstattgemeinschaft (Lautenbach Master) German (Swabia)

Architecture, Sculpture, Glass & Other Arts

Amiens Cathedral Project
Drawings, videos, photographs, texts, and discussion documenting the Amiens Cathedral. Created and maintained by faculty in the Art History Department at Columbia University.

Art-Roman.net
This site, organized by region, provides color images of interior and exterior Romanesque architecture, sculpture and wall paintings in France.

The Bayeux Tapestry
Good quality digital images of entire Bayeux Tapestry searchable through a thumbnail index.

Bibliographie zur Mittelalter-Numismatik
Research bibliography covering all aspects of medieval numismatics. Browse by publication type or title. In German.

Celtic Arts and Culture
Articles, maps, images, and timelines covering all aspects of Celtic art, architecture, and design.

Chartres: Cathedral of Notre Dame
Comprehensive collection of images and detailed descriptions of Chartres Cathedral from the University of Pittsburgh. Contains more than 3,000 images including maps, plans, views, and architectural and stained glass details.

Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi (CVMA) of Great Britain
Contains image archive, publications, conservation information, and other medieval stained glass links.

Danmarks Kirker
Ongoing project to document all Danish churches and their contents. Some volumes have summaries in English. Related Web site has an illustrated glossary of medieval building elements and construction techniques.

Gothic Ivories: The Courtauld Institute
The Gothic Ivories Project is an online database of ivory sculptures made in Western Europe ca. 1200-ca. 1530 and currently contains over 900 objects. Includes updates on recent publications, exhibitions and conferences related to medieval art and Gothic ivories. Also includes a select bibliography about Gothic ivories.

Kalkmalerier i Danske Kirke
From the Department of History at Copenhagen University, a searchable image-database containing more than 5,000 images of medieval wall-paintings from churches across Denmark. Additional images are added regularly. In Danish and English.

Mapping Gothic France
Database of images, texts, charts, and historical maps aims to create an environment in which parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries may be explored and considered in the three dimensions of space, time, and narrative.

Medieval Coins Group
Designed for collectors and students of medieval numismatics to share knowledge and information about medieval European and Crusader coins.

The Mourners: Tomb Sculptures from the Court of Burgundy
Digital 3D images of tomb sculptures from the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Dijon created from more than 14,000 photographs. Each sculpture may be viewed from a variety of perspectives. This project was conceived in conjunction with an international exhibition of the tomb sculptures which will travel to 7 American museums from 2010-2012 and to the Musée National du Moyen-Age in Paris before returning to Dijon.

Photothèque: Centre d'Etudes Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale
Extensive database of digital images and descriptive records of Romanesque architecture and arts hosted by the University of Poitiers. Includes an extensive search interface with lists of terms for multiple indexes. To access the Phototheque, mouse over the CESCM acronym at left of page.

Restoring Byzantium: Iconography
Part of a larger research website for the 2004 exhibition at Columbia University. This section, Pictorial Decoration: Sequence, Iconography and Style Based on the Research of Professor Robert Ousterhout, contains images and QTVR of the interiors of the Chora Monastery.

Romanes.com
Comprehensive site covering architecture and sculpture in France from the Romanesque through the Gothic period. Includes thousands of high quality images, interactive maps, bibliography, newsletter, blog, and links.

Romanesque Architecture of the Bourbonnais
A work in progress by Professor Stephen Murray, Columbia University, Art History and Archæology, to document the Romanesque churches and other architectural monuments in the Bourbonnais region. Contains an interactive map, high quality photographs, many architectural details, drawings, plans, measurements, and virtual reality.

St. Gall Monastery Plan
Comprehensive website devoted to all aspects of the plan for St. Gall. Includes projects, presentations, digital images, bibliography, discussion forum, and links. Created in 2001 by the Kunstgeschichte-Tutorium, University of Vienna. Now a joint project with UCLA and the University of Virginia, and the University of Vienna. In English.

Vidimus
Vidimus, is a monthly on-line magazine devoted to medieval stained glass. The magazine provides news, exhibition reviews, events, books and links. Each month contains a feature article and a detailed examination of a single panel of glass.

Return to top

Research Assistance

Mary Clare Altenhofen
Contact:
Research Liaison for History of Art + Architecture

Fine Arts Library / Littauer Center

altenhof@fas.harvard.edu

617.496.3592