Skip to main content
 

[History 1900/HLS 2010] Feminisms and Pornography

Requesting Materials

To request boxes from a manuscript collection, you have two options:

  • In person : complete a blue manuscript call slip which can be found in many locations at the Library, including at the Reference Desk.
  • Remotely : submit an inquiry using the Ask a Schlesinger Librarian webform. When using the webform, please use the following formatting in the "Enter your question here" field to indicate the type of assistance you are requesting:
    • F&P-[Your Lastname] – Materials request

The information that you will need to provide includes:

  • Title of the collection [Susan Brownmiller]
  • Call# [MC 523]
  • Box numbers [9, 11, 12]
  • Your last name [Jones]
  • Date of the request [9/14/2017]

Whether you contact us remotely or in person, a Research Librarian will communicate with you about your request. During that process, we'll confirm when the materials can be made available, if you need to sign a permission form, and any other pertinent information.


Please note that offsite materials do require more advance planning. Check the "Locations & Availability" tab in the HOLLIS record to determine where the material is stored. For manuscript collections, the location is in the "Restrictions" note. Onsite materials will be retrieved while you are waiting. Offsite (HD) materials need to be requested in advance:

  • before 3:00pm if requesting in person;
  • with 2 business days' notice if requesting through the webform.

Note: The Library does not receive offsite deliveries on Saturdays, so:

  • materials requested Friday won't arrive before Monday
  • materials requested Saturday won't arrive before Tuesday.

Archive Reports: Identifying/Flagging Documents

As you review the collections you have been assigned for your Archive Reports, please use the flags we provide to identify the items you wish to have available for your presentation. To ensure the correct items are available on the day of your presentation, please note the following steps:

  1. On the top of the flag, write:
    • your last name;
    • the description of the item.
  2. Place the flag in front of the item, making sure the flag is visible when the folder is returned to the box.
  3. Ask at the Reading Room or Reference desks for orange "Archive Report Hold Cards." After writing your name and the date of your presentation on it, the card should be put into the clear plastic pocket on the side of the box containing your chosen document. Be sure to point this out to the staff in the Reading Room or at the Reference Desk.
  4. Finally, please notify us using the Library's webform that you have identified the document(s) you wish to have available for your Archive Report. Please use the following formatting in the "Enter your question here" field:
      F&P-[Your Lastname] – Archive Report
  5. In the message, be sure to include the following information:
    • Collection name;
    • Call #;
    • Box #;
    • Folder #;
    • Document description

!!!All final document selections are due at noon the Friday before your presentation.!!!

Filmed Presentations: Identifying/Flagging Documents

Once you have decided which document you will use for the Lightning Round filmed presentation, please use the flags we provide you with to identify the item. To ensure the correct document is available for filming on October 31, please note the following steps:

  1. On the top of the flag, write:
    • your last name;
    • the description of the item.
  2. Place the flag in front of the item, making sure the flag is visible when the folder is returned to the box.
  3. Ask at the Reading Room or Reference desks for a blue "Filming Hold Card." After writing your name on it, the card should be put into the clear plastic pocket on the side of the box containing your chosen document. Be sure to point this out to the staff in the Reading Room or at the Reference Desk.
  4. Finally, please notify us using the Library's webform that you have identified the document you wish to have available for your Filming Project. Please use the following formatting in the "Enter your question here" field:
      F&P-[Your Lastname] – Filming Project
  5. In the message, be sure to include the following information:
    • Collection name;
    • Call #;
    • Box #;
    • Folder #;
    • Document description

!!!All final document selections are due at noon on 10/27, the Friday before the filming class.!!!