Social Movements, Activism, Radicalism, Protest

For women's rights movement

For LGBTQ rights

See also Research Guide for Primary Source Research on Civil Rights

American Radicalism (Michigan State University) collections includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera

Antiwar and Radical History Project – Pacific Northwest

Free Speech Movement (FSM) Digital Archives. On the University of California, Berkeley, September-December 1964)

The Freedom Archives is a non-profit educational archive located in San Francisco dedicated to the preservation and dissemination of historical audio, video, and print materials documenting progressive movements and culture from the 1960s to the 1990s.

Yanker Poster Collection includes more than 3,000 political, propaganda, and social issue posters and handbills, dating 1927-1980. Most posters are from the United States, but over 55 other countries and the United Nations are also represented.

Art of Protest (by San Jose State University Special Collections)

Voices of Extremism (Illinois State University) - Interviews

Historic Avant-Garde Periodicals for Digital Research (1848-1923)(Blue Mountain Project) offers art, music and literary periodicals.

Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest (1950-1975) contains primary sources on popular culture in the US and Great Britain. Topics include: Youth Culture; Student Protests; May ‘68; TV; Music; Movies; Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups; The Space Race; Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers; Vietnam War; and Nuclear Disarmament.

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels (1965-2005) contains 75,000 pages of North American and European comics and graphic novels, and interviews, commentary and criticism, including The Comics Journal.

African Activist Archive Project (1950-1990s) offers records of activism in the US in support of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project: Modern Social Movements

Alternative Serials in the Tamiment Library: Digitized Serials

Alt-Press Watch (1995- ) is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles of the independent alternative press of the 60s-80s.

Sixties Project (University of Virginia)

Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest (1950-1975).  Choose Document Type: Underground Press to see titles.

The Sixties :primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974

Berkeley 1968-1973 Poster Collection: UBC Library Digital Collections - 250 posters concerned with the advocacy for peace, equality, and harmony during the Vietnam War era from the University of California's Berkeley campus and other regions in the San Francisco Bay Area

The Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933

Joseph A. Labadie Collection offers social protest movement posters, including anarchism, civil liberties, colonialism, communism, environmentalism, feminism, labor, pacifism, sexual freedom, socialism, women, and youth/student protest.  Bulk from the 1960s and later, with some earlier.

Revolution and Protest Online