Infrastructure - Public Works - Transportation
Keating, Ann Durkin. 1994. Invisible networks: exploring the history of local utilities and public works. (Exploring community history series) Malabar, FL: Krieger Pub. Co., 168 p.
Loeb Design | HD3885 .K43 1994
History of public works in the United States, 1776-1976, by American Public Works Association; ed. by Ellis L. Armstrong, Michael C. Robinson, Suellen M. Hoy. Chicago : The Association, 1976, 736 p.
Widener | WID-LC | HD3885 .A43x 1976
TRID combines the TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database
Hoy, S. M. & M. C. Robinson. 1982. Public Works History in the United States: A Guide to the Literature. Nashville, TN: American Association for State and Local History, 477 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Bibliography of secondary sources divided by general topic, e.g.,
Sewerage, Water Supply, et. Includes many old primary works with historical introductions.
McConville, J. & J. Sheldrake. 1997. Urban Transport: An Annotated International Bibliography. London: Mansell, 508 pp.
Reid, J. P. 1978. Bibliography of Bibliographies on Transportation and Related Fields. Monticello, IL: Council of Planning Librarians, 70 pp.
Stapleton, D. H. 1986. The History of Civil Engineering since 1600: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 232 pp.
Thomson, T. R. 1942. Check List of Publications on American Railroads before 1841: A Union List of Printed Books and Pamphlets, Including State and Fedral Documents, Dealing with Charters, By-laws, Legislative Acts, Speeches, Debates, Land Grants, Officers' and Engineers' Reports, Travel Guides, Maps, etc. NY: New York Public Library, 250 pp.
Zimmerman, A. G. 1991. A Canal Bibliography with a Primary Emphasis on the United States and Canada. Easton, PA: Canal History and Technology Press; Hugh Moore Historical Park and Museums; Pennsylvania Canal Society, 187 pp.
--Primary & secondary. Includes fiction and juvenile.
Online Books Page: Public Works Subject List
Building the Washington Metro: On Online Exhibit documents the rapid transit system serving Washington, D.C.
Metropolis: New York City Water and Transit Infrastructure in Photographs
National Transportation Library (US Department of Transportation), largeley1960s- ;some earlier; Highway Research Board publications, 1923- .
Offers technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Coverage includes planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors. Includes highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation.