Trade Catalogues and the American Home (1850-1950) about domesticity, daily life, consumerism and technology in America between. This collection presents a wealth of highly visual trade catalogues, cards and marketing ephemera.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising Archive (1890s-1990s; largely 1945- ).
Ad*Access (1911 and 1955)
adflip.com:the world's largest searchable database of classic print ads (individual subscription)
Advertising Archives has both American and British ads.
Baker Business Library Collections:
The High Art of Photographic Advertising concerns a 1934 exhibition of advertising and industrial images.
Early Advertising Collection (1790-1910) contains European and American printed advertisements, largely late 19th century trade cards. Dates often approximate.
John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (18th-20th centuries). Collection, housed in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, documents everyday life in Britain. Includes section on advertising.
Medicine & Madison Avenue (1850-1920)
Advertisements Online and University of Washington libraries images guide
Smithsonian Collections Search Center offers numerous advertisements.
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials (1950s-1980s). Note that Sub-Collections breaks the collection down by individual company.
Search in HOLLIS: “trade cards” OR “Advertising cards”
Trade cards, bulk 1870-1900. ca. 8,000 items (15 boxes).
Baker Business | Historical Collections -- Visual Collection | Vis 29
A part of Advertising Ephemera Collection, ca.1800-ca.1970: A Finding Aid Finding Aid
Cards of ethnic types and women from the Middle East and North Africa [graphic]. ca. 1880-1928.
Fine Arts Special Collections | AKP238 Please consult Special Collections for restrictions on use.
--Color advertising or trade cards, collecting cards, and mostly black-and-white postcards showing Arab and other ethnic types, genre scenes, and Orientalist-style portraits of women from Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Syria, Palestine, Turkey, Persia (Iran), and Central Asia.