Food
Dictionaries and encyclopedias offer brief overviews of topics, often with references for further reading.
The Cambridge world history of food, ed. by K. F. Kiple and K. C. Ornelas. Cambridge; NY: Cambridge University Press, 2000. 2 v.
Encyclopedia of junk food and fast food, by A. F. Smith. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006, 321 p.
The Oxford companion to American food and drink, ed. by Andrew F. Smith. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2007, 693 p.
The Oxford companion to food, by A. Davidson. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 1999, 892 p.
The Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America, ed. by A. F. Smith. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2004. 2 v.
Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection includes a Food & Drink category.
American books on food and drink: a bibliographical catalog of the cookbook collection housed in the Lilly Library at the Indiana University, W. R. Cagle and L. Killion Stafford. New Castle, De. : Oak Knoll Press, 1998, 794 p.
Bibliography of domestic economy, in English, by Robert Kendall Shaw. Albany, University of the State of New York, 1901. Available in Google Books.
Bibliography of home economics, by Carrie Alberta Lyford. (Bulletin / Dept. of the Interior, Bureau of Education; 1919, no. 46), 103 p. Available in Google Books.
Food and drink in literature: a selectively annotated bibliography, by Norman Kiell. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1995, 361 p.
Guide to literature of home and family life; a classified bibliography for home economics with use and content annotations, by Annie Isabel Robertson. Philadelphia, London, J.B. Lippincott, 1924, 284 p.
Home economics bibliography. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Bureau of Home Economics, 1927-1932. 8 v.
Melting pot: an annotated bibliography and guide to food and nutrition information for ethnic groups in America, by Jacqueline M. Newman. 2nd ed. NY: Garland Pub., 1993, 240 p.
Find additional subject bibliographies in the HOLLIS Catalog: Search, e.g., <nutrition [Keyword search] and bibliography [Subject Keyword search]> on Expanded Search screen.
The
Digital Collections
Cookbooks
- Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project - View full-page images and search the full text of late 18th- to early 20th-century American cookbooks from the MSU Library collection.
- Community Cookbooks - View the covers of various community cookbooks from 1876-1960
- Szathmary Culinary Manuscripts and Cookbooks - View and search images and text of hand-written cookbooks (1600-1963)
Cooking implements
- Museum Gallery of Objects - The Michigan State University Museum provides photographs and use-descriptions of their collection of historic cooking implements.
Cooking- and food-related publications and ephemera
- Little Cookbooks: The Alan and Shirley Brocker Sliker Culinary Collection - images and descriptions of food-related publications (advertisements, promotional materials, food packaging, etc.)
- American menu collection from NYPL (1851-2008)
- Johnson & Wales menu collection
Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America has one of the World's leading collections of books, journals, and manuscripts on women's history. They have a very large collection of cookbooks among many other resources. Feel free to contact their Reference Services.
The Harvard College Library hosted an exhibit, No Food in the Library (1993), which highlighted resources for worldwide food history in all the Harvard libraries and museums.