Medical Instruments
LC Subject Headings
Hospitals -- Furniture, equipment, etc. -- Catalogs.
Surgical instruments and apparatus -- Catalogs.;
Medical instruments and apparatus -- Testing -- Periodicals.;
Medical instruments and apparatus -- Safety measures -- Periodicals.
Surgical instruments and apparatus -- United States -- History.
Medical Subject Headings
Equipment and Supplies, Hospital
Catalogs, Commercial.;
Equipment and Supplies - catalogs.;
Davis, A. B. 1981. Medicine and its Technology: An Introduction to the History of Medical Instrumentation. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 285 pp. --Chapter 2: Literature sources of medical instruments, pp. 15-35. Overview of primary and secondary literature. --Chapter 3: Collections of medical instruments, pp. 37-57. Overview and history of collections.
Edmonson, J. M. 1986. Nineteenth Century Surgical Instruments: A Catalogue of the Gustav Weber Collection at the Howard Dittrick Museum of Historical Medicine. Occasional Contributions to the History of the Health Sciences from the Historical Division of the Cleveland Health Sciences Library, no. 3, 69 pp.
Edmonson, J. M. 1997. American Surgical Instruments: An Illustrated History of their Manufacture and a Directory of Instrument Makers to 1900. (Norman surgery series no. 9). San Francisco, CA: Norman Publishing, 352 pp. --Biographical information on numerous instrument makers. Directory of surgical and dental instrument makers and dealers, 1785-1900, pp. 170-269. By state and city.
Hibbard, B. M. 2000. The Obstetrician's Armamentarium: Historical Obstetric Instruments and their Inventors. San Francisco: Norman Pub., 324 pp.
The
HOLLIS/WorldCat Subject terms:
- Biotechnology industries -- United States -- Equipment and supplies -- Directories
- Medical instruments and apparatus industry -- Directories
HOLLIS/WorldCat Subject terms:
- Medical instruments and apparatus -- Catalogs
- Hospitals -- Furniture, equipment, etc. – Catalogs
-
Dental instruments and apparatus -- Catalogs.
-
Surgical instruments and apparatus -- Catalogs.
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections. Under Refine by: open Genres and choose Catalogs. Some will be catalogs of libraries, collections and pharmaceuticals, but many are instrument catalogs.
The finest instruments ever made: a bibliography of medical, dental, optical, and pharmaceutical company trade literature, 1700-1939, Audrey B. Davis. Arlington, Mass.: Medical History Pub. Associates, 1986.
Medical trade catalogs at The New York Academy of Medicine Library: a bibliography, by Fred Gitner. New York, NY: The New York Academy of Medicine, 1995.
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections. Under Refine by: open Genres and choose Catalogs. Some will be catalogs of libraries, collections and pharmaceuticals, but many are instrument catalogs.
National Museum of Health and Medicine. Collections include archival materials, anatomical and pathological specimens, medical instruments and artifacts. The collections focus particularly on the history and practice of and American medicine, military medicine and federal involvement.