Library Research Guide for American Material Culture

A companion to museum studies, ed. by Sharon Macdonald. Malden, MA; Oxford, UK: Blackwell Pub., 2006, 570 p.
HOLLIS record - Online version available

Antiques and Collectibles: A Bibliography of Works in English, 16th Century to 1976, by Linda Campbell Franklin. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1978.
Fine Arts Reading Room RFA355.29

Museums, their History and their Use: with a Bibliography and List of Museums in the United Kingdom, by D. Murray. 3 v. Glasgow: James MacLehose and Sons, publishers to the University, 1904.
Location :  In Google Books (1904 ed.)
Location :  Gutman Education AM5 .M9
Location :  Museum Comp Zoology Z-M
--Over half of the work is a bibliography of museums. Reprint, Staten Island, NY: Pober Pub., 2000. 3 v. in 2. With introduction by Paula Findlen.

The AAM guide to provenance research, by Nancy H. Yeide, Konstantin Akinsha, Amy L. Walsh. Washington, D.C.: American Association of Museums, 2001, 304 p.
HOLLIS Record
--Extensive bibliographies of art collecting, by collector and by country

• Appendix A Selected bibliography on the history of collecting: collectors, collections, grand tours, p. 161
• Appendix B Selected biographical research resources, p. 201
• Appendix C Selected bibliography of dealers and dealers' memoirs, p. 206
• Appendix D Dealer archives and locations, p. 214
• Appendix E Selected resources for auction sales and exhibitions, p. 243
• Appendix F Selected art libraries and photographic archives, p. 246
• Appendix G Selected bibliography on looting and restitution, p. 255-258

Trench, Lucy. Materials and Techniques in the Decorative Arts: An Illustrated Dictionary. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000. NK 30 M38 2000 Art Library Reference Collection, Steenbock Library.

Antiquespeak: a guide to the styles, techniques, and materials of the decorative arts, from the Renaissance to art deco, Kathryn B. Hiesinger and George H. Marcus. New York: Abbeville Press, 1997, 215 p.
HOLLIS Record

The dictionary of antiques and the decorative arts; a book of reference for glass, furniture, ceramics, silver, periods, styles, technical terms, etc., by Louise Ade Boger and H. Batterson Boger. New York, Scribner, 1967, 662 p.
HOLLIS Record

Encyclopedia of decorative arts, 1890-1940, ed. by Philippe Garner. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1979,320 p.
HOLLIS Record

Materials & techniques in the decorative arts: an illustrated dictionary, ed. by Lucy Trench. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000, 572 p.
HOLLIS Record

The Penguin dictionary of decorative arts, by John Fleming and Hugh Honour. New ed. London: Viking, 1989, 935 p.
HOLLIS Record

Skira dictionary of modern decorative arts, 1851-1942, by Valerio Terraroli. Milano, Italy: Skira, 223 p.
HOLLIS Record

Journal of the history of collections. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1989- .
Searchable online version 
Fine Arts | FA10.81

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture

Art Sales Catalogues Online is a bibliographic database with citations for European auction sales catalogs published from 1600-1900. In addition to over 60,000 listings, there are full-text page images for 13,000 catalogs.

HOLLIS/WorldCat Subject Terms

• Botanical specimens -- Collection and preservation -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
• Exhibitions -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
• United States -- History, Local -- Exhibitions -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
• Museum exhibits -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
• Museum techniques.
• Museum labels -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Rogers, S. P., M. A. Schmidt, and T. Gutebier. 1989. Historical preparation. Pp. 131-149 in: An Annotated Bibliography on Preparation, Taxidermy, and Collection Management of Vertebrates with Emphasis on Birds. Special publication of Carnegie Museum of Natural History no. 15, 189 pp.
--Pre-1900 references on taxidermy and scientific preparation, and on the history of scientific collecting and taxidermy.

Williams, S. L. and C. A. Hawks. 1987. History of preparation materials used for Recent mammal specimens. Pp. 21-49 in Mammal Collection Management, edited by Hugh H. Genoways, Clyde Jones, and Olga L. Rossolimo. Lubbock, TX: Texas Tech University Press, 219 pp.
--Includes catalog of materials used in mammal preparation and a bibliography.

See museum image databases on Images, Photographs page.

Museums & Historic Structures Includes Historic House Museums

Official museum directory. Washington, D.C. : American Association of Museums. Online version (open Search Museums)
Fine Arts  |  Reading Room    |  RFA 167.1.57
Widener  |  RR 1014.10 --Has index by category, e.g., transportation

American Alliance of Museums  --  Directory (subject searchable)

List of Museum Associations

Directory of museums worldwide

Subject collections: a guide to special book collections and subject emphases as reported by university, college, public, and special libraries and museums in the United States and Canada, by Lee Ash and William G. Miller. 7th ed.  New Providence, N.J. : R.R. Bowker, 1993, 2 v. 
Andover-Harv. Theol  |  Ref.    |  Z731 .A78 1993 
Loeb Music  |  Aldrich Room    |  Z731 .A78 1993   
Tozzer  |  REF    |  Z721 .A8 1993 
Widener  |  RR45.21.2

Natural history museums of the United States and Canada / Frederick J.H. Merrill. Albany : University of the State of New York, 1903, 233 p.
Museum Comp Zoology | Z-M
Botany Arnold (Cambr.) | U M55.1
Tozzer | MUS.120.31.2 (62)
Widener | S 7560.2
--List with brief indication of contents and personnel (often just director given).

Hafner, M. S. et al. 1997. Mammal Collections in the Western Hemisphere: A Survey and Directory of Existing Collections. Lawrence, KS: American Society of Mammalogists, 93 pp.

Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web‎

Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America