Cities

Central business districts
Cities and towns
Garden cities
Local transit
Roads
Subways
Trees in cities
Urban transportation
Urbanization

Research Guides
Urban Planning and Design (Harvard GSD)
Boston History: Resources for studying Boston History, including primary sources, secondary sources, maps (Lesley)
Boston Online: History
American cities, past and present
Boston: People, Place, and Planning: a history of Boston’s urban development

Encyclopedia of the city, ed. by Roger W. Caves. London ; NY: Routledge, 2005, 564 p.
Loeb Design | HT108.5 .E63 2005
Kennedy Sch of Gov | Ref | HT108.5 .E63 2005
Widener | WID-LC | HT108.5 .E63 2005

Encyclopedia of American urban history, ed. by David Goldfield. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2007. 2 v.
Lamont | REFERENCE | HT123 .E49 2007
Widener | WID-LC | HT123 .E49 2007

Historic cities of the Americas: an illustrated encyclopedia, by David F. Marley. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2005. 2 v.
Widener | WID-LC | HT121 .M37 2005

Encyclopedia of urban America: the cities and suburbs, ed. by Neil Larry Shumsky. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1998. 2 v.
Loeb Design | HT123 .E5 1998
Kennedy Sch of Gov | Ref | HT123 .E5 1998
Widener | WID-LC | HT123 .E5 1998

Encyclopedia of urban planning, ed. by Arnold Whittick. Huntington, NY: R. E. Krieger Pub. Co., 1980, 1974, 1218 p.

Encyclopedia of urban studies, ed. by Ray Hutchison. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, 2010. 2 v.
Loeb Design | HT108.5 .E634 2010
Law School | HT108.5 .E634 2010

Particular Cities

Boston: a chronological & documentary history, 1602-1970, by George J. Lankevich. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana Publications, 1974, 152 p.
Widener | US 13173.81

Boston A to Z, by Thomas H. O'Connor. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2000, 370 p.
Harvard University Archives | HU 137.6858.44
Lamont | F73.36 .O37 2000
Widener | WID-LC | F73.36 .O37 2000

The encyclopedia of New England: the culture and history of an American region, ed. by Burt Feintuch and David H. Watters. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2005, 1564 p.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | F4 .E53 2005
Lamont | REFERENCE | F4 .E53 2005
Map Coll (Pusey) | REF MAP-LC | F4 .E53 2005 f
Widener | WID-LC | F4 .E53 2005

Chicago neighborhoods and suburbs: a historical guide, by Ann Durkin Keating. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2008, 329 p.
Loeb Design | F548.18 .K43 2008
Widener | Harvard Depository | F548.18 .K43 2008

The encyclopedia of Chicago, ed. by James R. Grossman, Ann Durkin Keating, Janice L. Reiff. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2004, 1117 p.
Loeb Design | F548.3 .E53 2004
Widener | WID-LC | F548.3 .E53 2004

The encyclopedia of Cleveland history, by David D. Van Tassel. 2nd ed. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1996, 1165 p.
Widener | WID-LC | F499.C657 E53 1996

Los Angeles A to Z: an encyclopedia of the city and county, by Leonard Pitt and Dale Pitt. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1997, 603 p.
Loeb Design | F869.L84 P58 1997
Widener | WID-LC | F869.L84 .P58 1997

The encyclopedia of New York City, ed. by Kenneth T. Jackson. 2nd ed. New Haven: Yale University Press ; NY: New-York Historical Society, 2010, 1561 p.
Widener | RR 3642.15

Encyclopedia of San Francisco (San Francisco Museum & Historical Society)

Virtual Museum of the City of San Francisco

The language of cities; a glossary of terms, by Charles Abrams.. NY: Viking Press, 1971, 365 p.
Loeb Design | NAC 190 Ab83
Widener | Soc 576.171

The urban politics dictionary, by John W. Smith, John S. Klemanski. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1990, 613 p.
Widener | WID-LC | JS48 .S65 1990

New York Real Estate Brochure Collection: "A searchable database of thousands of advertising brochures, floor plans, price lists,and more from residential and commercial real estate development in New York City and vicinities from the 1920s to the 1970s".

Explore Chicago Collections - a digital collection of materials related to Chicago

Cities and Towns (Library of Congress) offers 3155 maps, plans, panoramic views, etc. of cities worldwide