Clothing, Textiles

  • Clothing trade
  • Color in the textile industries
  • Costume
  • Cotton
  • Cotton growing
  • Cotton manufacture
  • Cotton textile industry
  • Dyes and dyeing
  • Embroidery
  • Indian textile fabrics
  • Linen
  • Linen industry
  • Men’s clothing -- Periodicals
  • Men’s furnishing goods -- Periodicals
  • Rayon industry and trade
  • Synthetic fibers industry
  • Textile design
  • Textile fabrics
  • Textile factories
  • Textile fibers
  • Textile industry
  • Textile machinery industry
  • Textile printing
  • Textile workers
  • Weavers
  • Weaving
  • Women textile workers
  • Woolen and worsted manufacture
  • Woolen goods industry

 

Fashion and costume in American popular culture : a reference guide, by Valerie Burnham Oliver. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996, 279 p.
HOLLIS record

Costume/clothing/fashion, information access : sources and techniques / by Valerie Burnham Oliver.  Costume Society of America, Region I, 1993, 101 p.
HOLLIS record

Costume : a general bibliography, by Pegaret Anthony and Janet Arnold for the Victoria and Albert Museum and the Costume Society.  London : Costume Society, 1974, 42 p.
HOLLIS record

Bibliography of costume, a dictionary catalog of about eight thousand books and periodicals, by Hilaire and Meyer Hiler, ed. by Helen Grant Cushing and Adah V. Morris. New York, The H.W.Wilson Company, 1939, 911 p.
HOLLIS record

Costume index; a subject index to plates and to illustrated text, edited by Isabel Monro and Dorothy E. Cook. New York, H.W. Wilson Co., 1937. x, 338 p.
HOLLIS record

Costume index Supplement ; a subject index to plates and to illustrated text, ed. by Isabel Stevenson Monro and Kate M. Monro. New York : H.W. Wilson, 1957, 210 p.
HOLLIS record

Brooklyn Public Library. A reading and reference list on costume. Brooklyn, N. Y., Brooklyn Public Library, 1909. 64 p.
Google Books Version
HOLLIS record

 

Berg Fashion Library includes the Encyclopedia of  World Dress and Fashion.

Berg Fashion Library is a digital library on world dress and fashion.  Offers full text of periodicals and other resources. Includes the Encyclopedia of  World Dress and Fashion.

Vogue Archive

 

Digital Collections of Extant Costumes

Digital Collections – Fashion & Textile Museums

Costume Institute Collections
Texts and images from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Costume & Textile Collections Online

Sewing Machines, Historical Trade Literature

Texas Fashion Collection