Images, Photographs
Williams, J. M. 1986. A Guide to Iron and Steel Pictures in the Hagley Museum and Library. Wilmington, DE: Hagley Museum and Library, 76 pp.
ARTstor is a database of digital images serving art history and the humanities.
Culture.fr is a vast collection of online images and text. Scroll down for topics list.
Corsair Images from Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts (Pierpont Morgan Library)
Medieval Art Museum Collections Online is a portal to dozens of online medieval and Gothic art collections
Philadelphia Museum of Art: European Art 11001500 See also Arms & Armor.
Hill Museum & Manuscript Library offers keyword searches of large collection of images from medieval manuscripts and of art objects.
Cleveland Museum of Art - Explore the Medieval Art collections.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) contains digital images and detailed descriptions for over 115,000 works of art from major museums in the United States and Canada. Includes Decorative Arts and Utilitarian Objects, Textiles, Costume and Jewelry.
Metropolitan Museum of Art (NY) (Note Advanced Search)
Bibliographies
Hecht, H. 1993. Pre-cinema History: An Encyclopedia and Annotated Bibliography of the Moving Image before 1896. London: Bowker Saur, in association with the British Film Institute, 476 pp.
Johnson, W. S. 1990. Nineteenth-century Photography: An Annotated Bibliography 1839-1879. London: Mansell, 980 pp.
Roosens, L. & L. Salu. 1989, 1994. History of Photography: A Bibliography of Books. 2 v. London: Mansell.
--Includes books by or about photographers born before 1914 (v. 1); photographers born 1915-36 (v. 2), and books on the history of photography.
Reference
The keepers of light: a history & working guide to early photographic processes, by William Crawford. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Morgan & Morgan, 1979, 318 p.
HOLLIS Record