History of Public Health at Harvard

The following list is meant to connect the Center for the History of Medicine’s public health collections with specific disciplines related to the work of the university. Unless otherwise stated, all collections below are unprocessed and available in print, only. To arrange for access, submit a request to the reference team at the Center for the History of Medicine. Please contact the Harvard Chan School Archivist with questions relating to accessing these resources.

• Biostatistics
• Dental Public Health
• Disasters
• ​Environmental Health
• Epidemiology
• Global Health and Population
• Health Communication and Literacy 
• Health Policy and Management
• Immunology and Infectious Diseases
• Maternal and Child Health
• Mental Health
• Molecular Metabolism
• Nuclear Disarmament 
• Nutrition
• Population Studies
• Reproductive Health
• Social and Behavioral Sciences
• Tropical Medicine
• Vaccination (Historical)

This list was last edited on February 7, 2022

Departmental of Biostatistics

• Administrative Records, 1981-2009 (inclusive)
• Committee Records, 1996-2009 (inclusive)
• Course Records, 1998-2009 (inclusive)
• Departmental Meetings Records, 1999-2003 (inclusive)
• Executive Correspondence, 1923-1943
• Faculty Search and Appointment Records, 1996-2009 (inclusive)
• Gift and donation records, 1977-1999 (inclusive)
• Records, 1981-2009 (inclusive), 1999-2003 (bulk), Collection is processed; finding aid is available
• Sponsored project administration records, 1978-2001 (inclusive)

Faculty Collections

• Nan M. Laird papers 1980-2015 (bulk)
• Stephen W. Lagakos papers, 1979-2010 (inclusive), 1995-2009 (bulk),  
• Mosteller, Frederick (1916- 2006); Papers, 1980-1984  (MC 553) 4 cubic feet.
• Ware, James, papers, 1992-2016 (bulk) 2 c.f. and 47.73 GB. 
• Wilson, Edwin Bidwell (1879-1964); Papers, 1923-1943 (H MS c364) 4 cubic feet. Processed
• Marvin Zelen Papers, 1949-2010 (inclusive)

Other Related Collections

• Jonathan Harr papers, 1982-1995 (inclusive)

Manuscript Collections

• Dunning, James Morse (1904-1991); Papers, 1923-1983 (MC 232) 16 cubic feet
• Lee, Sidney S. (1921-); Papers, 1960s-1990; MC 463, 12 cubic feet

Manuscript Collections

• Cohen, Raquel E., 1922-; papers, 1945-2018 (inclusive) 1945-1979 (bulk); H MS c545, 0.01 c.f. and 1 archived website, processed
• Kamath, Elinor, 1915-1992; papers, 1838-1987 (inclusive), 1956-1984 (bulk); H MS c306, 6.6 c.f. processed

• Leaning, Jennifer (1945- ) papers, 1946-2019 (inclusive); H MS c618, 83.34 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Other Related Collections

• Jonathan Harr papers, 1982-1995 (inclusive)

Department of Environmental Health

• Audio visual materials,1960-1998 (inclusive)
• Course records, 1961-1977 (inclusive)
• Executive administrative files, 1939-2016 (inclusive)
• Faculty personnel records, 1970-2010 (inclusive)
• Faculty interests and plans records, 2023 [archived website; cataloging in process]
• Photographs, 1910-1990 (inclusive)
• Program establishment, management, and review records, 1970-2020 (inclusive) 
• Publications, 1921-1984 (inclusive)
• Sponsored project administration records, 1974-1996 (inclusive)
• Special event records, 1973-1981 (inclusive)
• Subject resource files, 1980-2000 (inclusive)
• University publications, 2021 (inclusive) [archived website]

Faculty Collections

• Benford, Robert J. (born 1905); Papers, 1935-1960 (bulk)  Processed
• Brain, Joseph D.,, papers, 1907-2020 (inclusive)
• Burgess, William A. (1924- ) papers, 1960-2010
• Christiani, David C.; papers, 1994-2004 (inclusive)
• Drinker, Cecil Kent (1887-1956); Papers, 1898-1958 Processed.
• Drinker, Cecil Kent (1887-1956); Correspondence and collected correspondence, 1913-1948, 1959 Processed
• Dockery, Douglas W.; papers, 1978-2013 
• Ferris, Benjamin Greeley, Jr. (1896–1919); Papers, 1933-1989
• First, Melvin W.; papers, 1932-2010 (bulk)
• Godleski, John J,; papers, 1970-1999 (bulk)
• Herrick, Robert Foster; papers, 1932-2010 (bulk)
• Little, John Bertram (1929-); papers, 1855-2015 (inclusive), 1960s-2000 (bulk)
• Mead, Jere (1920-2009); papers, 1945-2009 (inclusive)
• Moeller, D. W. (Dade W.); papers, 1966-1976 (inclusive)
• Rudnick, Stephen; teaching records, 2001-2012 
• Shattuck, George Cheever (1879-1972); Papers, 1919-1960 (inclusive) Processed
• Silverman, Leslie (1914–1966); Papers, 1940-1966 
• Smith, Thomas J. (Thomas Jay), 1940-; papers, 1972-2017 (inclusive)
• Spengler, John D.; papers, 1970-2002 (inclusive)
• Whittenberger, James Laverre (1914-2007); Papers, 1933-1963  Partially processed.​

Other Related Collections

• Porter, William Townsend, 1862-1949. Papers, 1851-1955
• Joyce E. Monac photographs of the Department of Environmental Health, circa 1975
• Jonathan Harr papers, 1982-1995 (inclusive) 

Department of Epidemiology

• Special event records, 1930-2013 (inclusive).
• Faculty interests and plans records, 2006-2021 (inclusive)
• Course records, 2014-2023 (inclusive) [archived website] 

Department of Preventative Medicine (historic)

• Executive correspondence, 1950-1970 (inclusive).
• Sanitary Surveys, 1920-1948 (inclusive)

Faculty Collections

• Aycock, W. Lloyd. (1889-1951); Papers, 1919-1951 (inclusive) Processed
• Cohn, Edwin J. (Edwin Joseph) (1892-1953); Papers of Edwin Joseph Cohn, 1927-1963 (inclusive) Processed
• Langmuir, Alexander D. (1910-); Papers, 1953-1972 (inclusive), 1965-1970 (bulk) Processed
• Leaf, Alexander (1920-); Papers, 1962-2003 (inclusive), 1983-1999 (bulk) Processed
• Li, Frederick P. papers, 1961-2016 (inclusive); H MS c616, 1.74 c.f., Processed
• Rutstein, David D. (1909-1986); Papers, 1936-1986, 1938-1967 (bulk) Processed
• Seage, George R., III; papers, 1980-2020 (inclusive) unprocessed
• Simmons, James Stevens (1890–1954); Personal and Professional Records, 1942-1949 

Department of Global Health and Population

• Course records, 1986-2017 (inclusive)
• Faculty interests and plans records, 1961-2009 (inclusive)

Department of Population and International Health (historic)

• Data for Decision Making Project publications, 1992-1997
• Working papers series, 1991-1995.

Faculty Collections

• Berman, Peter A.; papers, 1973-2012 (inclusive) (H MS c568), 19 c.f.
• Bossert, Thomas J.; papers, 1973-2019 (inclusive) (H MS c623)  73 c.f. + 80.3 GB
• Cash, Richard; papers, 1963-2009 (inclusive) (H MS c507), 10 c.f. 
• Marks, Stephen P. papers, 1973-2021 (inclusive) (H MS c627) 21 c.f
• Wikler, Daniel; papers, 1974-2009 (inclusive) (H MS c506), 10 c.f. 

Harvard Center for Population and Development Studies

• University publications, 2009 (inclusive)
• Flyers, 2016 (Collection available at the Harvard University Archives, Cambridge, MA)
• Records, 1984-1987 (Collection available at the Harvard University Archives, Cambridge, MA)

India Research Center 

• University publications, 2021 (inclusive) (archived website)

International Health Systems Program

• Department of Global Health and Population course records, 1986-2017 (inclusive)

Program on International Health and Human Rights

• Academic journal publication records, 1991-2005 (inclusive).
• External program relations records, 1995-2005 (inclusive).
• Publications, 1997-2006 (inclusive).

Takemi Program in International Health

• Executive administrative files, 1970-2013 (inclusive)
• Fellowship records, 1984-2017 (inclusive)
• Research papers, 1985-1996 (inclusive)
• Special event records, 1984-2013 (inclusive)
• Sponsored project administration records, 1988-2006 (inclusive)
• Visiting scholar records, 1983-2005 (inclusive)

Center for Health Communication

• Executive administrative files, 1980-2020 (inclusive). 
• External program relations records, 1986-2010 (inclusive). 
• Subject resource files, 1977-1999 (inclusive). 
• Center for Health Communication [archived website], 2022 (inclusive). 

SEE ALSO: History of the Center for Health Communication at Harvard Chan

Division of Policy Translation and Leadership Development

• University publications, 2021 (inclusive)

Faculty Collections

• Rima E. Rudd papers, 1974-2008 (inclusive)

Office of Communications

• Public relations records, 2020-2022 (inclusive)

Department of Health Policy and Management

• Faculty personnel records, 2003-2011 (inclusive)

Faculty Collections

• Hiatt, Howard H. (1925-) papers, 1940-2014 (inclusive), 1975-2001 (bulk); H MS c314, 18 c.f. processed, 12 c.f. unprocessed accruals 
• Kane; Nancy M.; papers, 1970-2018 (inclusive) (H MS c576) 21 c.f.
• Leape; Lucian L.; papers, 1988-2016 (inclusive) (H MS c529) 7 c.f.
• Mosteller, Frederick (1916- 2006) papers, 1980-1984 (MC 553) 4 cubic feet
  • Papers of Frederick Mosteller [accessions], 1975-2003 *located at Harvard University Archives, Cambridge, MA
  • Papers of Frederick Mosteller, 1946-1988 (inclusive) *located at Harvard University Archives, Cambridge, MA
• Prothrow-Stith, Deborah, 1954-; papers, 1983-2009 (inclusive), H MS c595, 39 c.f.
• Swartz, Katherine; collection on universal health care, 1967-2012 (H MS c469) 3.6 c.f.

• Weinstein, Milton C. (1949- ); papers, 1970-2019 (inclusive), H MSc 653, 16.5 c.f. and 3.84 GB

Manuscript Collections

• Fein, Rashi; papers, 1944-2012 (inclusive), 1953-2000 (bulk), (H MS c327), 12.26 c.f., Processed
• Wilinsky; Charles; papers, 1928-1960 (MC 842), 11 c.f. 
• Walcott, Henry Pickering (1838-1932); papers, 1861-1927 (inclusive) (B MS c59) .20 cubic feet, Processed 

Department of Immunology and Infectious Diseases

• Course records, 1986-1997

Faculty Collections

• Essex, Myron (1939- ); 1949-2021 (inclusive) 1965-1996 (bulk), 16.67 c.f. (processed) + 117 c.f (unprocessed) Partially processed. 
• Marlink, Richard G.; papers, 1984-1996 (bulk) (H MS c449), 10.4 c.f. 
• Vinson, John W.,  papers, 1924-1979 (inclusive), H MS c479, 2.4 c.f.

Related Collections 

• Davis, Bernard D.; papers, 1909-1995 (inclusive), 1939-1994 (bulk), H MS c190, 31.2 c.f., Processed
• Watson, Ronald Ross, (1942-), correspondence, 1971-1972 (H MS c276), 15 cubic feet

Manuscript Collections

• Lindemann, Erich papers, 1885-1991 (inclusive), 1950-1974 (bulk); H MS c219, 87.52 c.f., processed.
• Briggs, L. Vernon (Lloyd Vernon), 1863-1941, papers, undated, 1774-1940 (inclusive), 1911-1938 (bulk). H MS c162, processed. 
• Cohen, Raquel E., 1922-. Papers, 1945-2018 (inclusive), 1945-1979 (bulk), H MS c545, 0.01 cubic feet in 1 flat file folder. 1 archived website, processed

Department of Molecular Metabolism 

• Faculty interests and plans records, 2006-2021 (inclusive) 

Faculty Collections

• Wessling-Resnick, Marianne (1958-2019) papers, 1949-2018 (inclusive); H MS c617, 42 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Faculty Collections

• Forrow, Lachlan; papers, 1945-1998 (inclusive), H MS c629, 3 c.f., unprocessed
• Hiatt, Howard H. (1925-) papers, 1940-2014 (inclusive), 1975-2001 (bulk); H MS c314, 18 c.f. processed, 12 c.f. unprocessed accruals 
• Leaning, Jennifer (1945- ) papers, 1946-2019 (inclusive); H MS c618, 83.34 c.f., unprocessed 
• Lown, B. (Bernard); papers, 1921-2021 (H MS c300), 63.3 c.f. processed; 119.56 c.f. accruals, partially processed
• Lown, Bernard; collection of posters related to the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, 1980-1989 (inclusive), unprocessed
• Lown, Bernard; oral histories, 2013-2014 (inclusive), unprocessed

Related Collections

• Butler, Allan Macy (1894-1986); Papers, 1916-1986 (inclusive), 1930-1969 (bulk) (H MS c313) 7.5 cubic feet, Processed
• Chivian, Eric; papers, 1978-1985 (inclusive), (H MS c511), 0.4 c.f. and 0.0185 GB, unprocessed
• Gifford, Sanford; papers, 1895-2013 (inclusive), 1950-2000 (bulk), (H MS c328), 57.66 c.f., unprocessed
• International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War; records, 1957-1989 (inclusive), 1980-1987 (bulk). Processed
• Leaf, Alexander, 1920-2012;  papers, 1962-2003 (inclusive), 1983-1999 (bulk), 6.25 c.f., unprocessed
• Lisco, Hermann; papers, 1899-2000 (inclusive), 1940-1974 (bulk) (H MS c536), 3.35 c.f., unprocessed
• Muller, James E. (1943-).; papers, 1954-2015 (inclusive), H MS c565, 13.55 c.f. and 32.44 GB. unprocessed. 

Department of Nutrition

• Program establishment, management, and review records, 1984-1998 (inclusive)

Faculty Collections

• Geyer, Robert P.; papers, 1940-1990 (bulk); (H MS c558) 49 c.f.
• Hegsted, D. Mark (David Mark), 1914-2009; papers, 1952-1999 (inclusive), 1960-1978 (bulk); (H MS c54) 28 c.f. Processed
• Mayer, Jean (1920-); papers, 1953-1974 (H MS c354, 15 cubic feet, Processed
• Stare, Fredrick, papers, 1940-2000 (H MS c499) 44 c.f. Processed; digitized and available online
• Stuart, Harold C. (Harold Coe) (1891-1976); writings and teaching notes, 1931-1961; papers (GA 83.10/MC 741) 4.33 cubic feet, Processed
• Willett, Walter; papers, 1968-2009 (inclusive) (H MS c519) 37 c.f. 

Nurses Health Study

• Sponsored project administration records, 1993-2008 (inclusive)

Faculty Collections

• Frisch, Rose E. (1918-2015); papers, 1937-2014 (H MS c455) 2.4 c.f.
• Pierce, Chester M., papers, 1950-2015 (inclusive); H MS c523, 14 c.f., processed.

Manuscript Collections

• Baumgartner, Leona (1902-1991); Papers, 1830-1979 (inclusive) 1930-1970 (bulk) H MS c305, 89 cubic feet, Processed

Manuscript Collections

• Connell, Elizabeth B.; Papers, 1960-2010 (inclusive), 1970-1990 (bulk), H MS c437, 7.5 c.f., processed
• Dickinson, Robert Latou; papers, 1881-1972 (inclusive), 1926-1951 (bulk), H MS c591,  22.35 c.f., processed
• Lader, Lawrence; , papers, 1948-1996 (inclusive), 1969-1991 (bulk). H MS c304, 18 c.f., processed
• Menkin, Miriam F.; papers, 1919-2003 (inclusive). H MS c452. 11.25 c.f., processed
• Rice-Wray, Edris. Papers, 1937-1983 (inclusive), 1960-1970 (bulk), H MS c537, 1 c.f., processed
• Rock, John C. ; personal and professional papers, 1921-1985. H MS c161, 43.2 c.f., processed
• Shepard, Bonnie; papers, 1981-2022 (inclusive); H MS c622, 7.5 c.f. + 1 archived website, unprocessed 
• *Shepard, Bonnie; papers, 1995-2004--available at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University

Department of Child Hygiene (historic)

• Collected papers, 1922-1953, one volume, 1.Mhl.1922.3

Department of Maternal and Child Health (historic)

• Executive administrative files, 1987-1998 (inclusive)
• Longitudinal Studies of Child Health and Development. 
  • Conference and Meeting Records, 1954-1966, undated (inclusive) Collection is processed; finding aid is available
  • Data and Administrative Records, 1923-1989, undated (inclusive) Collection is processed; finding aid is available
  • Data Use Policy Records and Correspondence, 1963-1989 (inclusive) Collection is processed; finding aid is available
  • Manuscript Drafts and Publications, 1918-2000, undated (inclusive) Collection is processed; finding aid is available
  • Records, 1918-2015 (inclusive), 1930-1989 (bulk) Collection is processed; finding aid is available
  • Research and Resource Files, 1931-1986, undated (inclusive) Collection is processed; finding aid is available

See also: Records of the Harvard School of Public Health Longitudinal Studies of Child Health and Development Now Open to Research (archived blog post); Staff Finds: Teaching Charts from the HSPH Growth Study (archived blog post); Staff Finds: Growth and Development Charts (archived blog post); Staff Finds: Family Physical Characteristics Trees (archived blog post); Staff Finds: Child Nutrition Brochures and Pamphlets (archived blog post); Processing of the Harvard School of Public Health Longitudinal Studies of Child Health and Development Records (archived blog post)

Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

• Conference, workshop, and seminar sponsor records, 2015-2022 (inclusive) [archived websites] - cataloging in progress
• Executive administrative files, 1990-2016 (inclusive)
• Graduate student records, 1985-2006 (inclusive)
• Memorabilia 1950-1977 (inclusive)
• Procedure records, 2000 (inclusive)
• Sponsored project administration records, 1932-2000 (inclusive)
• Subject resource files, 1950-1970 (inclusive)
• University publications, 1989-2010 (inclusive)

Department of Society, Human Development, and Health

• College Alcohol Study Program Records, 1993-1995

Faculty Collections

• Gamble, Clarence James (1894-); Papers, 1920-1966 (H MS c23) 90 cubic feet, Processed
• Gortmaker, Steven Lawrence (1949- ); papers, 1959-1997 (H MS c504) 7 c.f. Processed. 
• Levine, Sol (1922-1996); Papers, 1972-1996 (H MS c217) 
• McCormick, Marie C. (1946- ); papers, 1970-2000 (inclusive) (H MS c477) 41 c.f. and .67 GB. 
• Pierce, Chester M., papers, 1950-2015 (inclusive); H MS c523, 14 c.f., processed.
• Schmidt, William Morris (1907-); Papers, 1963-1980s; Office files, 1948-1976 (MC 684) 19.5 cubic feet. Partially processed
• Smith, Richard M. (Richard Mason) (1881[?]-1981); Papers, 1911-1942 (inclusive) (GA 80.35.2) 20 cubic feet, Processed 

• Sorensen, Glorian papers, 1986-2021 (inclusive); H MS c608, 28.5 c.f., unprocessed  (contact Public Services)

Harvard Prevention Research Center

• Planet Health Records, 1992-1997 (inclusive) Collection is processed; finding aid available

• Play Across Boston Records, 2000-2003 (inclusive) Collection is processed; finding aid available

India Research Center

• University publications, 2021 (inclusive) 

Related Collections

• Putnam, Marian C. (Marian Cabot), 1893-1971; papers, 1877-1978 (inclusive), 1940-1977 (bulk)

Department of Tropical Public Health

• Executive administrative records, 1945-1981 (inclusive).
• Films, 1940-1970 (inclusive).
• Photographs, 1966 (bulk).
• Subject resource files, 1926-1986 (inclusive)

Faculty Collections

• Berggren, Gretchen Glode and Warren L. papers, 1967-2010.
• Collection of volumes from the Projet Integre de Sante et de Population, 1978-1982.
• Chernin, Eli (1924-1990); Papers, 1950s-1990s 
• Pan, Steve C. (1922-); Papers, 1950s-1990s 
• Strong, Richard P. (Richard Pearson) (1872-1949); Papers, 1911-2004 (inclusive), 1911-1945 (bulk)
• Spielman, A. (Andrew) (1930–2006); Papers, 1960s-1990s
• Vinson, John W. papers, 1924-1979 (inclusive)
• Weller, Thomas Huckle (1915-2008); Papers, 1960s-1970s Processed

Related Collections:

• American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene records, 1908-2013 (inclusive), 1930s-1980s (bulk)
• von Lichtenberg, Franz; papers, 1943-2009 (inclusive), 1955-1993 (bulk) Processed

Manuscript Collections

• Tufts, Cotton; papers, 1751-1801 (inclusive) , B MS c70, 0.18 c.f., Processed
• Waterhouse, Benjamin; papers, 1738-1955 (inclusive), 1778-1837 (bulk), H MS c16, 2.25 c.f., Processed, available online
• Waterhouse, Benjamin; papers, 1797-1829 (inclusive), B MS c10, 0.13 c.f., Processed

SEE ALSO: Vaccines: An Evolving History (guide to historical collections at the Center for the History of Medicine)