Skip to main content

History of Public Health at Harvard

Manuscripts and archival collections for researching the history of public health, including resources related to the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

Manuscript Collections

The following alphabetical list represents contributions of records from public health faculty and practitioners to the Center for the History of Medicine. Additional historic records may be discoverable through departmental collectionsUnless otherwise stated, all collections below are unprocessed and available in print, only. To arrange for access, submit a request to the reference team at the Center for the History of Medicine. Please contact the Harvard Chan School Archivist with questions relating to accessing these resources.

A G M S
B H N T
C I O U
D J P V
E K Q W
F L R XYZ

A

Aycock, W. Lloyd. (1889-1951) papers, 1919-1951 H MS c203, 2.1 cubic feet, processed

Contains correspondence with research institutes, laboratories, hospitals, colleagues, public health departments, US governmental agencies, publishers, and granting foundations; teaching records and class lectures; and unpublished writings, notes, drafts, and speeches from his research and professional activities. Topics include: host factors and comparative analysis of polio, leprosy, measles, mumps, rheumatic fever, scarlet fever, yellow fever, and the body’s natural resistance to disease.

 

Avery, Mary Ellen (1927-2011) papers 1929-2002 (inclusive). H MS c201, 44.5 cubic feet, processed. 

Collection contains personal and professional correspondence, teaching materials, professional activities records, grant records, articles and drafts, lectures and speeches, diaries, photographs, and other records from Avery's life and career as a pediatrician in: Boston, Massachusetts; Montreal, Quebec; and Baltimore, Maryland and as a professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. Correspondence includes letters of recommendation, reports from meetings, and committee and travel correspondence. Professional records consist of correspondence, reports, patient records, notes, newspaper clippings, committee materials, and other records chronicling Avery’s involvement and interactions with professional organizations, committees, publications, and institutions, including the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Joint Program in Neonatology, the American Pediatric Society, and Physicians for Social Responsibility. Professional records also contain correspondence and reports from the Joint Program in Neonatology, Children’s Hospital, Boston, Montreal Children’s Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore. Grants records consist of applications, renewal forms, correspondence, budgets, reports, and other materials related to grants from the National Institutes of Health and Specialized Centers of Research that Avery was involved with, as well as correspondence with the National Tuberculosis Association. Lectures and teaching records contain speech drafts, correspondence, syllabi, and notes from Avery’s travels around the world as a guest lecturer and as a professor at Harvard Medical School. Writings and subject files consist of drafts and reprints of writings by Avery on such topics as respiratory distress syndrome, hyaline membrane disease, bronchopulmonary dysplasia, and oral rehydration. Personal records include diaries, calendars, photographs, and certificates and awards.

B

Baumgartner, Leona (1902-1991); Papers, 1830-1979 (inclusive) 1930-1970 (bulk); H MS c305, 89 cubic feet, Processed

Papers chronicle the course of her career as a state public health administrator and consultant, physician, lecturer, professor, and contributing member of professional health care boards and foundations from 1930 to 1970. The collection consists of research materials, notes, lecture and speech drafts, correspondence, research data, reports, journals, news articles and clippings, conference materials, administrative records, minutes, appointment books, laboratory notes, photographs, and scrapbooks. The collection also contains records generated from Baumgartner’s personal activities, including her travel diaries, letters and notebooks, personal photographs, awards, medals, plaques, diplomas, and other memorabilia.

 

Benford, Robert J. (born 1905) papers, 1935-1960 (bulk); H MS c346, 3.65 cubic feet, Processed

Papers are the product of Robert J. Benford’s professional and research activities in the field of aviation medicine, including: correspondence and memoranda pertaining to his military duties, his involvement on the Interim Board of Aviation Medicine and the Aero-Medical Association; research files on aerospace medicine; and correspondence generated as part of his editorial positions. Papers also include: photographs; printed matter and publications; reports on aeronautical research; NASA Skylab project plans; and a pre-publication copy of Benford’s monograph detailing the work of the United States Army Air Force’s Aero Medical Center in Heidelberg, Germany.

 

Berggren, Gretchen Glode and Warren L.; papers, 1967-2010.; H MS c532, .4 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Dr. Gretchen Glode Berggren, M.D., 1958, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE; M.Sc.Hyg., 1966, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA, began her professional career in Belgian Congo where she served for five years along with her husband, Dr. Warren Berggren, after certification in tropical medicine at the Institute of Tropical Medicine in Belgium in 1959. In Congo's post-independence years she co-founded the Congo Protestant Relief Agency that supported medical personnel for the Congo. At IME Kimpese, she helped design and implement curriculum to train physician-extenders (Congolese nurses and medical assistants) for that country that had no doctors of its own. After a partial residency in obstetrics at Beth Israel Hospital in Boston, she received a Master's Degree at the Harvard School of Public Health, where she taught from 1967-93 in International Health, and initiated the "Home and Village Prepared Weaning Food Program" at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology under Dr. Nevin Scrimshaw. She and her family lived and worked in Haiti at the Albert Schweitzer Hospital or with Haiti's "Bureau d'Hygiene Familiale" or others for over 20 years. Employed by Save the Children (SC) for more than ten years as maternal and child health expert advisor, she worked in field programs in 26 countries with emphasis on population based community health programs, and planned and edited their "Mothers, Too" newsletter. Dr. Berggren’s more recent field experience is in post-earthquake Haiti where she serves on the Board of several organizations. Under the tutelage of the Berggren's, more than 250 students from Harvard and from Haiti accomplished field services research. Berggren's introduced the first polyvalent rural health workers in Haiti, initiating immunization of all women against tetanus, and documenting the near disappearance of tetanus of the newborn in their defined population. Following their time in Haiti, the Berggren's joined Save the Children to develop child survival activities in 26 countries. Most recent activities include teaching self-examination of the breast in Kenya, and the "Positive Deviance/Hearth" method to combat malnutrition in Nicaragua and Haiti. Warren Berggren (1930-2015), M.D., 1955, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE; M.P.H., 1963, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA; D.P.H., 1967, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA, received an MD degree from the University of Nebraska, where he met his wife. The couple married on January 11, 1959 in Belgium then served as medical missionaries in what is now the Democratic Republic of Congo. In 1962, the Berggrens came to the Harvard School of Public Health, now the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, to study disease prevention. After completing their degrees, they moved to rural Haiti in 1967, founding the Community Health Program of Hôpital Albert Schweitzer in partnership with the School. Their program of taking vaccines for neonatal tetanus to local communities led to the virtual elimination of that disease. They also engaged local residents as community health workers to monitor patients with tuberculosis and other conditions. As a member of the Harvard Chan faculty, Berggren served as an associate professor of tropical public health and population sciences from 1972 to 1981. Gretchen was affiliated with the Harvard Center for Population and Development Studies from 1974 to 1989. The couple guided public health students through fieldwork and special projects, and during their time at the Schweitzer Hospital, more than 200 Harvard Chan students served under their tutelage on field projects lasting from several months to several years. Berggren was director of primary health care at Save the Children for 10 years. He also consulted for or worked under the Haitian and Tunisian ministries of health, USAID, UNICEF, World Relief, and the Colorado Haiti Project, on projects affecting 26 countries. 

See also: Collection of volumes from the Projet Integre de Sante et de Population, 1978-1982.

 

Berman, Peter A.; papers, 1973-2012 (inclusive), H MS c568, 19 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Peter A. Berman, M.Sc., Ph.D., 1984, Cornell University, is a health economist with experience in research, policy analysis and development, and training and education in global health. Berman was Professor of the Practice of Global Health Systems and Economics at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health until January 1, 2019 when he became Director, School of Population and Public Health at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, B.C., Canada. Berman leads several projects on developing primary care systems, strengthening service delivery, health system reform, and improving health care financing mechanisms for better outcomes, with a focus, recently, on work in Ethiopia, India, and Malaysia. Recent projects include the Fenot Project in Ethiopia, RTM, and HEPCAPS. Berman is also adjunct professor at the Public Health Foundation of India and has been advisor to the China National Health Development Research Center for health care financing and health accounts. He is the founding Faculty Director of Harvard Chan’s Doctor of Public Health degree (2013-2017). He was previously Director of Education for Global Health and Population in the Department of Global Health and Population. Until 2016 he chaired the Financing Technical Working Group of the Countdown to 2015. With the World Bank from 2004-2011, Prof. Berman spent four years in the Bank’s New Delhi office as Lead Economist for Health, Nutrition, and Population. There he oversaw a portfolio of almost $2 billion in projects and research. In Washington, D.C from 2008, he was Lead Health Economist in the HNP anchor department and Practice Leader for the World Bank’s Health Systems Global Expert Team. He led analytical work on health systems analysis and strategic approaches to improving service delivery.At Harvard Berman was also previously the Professor of Population and International Health Economics and Founding Director of the International Health Systems Program in the Population and International Health Department. He is the author or editor of five books on global health economics and policy, more than 50 academic papers in his field, and numerous other working papers and reports. He has led and/or participated in major field programs in all regions of the developing world.Prof. Berman’s specific areas of work include analysis of health systems performance and the design of reform strategies, assessment of the supply side of health care delivery and the role of private health care provision in health systems, and development of strategies to improve outcomes through public-private sector collaboration. He pioneered the development and use of national health accounts as a policy and planning tool in developing countries. Prof. Berman has worked extensively on health system reform and health care development issues in a number of countries, including Egypt, India, Colombia, Indonesia, and Poland, including extended periods of residency and field work in Indonesia and India. He is co-author of Getting Health Reform Right: A Guide to Improving Performance and Equity (Roberts, et al, Oxford University Press, 2008), co-editor of the Guide to the Production of National Health Accounts (World Bank, World Health Organization, and USAID, 2003), and co-editor of Berman and Khan, Paying for India’s Health Care (Sage, 1993).

 

 

Brain, Joseph D. (Joseph David Brain), papers, 1969-2000 (inclusive), H MS c567, 13 c.f. and .72 GB, unprocessed (contact Public Services)
 

Joseph D. Brain (born 1940), B.A., 1961, Taylor University, Upland, Indiana; S.M., 1962, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts; S.M., 1963, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, Massachusetts; S. D., 1966, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, Massachusetts, is the Cecil K. and Philip Drinker Professor of Environmental Physiology at the T. H. Chan Harvard School of Public Health. He joined the faculty at the Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH) in 1968 and served as chair of HSPH’s Department of Environmental Health from 1990 to 2005. From 1998 to 2008, Brain directed the Harvard NIEHS Center for Environmental Health. Brain specializes in lung biology and respiratory mechanics. Much of his research has focused on lung macrophages, a cell that cleans and regulates the lung, and the deposition, clearance, and toxicity of inhaled gases, particulates, and microbes. Brain pioneered the use of bronchoalveolar lavage (BAL) to study macrophages and has developed several other bioassays. He has extensively analyzed the role of macrophages in the prevention and development of lung disease and respiratory infection. His studies have examined pulmonary exposures to molds, dusts, fumes, nanomaterials, and drug inhalants, as well as opportunistic lung infections in AIDS patients and Pseudomonas aeruginosa, a pathogen related to cystic fibrosis. Brain has also used macrophagic magnetic particles to non-invasively measure cell behavior.Brain has served on editorial boards of the American Journal of Physiology, American Review of Respiratory Disease, Archives of Environmental Health, Environmental Health Perspectives, and the Journal of Applied Physiology. He has published over 200 journal articles and book chapters.

 

Burgess, William A. (1924- ) papers, 1960-2010; H MS c462; 2.4 c.f. and .7 GB, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

William Alfred Burgess (1924- ) was an Associate Professor of Occupational Health Engineering at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Records include Photographs, line art, slides, lectures, industrial hygiene surveys, pamphlets, exhibit draft text, clippings, and reprints relating to William Burgess' career in industrial hygiene during the 1960s-1970s.

 

Butler, Allan Macy (1894-1986) papers, 1916-1986 (inclusive), 1930-1969 (bulk); H MS c313, 7.5 cubic feet, Processed

Includes correspondence, court reports and transcripts, news clippings, administrative records, article drafts, reports, meeting minutes, committee records, conference materials, lectures and speeches, notes, military records, medical notebooks, research data, charts, drawings, and photographs resulting from Butler’s activities as a physician, lecturer, professor, and contributing member of professional organizations in Massachusetts, Michigan, and California. Also contains records generated from Butler’s political activities including involvement in nuclear policy and disarmament movements, health care and medical insurance reform, the Vietnam War, the Subversive Activities Control Act of 1950, nonviolent resistance, abortion, and population control.

C

Cash, Richard A.; papers, 1963-2009 (inclusive); H MS c507, 9 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Richard Alan Cash (born 1941), B.S., 1963, University of Wisconsin, Madison, M.D., 1966, New York University School of Medicine, M.P.H., 1973, Johns Hopkins University, is a senior lecturer in International Health, and director of the Program on Ethical Issues in International Health in the Department of Global Health and Population of the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Dr. Cash and his colleagues conducted the first clinical trials of Oral Rehydration Therapy (ORT) in adult and pediatric cholera patients and patients with other infectious causes of diarrhea at the Cholera Research Laboratory (now the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh). Other in-country studies included the first field trials and community-based trials of ORT and the use of amino acids (glycine) as an additional substrate. He was the Principal Investigator of the Applied Diarrheal Disease Research (ADDR) Project, a program that assisted developing country scientists to hone their research skills by conducting their own research projects. The ADDR provided over 150 grants to developing country scientists and led to over 300 publications in national and international journals. At the Harvard Chan School, Cash has taught a wide variety of courses, including Introduction to International Health, the Social, Political and Economic Dimensions of Epidemiology of Infectious Disease of Importance in Developing Countries, Ethical Issues in International Health Research, and Urban Health Care in Developing Countries. Dr. Cash is the co-author of the WHO Casebook on Ethical Issues in International Health Research and has taught over 50 workshops on research ethics in at least 12 countries. He was a resident Visiting Professor at the Public Health Foundation of India in Delhi and has visiting faculty appointments at a number of international institutions in countries such as Bangladesh, India, and Japan.Records include correspondence, teaching records, reprints, and oral rehydration therapy posters.

 

Chernin, Eli (1924-1990) papers, 1950s-1990s; H MS c175, 8.65 cubic feet, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

The collection describes Chernin's career as a parasitologist at Harvard School of Public Health through correspondence, lecture notes, research data and statistics, reports, photographs, and plaques.

 

Christiani, David C.; papers, 1994-2004 (inclusive); H MS c582, 1 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

David C. Christiani (born 1951), B.S., 1972, Fairfield University, Fairfield, Connecticut; M.D., 1976, Tufts University, Boston Massachusetts; M.P.H., 1980, Harvard School of Public Health; M.S., 1981, Harvard School of Public Health, is Elkan Blout Professor of Environmental Genetics and Director of the Harvard Education and Research Center for Occupational Safety and Health at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Christiani is also Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and a physician in the Pulmonary and Critical Care Division at Massachusetts General Hospital. He specializes in occupational exposures and the molecular epidemiology of pulmonary and esophageal cancers. Records include a sample of questionnaires from the Arsenic and Human Health in Bangladesh and Lung Cancer studies.

 

Cohen, Raquel E., 1922- papers, 1945-2018 (inclusive) 1945-1979 (bulk); H MS c545, 0.01 cubic feet in 1 flat file folder. 1 archived website. Processed. 

Raquel Eidelman Cohen (born 1922), B.S., 1942, San Marcos University, Lima, Peru; M.P.H., 1945, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, Massachusetts; M.D., 1949, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts, is a former Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School (HMS) specializing in child psychiatry and mental health intervention and assistance to survivors of disasters. Cohen taught at HMS from 1960 to 1982. In 1982, she became a Tenured Professor at the University of Miami Medical School. Cohen has authored several instructional texts for psychiatric professionals and disaster responders. Cohen was a member of the first cohort of women admitted to study at HMS. Papers created and collected by Raquel E. Cohen including records related to her acceptance into the first class of women at Harvard Medical School in 1945, news clippings and letters related to Cohen's professional activities, and writings. Also includes an archived copy of the website, "Raquel Cohen, MD, MPH: Mental Health Information in Disasters" (raquelcohendisaster.com) captured in 2018. The website consists of biographical information on Cohen, resources on psychosocial intervention for disaster survivors, and instructional resources for natural disaster responders who lack access to live training. Resources include embedded content such as power point presentations and "documents" (text/html pages) as well as links out to external resources such as streaming videos and books. All website content is provided in English and Spanish.

 

Cohn, Edwin J. (Edwin Joseph) (1892-1953) papers 1927-1955 (inclusive); H MS c375, .5 cubic feet, Processed

Contains correspondence, 1927 to 1955, of Cohn, G. R. Minot and John L. Oncley concerning research on pernicious anemia, blood protein enzymes, and grant and patent applications. Also includes reports, minutes, drafts of Cohn’s writings, and other correspondence pertaining to the University Laboratory of Physical Chemistry and other Harvard committee and departmental matters.

See also: Papers of Edwin J. Cohn, ca. 1928-1961 (inclusive) (available at the Harvard University Archives)

 

Curran, Jean Alonzo (1893-1977) papers, 1860s, 1870-1976, 1995; H MS c164, 19 cubic feet, Processed

Consists of Curran's journals, unpublished autobiography, and personal interviews resulting from his career as a physician, medical educator, consultant, historian, and medical missionary in China. Correspondence with members of the Harvard School of Public Health community, interview tapes and transcripts, budgets, meeting minutes, and research files record Curran's research conducted for the publication of Founders: Harvard School of Public Health. Meeting minutes, annual meeting notes, and reports document his activities with the Bingham Associates Fund. Interviews, meeting notes, reports, and photographs illustrating his involvement in the development of medical education in China, East Pakistan, South Korea, and Iran are also included.

D

Dockery, Douglas W.; papers, 1974-2013 (H MS c500), 15 c.f. , unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Records include sponsored project administration records, such as records and research data related to the following studies: Harvard Six Cities Study, Harvard Five Cities Study, Harvard Twenty-four Cities Study, Ireland Air Pollution Study, National Morbidity, Mortality, and Air Pollution Study, Kuwait Oil Fire Study, Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillators Study, and other lung studies. Records also include committee records, departmental review documentation, search committee documentation, atrial fibulation program project correspondence, and administrative records.

 

Drinker, Cecil Kent (1887-1956) papers, 1898-1958; 3.25 cubic feet, Processed

Contains correspondence, research and test data, site visit memoranda, photographs, committee notes, graphs, and reports resulting fromDrinker’s research and development of high-altitude oxygen masks and goggles during World War II. Also includes Harvard School of Public Health defense contract data, reports, correspondence, lectures, photographs, teaching and administrative records from his activities at the Harvard School of Public Health and Harvard Medical School; and research data, correspondence, and photographs from his efforts to improve working conditions for industrial workers and to educate the public about the dangers of chemicals, asphyxiation, and gas poisoning in the workplace. Also includes several personal records and portrait and candid photographs of Drinker.

See also: Papers of Cecil Kent Drinker, 1920-1949 (inclusive), 1936-1949 (bulk) (available at the Harvard University Archives), Records of Dean Cecil Kent Drinker, 1916-1948 (inclusive)Log of the Ketch Tautog, 1934-1948 (inclusive)

 

Dunning, James Morse (1904-1991) papers, 1923-1983; MC 232, 16 cubic feet, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Papers document Dunning’s activities at the Harvard School of Dental Medicine through oral history interviews, research data and statistics, studies, correspondence, and subject files. Dunning was a founder of Harvard School of Dental Medicine’s dental public health program.

E

Edsall, David Linn (1869-1945) papers, 1881-1964 (inclusive); GA 23, 21 boxes, indexed (contact Public Services)

Contains office files, manuscripts of publications and speeches, biographical notes, reprints, and family papers pertaining to Edsall’s professional and personal life. The office files include materials from Edsall’s early career at the University of Pennsylvania and Washington University, from his teaching at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital, and as dean of Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Public Health. In addition to Edsall’s office files on departments at Harvard Medical School, there is material reflecting his involvement in professional organizations, such as the American Red Cross and the Rockefeller Foundation. Family papers include correspondence, reminiscences, and memorabilia of Edsall and his wife Margaret Tileston Edsall, and their families, and his journal of a trip to China in 1926-1927. Biographical material was collected by Joseph Aub and Ruth Hapgood for their book, Pioneer in Modern Medicine (1970).

 

Edsall, Geoffrey (1908-1980) papers, 1934-1979; MC 246, 51 cubic feet, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Geoffrey Edsall graduated from Harvard Medical School in 1934 and served his house officership at the Massachusetts General Hospital from 1934 to 1936. Research fellowships at Harvard and instructorships in bacteriology and immunology at the Harvard Schools of Medicine and Public Health followed. From 1940 until 1942, he was Assistant Director of the Division of the Biologic Laboratories of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, and was its Director until 1949. For several years, he was Professor and Chairman of the Department of Microbiology at Boston University School of Medicine, which was followed by his appointment as Director of the Division of Immunology at Walter Reed Army Institute of Research in 1951. Geoff served the Armed Forces Epidemiological Board in many ways, particularly as the Director of its Commission on Immunization from 1952 to 1963.

 

*Eliot, Martha M. (Martha May), 1891-1978;  papers 1909-1979; MC 329, .21 linear feet, processed - Available at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University

Pediatrician and expert on children's health (Radcliffe, 1913; Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, 1918), Eliot was a founder of the World Health Organization and UNICEF, and the fourth head of the Children's Bureau. She taught at the Harvard School of Public Health, headed the Massachusetts Committee on Children and Youth, and conducted pioneering research on rickets. Collection contains professional correspondence and other papers, two memorial papers about Eliot, and a diary Eliot kept while travelling abroad, 1909.
 
See also:  Papers of Martha May Eliot, 1898-1975Additional papers of Martha May Eliot, 1870-1978 -- all collections listed here are available at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University; portrait (undated), available online.
 
 

Essex, Myron (1939- ); papers 1949-1996 (inclusive) 1965-1996 (bulk); H MS c466, 16.67 c.f. and .01 gigabytes  Processed.

The Myron Essex papers, 1949-1996 (inclusive), 1965-1996 (bulk), are the product of Essex’s professional, research, teaching, and publishing activities throughout the early years of his career as a researcher in the field of public health and microbiology, and in his roles as the Mary Woodard Lasker Professor of Health Sciences (1989-) and Chair, Harvard AIDS Institute, now the Harvard AIDS Initiative. Essex’s research has focused on the link between retroviruses and immunosuppressive disease in animals and human beings, including HIV-AIDS; he is responsible for the discovery of gp120, the virus surface protein used for blood screening and HIV detection, and the identification of the simian T cell leukemia virus (STLV) and the simian immunodeficiency virus (SIV) in monkeys, and the HIV-2 virus in people in West Africa.

F

Ferris, Benjamin Greeley, Jr. (1896–1919) papers, 1933-1989; GA 26/MC 276, 3 cubic feet indexed (card catalog), 15 cubic feet unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Consists of Ferris’ professional papers pertaining to an epidemiology standardization project he directed, and other studies on environmental health; to his scientific publications; and to the Harvard School of Public Health Educational Policy Committee, which he chaired. Correspondence, memoranda, progress reports, questionnaires, notes, and grant applications exist from an American Thoracic Society project to standardize pulmonary function data in epidemiological studies of chronic respiratory diseases. Other material includes manuscripts of scientific articles and a book; and committee memoranda, correspondence, reports and questionnaires concerning educational policy of the School of Public Health.

 

First, Melvin W.; papers, 1932-2010 (bulk); H MS c373, 37 cubic feet, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Melvin W. First (1914-2011), B.S. Biology and Public Health, 1936, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; S.B. Sanitary Engineering, 1947, and Sc.D. Industrial Hygiene Engineering, 1950, Harvard School of Public Health, was Professor of Environmental Health Engineering in the Department of Environmental Health Sciences at the Harvard University School of Public Health from 1971 to 1984, Associate Professor of Applied Industrial Hygiene at the same institution from 1963 to 1971, and Toxicologist and Industrial Hygiene Engineer with both the Detroit Department of Health and the Michigan Department of Health in Lansing between 1936 and 1941. Collection consists of consulting and teaching files, committee and research records, conference notes, correspondence, pamphlets and unpublished writings.

 

Forbes, William H. (1902-1995) papers, 1941-1978 (inclusive), 1948-1957 (bulk); H MS c323, 1.3 cubic feet, Processed

Consists of correspondence, research records, conference transcripts, committee reports, and reprints and publications resulting from Forbes’ personal and professional activities. Papers include correspondence with family members, correspondence related to Forbes’ involvement with the lumber and logging industry, and correspondence and research records produced by Forbes while at the Harvard School of Public Health. Records from Forbes’ participation in professional organizations, including the Council on Foreign Relations’ Group on Climate and Economic Development in the Tropics , are also contained in the collection. Additionally, the papers include reprints and publications related to Forbes’ research, as well as subject files on forestry compiled by Forbes.

 

Frisch, Rose E. (Rose Epstein) papers, 1921-2014 (inclusive), 1970-2000 (bulk); H MS c455, 2.25 c.f., Processed

Rose (Epstein) Frisch (1918-2015), B.A., 1939, Smith College, Northampton, Massachusetts; M.A., 1940, Columbia University, New York City, New York; Ph.D., 1943, University of Wisconsin at Madison, Wisconsin, was a professor at the Harvard School of Public Health in the Department of Population and Development Studies in Boston, Massachusetts from the early 1970s until 1992. Her work focused on fat content and female fertility as well as fat content and cancer, especially in athletes and those with low body fat. The collection consists of records created and collected by Rose Frisch during her tenure as a professor at the Harvard Center for Population and Development Studies from 1974 through the early 2000s.

G

Gamble, Clarence James (1894-) papers, 1920-1966; H MS c23, 90 cubic feet, Processed

Gamble's papers are a rich source of information about the development and testing of contraceptive methods, changing attitudes of the medical and health professions, legislative reform and education of the public, governmental involvement on local and national levels, and demographic studies in developing countries after the post-World War II population explosion. Correspondence, memoranda, reports, minutes, conference papers, financial data, newsletters, and other material reflect the establishment, direction, and financing of programs by Gamble to advance the cause of population control through organizations such as the National Committee on Maternal Health, American Birth Control League, Birth Control Clinical Research Bureau, Birth Control Federation, Planned Parenthood Federation, and International Planned Parenthood Federation. Significant correspondents are Abraham Stone, Cecil Damon, Mary Calderone, and Christopher Tietze. Also included in the collection are correspondence and related material concerning contraceptive field trials, family planning studies, and other population control programs of various organizations and government agencies.

 

Geyer, Robert P.; papers, 1940-1990 (bulk); (H MS c558) 49 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Robert P. Geyer (1918-1997), B.S., 1941, University of Wisconsin, Madison; M.S., 1943, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Ph.D., 1946, University of Wisconsin, Madison, was Professor Emeritus of Nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health, now the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. He served as chair of the Department of Nutrition from 1977 to 1983. Geyer contributed to the development of intravenous lipid emulsions and developed perfluorochemical artificial blood that could safely replace most of the blood of laboratory animals. Records include research data, including departmental research and lab notebooks, correspondence, reports, meeting and conference notes, departmental administrative records, grant records, photographs, and teaching records.

 

Godleski, John J,; papers, 1970-1999 (bulk); 86.37 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

John J. Godleski, M.D., (1943- ), is a professor in the Department of Environmental Health at the Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health, as well as Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital. Additionally, Godleski is Co-Director of the Harvard-EPA Clean Air Research Center, and heads the Inhaled Particles Research Core in the NIEHS Center at the Harvard Chan School. Godleski was born in Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, graduated from King’s College in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, and received his M.D. from University of Pittsburgh in 1969. He trained in Pathology at Massachusetts General Hospital, and had post-doctoral research training at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health as well as a post-doctoral teaching fellowship at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Department of Pathology. He joined the faculty of the Harvard School of Public Health, now the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, and Harvard Medical School in 1978. Godleski’s research focuses upon the pulmonary and systemic responses to inhaled ambient air particles. His studies use cardiac and pulmonary mechanical measurements as well as cell and molecular biological approaches with inhalation exposure of experimental animal models to concentrated ambient air particles or ambient source particles. Godleski’s laboratory has also done work with analytical electron microscopy to quantify and identify environmental, therapeutic, diagnostic, and personal use product materials in human tissues. Records include research data, sponsored project administration records, correspondence, teaching records, and writings.

 

Gortmaker, Steven Lawrence (1949- ) papers, 1955-1998 (inclusive), 1977-1997 (bulk); H MS c504, 8.53 c.f. and .003 GB, Processed.

The Steven Lawrence Gortmaker papers, 1955-1998 (inclusive), 1977-1997 (bulk), are the product of Gortmaker’s research, teaching, and professional activities throughout the course of his career at the Harvard School of Public Health (later the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health). Research Projects Records (series I) constitutes the bulk of the collection, and consist of: summarized and analyzed obesity research data generated using raw data from cycles II and III of the National Health Examination Survey and cycles I through III of the subsequent National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey; analyzed and coded infant mortality research data and related codebooks, manuscript drafts, and administrative records, generated during the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Rural Infant Care Program; and raw, coded, analyzed, and summarized organ donation research data and related methodologies, manuscript drafts, and administrative records generated through Gortmaker’s work with the Partnership for Organ Donation (POD). Harvard School of Public Health Professional Records (Series II) consist of: teaching records for courses related to HIV, social behavior, and statistics, including lectures, syllabi, class readings, and course evaluations; departmental planning, financial, and other administrative records generated in the Department of Health and Social Behavior (previously the Department of Behavioral Sciences); and occasional school-wide administrative records. Records also include publications related to child, adolescent, and adult obesity, collected by Gortmaker as reference for his research and professional activities (Series III).

H

Haseltine, William A. (1944-) papers, circa 1944-2008 (inclusive), 1962-2008 (bulk); H MS c359, 146.96 cubic feet, Processed

The William A. Haseltine papers, circa 1944-2008 (inclusive), are the product of Haseltine’s activities as a researcher, business executive, educator, lecturer, consultant, and contributing member of national and international organizations. Professional Records (Series I) comprise the bulk of the collection and consist of administrative and research records, meeting minutes, reports, subject files, personnel records, correspondence, presentations, and drafts produced by Haseltine and his colleagues at the various companies and organizations he was employed at or founded, including Human Genome Sciences, Inc., Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and Cambridge BioScience Corporation. Travel records (Series II) contain lecture drafts, meeting programs, and correspondence from Haseltine’s amfAR meetings and conferences on AIDS research. Subject files (Series III) consist of articles, notes, newspaper clippings, and correspondence about Alzheimer’s disease, nanotechnology, stem cells, cancer, HIV, and AIDS. Personal records (Series IV) contain correspondence with friends and family, school notebooks, letters of recommendation, journals, and invitations to social events. The papers also include Haseltine’s manuscript drafts and reprints, collected reprints on HIV and AIDS, and videotapes and audiotapes from Human Genome Sciences and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute meetings (Series V, VI, and VII). 

 

*Hamilton, Alice, 1869-1970; papers, 1909-1987 (inclusive), 1909-1965 (bulk);  A-22, 1.9 linear feet, processed--available at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University

Correspondence, articles, speeches, notes, clippings, and awards document Hamilton's professional life and interests. The largest series contains her medical papers, including articles and notes on chemical compounds, their hazards in the workplace, and industry protest over her findings. Also included are autobiographical and other published articles and speeches, etc. on non-medical subjects: political and social conditions in Germany in the 1920s and 1930s, the Equal rights amendment, conscientious objection, U.S.-Soviet relations, and the trials of Sacco and Vanzetti and Elizabeth Gurley Flynn. Also one videotape entitled "Alice Hamilton: Science, Service, and Compassion" (shelved separately).

See also: Papers of Alice Hamilton, 1942-1968; Alice Hamilton Papers, 1915Papers of the Hamilton family, 1904-1956; Papers of the Hamilton family, 1879-1947Papers of the Hamilton family, 1818-1974Additional papers of the Hamilton family, 1850-1994 -- all collections listed are available at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University

 

*Hardy, Harriet Louise (1906-1993); papers, 1910-1984 (inclusive), 1924-1980 (bulk). MC 387. 5.5 linear feet, processed--available at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University

Physician and specialist in occupational medicine (Wellesley, A.B., 1928; Cornell University Medical School, M.D., 1932), Hardy was college physician and head of the Department of Health Education at Radcliffe (1939-1945). She identified beryllium poisoning, a new disease among workers, and collaborated with Alice Hamilton on revised editions of Industrial Toxicology. Associated with the Massachusetts General Hospital in a number of capacities from 1940 on, she was chief of the Occupational Medical Clinic (1949-1961), and founded and was in charge of the Occupational Medical Service at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) (1950-1971). Hardy taught at the Harvard Medical School, in the Department of Industrial Hygiene at the Harvard School of Public Health, at Tufts and at MIT.

See also: Harriet Louise Hardy papers, 1935-1999 (inclusive)--available at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University

 

Herrick, Robert Foster; papers, 1932-2010 (bulk), H MS c561, 17.4 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Robert F. Herrick (born 1949), B.A., 1970, College of Wooster, Wooster, Ohio; M.S., 1972, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; D.S., 1987, Harvard School of Public Health, lectured on Industrial Hygiene at the Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health from 1990 to 2018. He served as Director of the Occupational (Industrial) Hygiene Training Program. Herrick’s research focuses on worker exposures to harmful substances. Records include research, grant records, teaching records, photographs, correspondence, and manuscripts.

 

Hegsted, D. Mark (David Mark) (1914-2009); papers, 1952-1978; H MS c54, 28 c.f., Processed

Consists of records created and collected by D. Mark Hegsted during his career as an administrator, researcher, and Federal official in the field of nutrition and public health studies. The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence from Hegsted’s national and international correspondents, including the United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund, the United States Senate, the Wheat Flour Institute, the American Institute of Nutrition, the American Institute of Baking, the American Medical Association, the American Bakers' Association , the National Cancer Institute, and the National Institutes of Health. Also included in the collection is correspondence from individuals associated with these organizations or other researchers in Hegsted's fields of interest, including Ancel Keys, records pertaining to Hegsted's manuscript and writing projects, and records from meetings or workshops in Hegsted’s fields of interest. The collection includes reports, manuscripts, and committeee files reflecting Hegsted's involvement with the American Institute of Baking, the American Medical Association, and the National Research Council's Food and Nutrition Board, as well as his work at the Harvard School of Public Health.

 

Hiatt, Howard H. (1925-) papers, 1968-1990s; H MS c314, 28 c.f., partially processed (contact Public Services)

Records in the Howard H. Hiatt Papers were created by Hiatt during the course of his career as Dean of the Harvard School of Public Health, Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, and Physician-in-Chief at Beth Israel Hospital from 1941 to 2001. Records in this collection consist of: personal and professional correspondence and subject files from Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Beth Israel Hospital, and Harvard School of Public Health departments and offices, including the Office for Diversity, the Department of Health Policy and Management, the Harvard AIDS Institute, the Takemi Program for International Health, the Office of Program Planning, the Harvard School of Public Health Development Office, and the Center for the Analysis of Health Practices; ad-hoc and standing committee records such as the Advisory Committee on Planning, the Affirmative Action Committee, and the Chernin Committee on Outside Professional Activities; notes, book reviews, research files, and draft writings and publications on subjects such as nuclear disarmament, end of life care, and health resource allocation; executive administrative files including curriculum development records, meeting minutes, appointment books, grant proposals and reports; research data, lab notes, and reports from the Brigham and Women’s Medical Intensive Care Unit (Medical Intensive Care Unit) Study and the Harvard Medical Practice Study; speech and lecture files and notes; newspaper articles and magazine clippings; conference and professional organization materials; and a smaller number of photographs and memorabilia.

I

J

Jarcho, Irma S. (1918-) class notes, 1944-1945; H MS c333, .30 cubic feet, Processed

Contains Jarcho’s four notebooks from her courses taken while a student at the Harvard School of Public Health.

K

Kane, Nancy M.; papers, 1970-2018 (inclusive); H MS c576, 21 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Nancy M. Kane, B.S., 1972, Simmons College, Boston, Massachusetts; M.B.A., 1975, Harvard Business School, Cambridge, Massachusetts; D.B.A., 1981, Harvard Business School, Cambridge, Massachusetts; is Professor of Management in the Department of Health Policy and Management. She has won numerous teaching awards and supports case writing and advocates for teaching via the case method. Dr. Kane directs the Master in Health Care Management Program, an executive leadership program created for mid-career physicians leading healthcare organizations. She teaches in Executive and Masters Degree programs in the areas of health care financial accounting and analysis, payment systems, and competitive strategy. Dr. Kane also teaches faculty workshops in teaching and writing cases for public health education through executive education programs and in-house workshops. She won the national 2011 ASPH/Pfizer Award for Teaching Excellence and the 2006 Roger L. Nichols Excellence in Teaching Award, the top award at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Professor Kane consults with a wide range of federal and state agencies involved in health system design, oversight, and payment, including serving two terms (2005-2011) as a member of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission, an agency advising the U.S. Congress on issues affecting the Medicare Program, and as a member of the Massachusetts Special Commission on Health Care Cost Containment in 2009. She won the 1997 Taplin Award for Translation of Ideas into Public Benefit for her work on creating financial transparency of nonprofit hospitals and their community benefit activities. Dr. Kane’s research focuses on the financial and strategic performance of health care organizations.Records include teaching records, course records, case records, research in hospital finances and financial transparency, records relating to charity care and tax exemptions, US and state health reform records, health care regulation records, Safety Net records, and departmental administrative files.

L

Lagakos, Stephen W. (1946-2009) papers, 1979-2010 (inclusive), 1995-2009 (bulk); H MS c338, 21.4 c.f. 9.82 GB, partially processed (contact Public Services)

The Stephen W. Lagakos papers, 1971-2009 (inclusive), 1995-2009 (bulk), are the product of Lagakos’s activities as an HIV/AIDS researcher, biostatistician, and professor of biostatistics. The papers include research records from Lagakos’s involvement in HIV/AIDS clinical trials, his professional writings, his teaching records from the Harvard School of Public Health and the State University of New York, Buffalo, records from his involvement with professional organizations, and personal correspondence, appointment books and photographs.

 

Laird, Nan M. (1943- ); papers, 1980-2015 (inclusive) (H MS c473) 16 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Nan M. Laird (1943- ) is a professor in Biostatistics at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health (HSPH), formerly the Harvard School of Public Health. She served as Chair of the Department from 1990 to 1999. She was the Henry Pickering Walcott Professor of Biostatistics from 1991 to 1999. Dr. Laird is a Fellow of the American Statistical Association, as well as the Institute of Mathematical Statistics. She is a member of the International Statistical Institute. Dr. Nan Laird’s major research interest is the development of statistical methodology in four primary areas: statistical genetics, longitudinal studies, missing or incomplete data, and analysis of multiple informant data. She has worked extensively in the Analysis of Family Based Studies in Genetics, and currently collaborates on genetic studies in BiPolar Disorder, Asthma and Lung Disease. In 2015, Dr. Laird announced her semi-retirement from the Harvard Chan School. 

 

Langmuir, Alexander D. (1910-) papers, 1953-1972 (inclusive), 1965-1970 (bulk); H MS c316, 2.33 cubic feet, processed

Papers are the product of Alexander D. Langmuir’s activities as chief epidemiologist for the National Communicable Disease Center (now the Centers for Disease Control, or CDC) through memoranda, writings, and reprints. Series I (Epidemic Aid Memoranda) represents the bulk of the collection, and consists of memoranda chronicling epidemics throughout the United States from 1953 to 1972. Series II consists of reprints of articles issued between 1963 and 1969 that were authored or co-authored by service officers of the Epidemiology Branch within the CDC, including editorials and publications relating to studies conducted by the CDC and discussed in the epidemic aid memoranda, as well as publications resulting from conferences attended by CDC service members. Langmuir’s 1963 Cutter Lecture on Preventative Disease is included in the reprints. Also included in the papers is a typescript copy of the unpublished manuscript, Medical Leader of the Nineteenth Century: Career of Dr. Samuel Merrifield Bemiss by Lincoln Lorenz. Bemiss was a pioneering contributor in the fields of public health, medicine, and medical journalism. The author, Lorenz, was a Harvard alumnus; his relationship to Langmuir is unknown.

 

Leaf, Alexander (1920-) papers, 1962-2003 (inclusive), 1983-1999 (bulk); H MS c286, 6.25 c.f., Processed

Contains Leaf’s committee papers and manuscripts including publications and presentations, with related research data, correspondence, and figures chronicling his tenure at the Harvard School of Public Health, and as a member of the World Health Organization. Includes Leaf’s latest manuscripts with related papers including financial records, correspondence, and research data and slide figures resulting from his studies of fatty acids, cardiac arrythmias and coronary heart disease. Slide figures also represent his research and presentations on nutrition, kidney failure and pathophysiology, physical fitness, aging, nuclear war, and earlier pioneering studies using toad bladders including sodium transport and the effects of hormones on renal function, a topic undertaken at his laboratory at Massachusetts General Hospital. Also includes manuscripts, lectures, presentations, correspondence, and travel records of meetings, conference, and visiting professorships.

 

Leape, Lucian L.; papers, 1988-2016 (inclusive), H MS c529, 7 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Lucian Leape, M.D., Harvard Medical School, 1959, A.B., Cornell University, 1952, is an adjunct professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. He has had two careers: one in general, thoracic and pediatric surgery, and the other in health policy. His work has focused on the application of systems theory to health care, improving disclosure and apology following medical harm, and changing medical culture to be more respectful and patient-centered. His first academic post was at the University of Kansas, where his research focused on the pathophysiology of burns, gastroesophageal reflux, and the use of parenteral nutrition in infants. He was instrumental in the founding of the American Pediatric Surgical Association. He served as professor and head of pediatric surgery at Tufts University Medical Center, a position he held for 13 years, and published over 100 papers and book chapters as well as a textbook in pediatric surgery. In 1986, he began a new career in health policy. After a Pew fellowship at the RAND Corporation, he joined the start of the Medical Practice Study (MPS) of medical injury and became an adjunct professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health (now known as the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health). When the MPS revealed the extent of preventable harm, he began a study of the causes of errors, which ultimately led to the founding of the National Patient Safety Foundation and the Institute of Medicine’s landmark publications, "To Err is Human" and "Crossing the Quality Chasm". Records consist of course records, manuscripts, conference records, correspondence, talks/presentations, clippings, committee records, and grants.

 

Lee, Sidney S. (1921-) papers, 1960s-1990; MC 463, 12 cubic feet, Unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Contains Lee’s correspondence, Canadian health care reports, professional activities records including Harvard Medical School Dean’s Committee records, lecture files, reprints, and newsclippings.

See also: Records of Associate Dean for Hospital Programs, Sidney S. Lee, 1966-1972 (bulk)

 

Levine, Sol (1922-1996) papers, 1954-1997; H MS c217, 36 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Describes Levine’s experiences as a teacher and researcher at Boston University and the Harvard School of Public Health through correspondence, teaching materials, reports, records about professional activities, and conference notes.

 

Lindemann, Erich papers, 1885-1991 (inclusive), 1950-1974 (bulk); H MS c219, 87.52 c.f., processed.

Erich Lindemann (1900-1974), A.B., Ph.D., 1922, M.D., 1926, Universities of Marburg and Giessen, Germany, was Chief of Psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts, Medical Director of the Wellesley Human Relations Service, Massachusetts, Associate Professor of Mental Health at Harvard School of Public Health, and Distinguished Visiting Professor in Clinical and Social Psychiatry at Stanford University, Palo Alto, California. Lindemann specialized in social and preventive psychiatry, and is credited with pioneering the field of community mental health. This collection is the product of Lindemann’s professional, research, teaching, and publishing activities throughout the course of his career. Professional Appointments Files (Series I) constitutes the bulk of the collection, and consists of administrative, research, committee, and teaching records of Massachusetts General Hospital, the Wellesley Human Relations Service, Harvard Medical School, Harvard School of Public Health, and various other professional appointments held by Lindemann. The collection also contains: research data, meeting minutes and administrative reports of the West End Research Project (Series II); membership correspondence, committee records, conference programs, and lecture transcripts related to Lindemann’s service in various professional associations (Series III and VI); personal and professional correspondence (Series IV and VI); scientific paper reprints, manuscripts, and lecture transcripts by Lindemann relating to community mental health, preventive intervention, and other topics in psychiatry and mental health (Series V); audio and audiovisual recordings of lectures by Lindemann and his colleagues, staff meetings of the Wellesley Human Relations Service and the West End Research Project, professional meetings and research seminars attended by Lindemann, and patient consultations (Series VII); Lindemann's educational diplomas and medical certifications (Series VIII); and collected publications related to psychiatry and mental health (Series IX).

 

Little, John B. (Bertram) (1929-2020) papers, 1855-2015 (inclusive), 1960s-2000 (bulk); H MS c302, 71.15 c.f., partially processed (contact Public Services)

Topics include student activism at Harvard during the 1970s and 1980s (including the Bok Report), the re-organization of the Harvard Medical School and the School of Public Health during the 1970s and 1980s, the work done at the Kresge Environmental Health Center, and Little’s faculty work as a teacher of radiology and physiology.The materials include correspondence, reports, grant applications, newspaper clippings, meeting minutes, agendas, photographs, contact sheets, negatives, slides, 3.5” and 5.5” diskettes, and X-rays. The collection also includes experiment and research records, manuscripts in various states of preparation for publication, faculty records, class syllabi, lecture schedules, grant applications, and project reports.

 

Lown, Bernard (1921- ) papers, 1933-2019 (inclusive), 1960-1995 (bulk); H MS c300. 112.9 c.f., partially processed (contact Public Services)

The Bernard Lown papers, 1933-2003 (inclusive), are the product of Lown’s executive activities as co-founder and Co-President of International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War(IPPNW), as co-founder of Physicians for Social Responsibility (PSR), his research and teaching activities at the Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH), his role in establishing and administering health care organizations including SATELLIFE and the health policy advocacy group Ad Hoc Committee to Defend Health Care, as well as his activities as an author and private-practice cardiologist. The bulk of the papers contain executive and administrative records from IPPNW created during his tenure as Co-President, and include correspondence, Executive Committee records including issues and projects records, subject resource files, meeting records, affiliates records and financial records. Papers also include Lown's research records, manuscripts, and subject resource files related to studies of digitalis, potassium, cardioversion, defibrillation, arrhythmias, preventive cardiology, stress, and exercise, among many other topics of investigation. Unprocessed records (10 accruals received between 2015 and 2020) total approximately 49.6 c.f. and include scrapbooks, correspondence, committee records, clippings, memos, policy documents, reference files, manuscripts, and notes.

See also: Bernard Lown collection of posters related to the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, 1980-1989 (inclusive)Bernard Lown oral histories 2013-2014 (inclusive)

M

Marlink, Richard G.; papers, 1984-1996 (bulk) (H MS c449), 10.4 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Records generated by Richard G. Marlink throughout his career and reflecting his work related to the diagnosis and treatment of individuals infected with HIV/AIDS . Records include: Writings, Correspondence, Grants records; Research records, including raw data, analyzed data, survey instruments, and protocols; Gray Literature; and audio-visual materials. Records reflect activities of both the Harvard AIDS Initiative (HAI) and the Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation (EGPAF).

 

Mayer, Jean (1920-) papers, 1953-1974; H MS c354, 15 cubic feet, processed

Consists of correspondence, memoranda, newspaper clippings, manuscripts, reports, pamphlets, publications, reprints, class curricula, meeting minutes, agendas, notes, and photographs generated as a result of Jean Mayer’s work as a professor, researcher, and author in the field of human nutrition and diet in the United States, Europe, and Africa. The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence created by or sent to Mayer regarding his professional interests in diet, nutrition, and weight control. Mayer corresponded regularly with a variety of scientists and researchers, including D. Mark Hegsted, the United States Army, the World Health Organization, and the Monsanto Corporation, as well as from private individuals seeking advice or medical assistance with issues of diet or weight control. The remainder of the records reflect Mayer’s work as a Professor in the Department of Nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health, his involvement with professional associations, and his international consulting work, including the 1969 White House Conference on Food, Nutrition, and Health.

 

McCormick, Marie C. (1946- ); papers, 1956-2019 (inclusive) 1968-2009 (bulk); H MS c477, 38.7 c.f. and 3.7424 GB, partially processed (contact Public Services)

The Marie C. McCormick papers, 1956-2016 (inclusive), 1968-2009 (bulk), are the product of McCormick’s research, teaching, administrative, and publishing activities during the course of her career. Research records and Infant Health and Development Program electronic records together constitute the bulk of the collection. Research records (Series I) consist primarily of administrative records and regulatory records generated during three studies related to the high-risk infants. Harvard School of Public Health Teaching and Administrative Records (Series II) include: grant applications, budgets, reports, and meeting minutes for graduate training grants in maternal and child health; syllabi, student handouts, course readings, and lectures for courses related to maternal and child health policy and research; and departmental accreditation records. Writings and Publications (Series III) consist of manuscript drafts and scientific paper reprints related numerous topics in infant and child health, and also include occasional raw, coded, and analyzed research data, protocols, and codebooks. The papers also include collected publications, bibliographies, and reading notes related to a variety of McCormick’s research and teaching interests (Series IV).

 

Mead, Jere (1920-2009); papers, 1945-2009 (inclusive). H MS c413, 8 c.f. Unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Jere Mead (1920-2009), S.B., 1943, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts; M.D., 1946, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts, was Professor of Physiology at Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH), 1955 to 1987, and the first Cecil K. and Philip Drinker Professor of Environmental Physiology at HSPH, 1976 to 1987 (Emeritus, 1987 to 2009). Prior to his HSPH service Mead worked at Fort Churchill, Manitoba, Canada, a field station of the Climatic Research Laboratory (CRL), Lawrence, Massachusetts. His research principally addressed respiratory mechanics and the measurement and evaluation of pulmonary air-flow, with earlier work focussed on the respiratory convalescence of patients afflicted with poliomyelitis.

 

Moeller, D. W. (Dade W.); papers, 1966-1976 (inclusive), H MS c596, 1 c.f., Unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Dade W. Moeller (1927-2011), B.S., 1947, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia; M.S., 1948, Georgia Institute of Technology; Ph.D., 1957, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina, was an environmental engineer and health physicist specializing in radiological health. Moeller served in the United States Public Health Service from 1948 to 1966 before joining the Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH) as a professor of environmental health engineering in 1966. Over his 27 year tenure at HSPH, Moeller served as Associate Director of the Kresge Center for Environmental Health from 1966 to 1983, Chair of the Department of Environmental Health from 1966 to 1981, and Associate Dean for Continuing Education from 1984 to 1993. Records include correspondence and departmental administrative files.

 

Mosteller, Frederick (1916- 2006) papers, 1980-1984; MC 553, 4 cubic feet, Unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Contains writings, memoranda, notes, and reprints chronicling Mosteller's activities at the Harvard School of Public Health.

Frederick Mosteller, 1916- , BSc, 1938, MSc, 1939, Carnegie Institute of Technology; AM, 1941, PhD, 1946, Princeton University; Roger Irving Lee Professor of Mathematical Statistics, Emeritus, first came to Harvard in 1946; he became chair of the Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard School of Public Health in 1977 and held appointments at Harvard Medical School and the Kennedy School of Government. Mosteller later served as Chairman of the Department of Health Policy and Management from 1981 to 1987. Mosteller applied his statistical research to politics, literature, health, education, and legislation.Contains writings, memoranda, notes, and reprints chronicling Mosteller's activities at the Harvard School of Public Health.

See also: Papers of Frederick Mosteller [accessions], 1975-2003 (available at Harvard University Archives); Papers of Frederick Mosteller, 1946-1988 (inclusive) (processed; available at Harvard University Archives)

N

O

P

Pan, Steve C. (1922-) papers, 1950s-1990s; MC 880, 17.75 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Steve Chia-Tung Pan, BSc, MD, MPH, was Professor of Tropical Public Health at the Harvard School of Public Health. Pan conducted research on parasitology and tropical medicine at the Harvard School of Public Health during the mid 20th century. Contains notebooks, writings, subject files, and slides from Pan’s research activities at the Harvard School of Public Health.

 

Pierce, Chester M., papers, 1950-2015 (inclusive); H MS c523, 14 c.f., processed.

Chester Middlebook Pierce (born 1927), M.D., Harvard Medical School, 1952, A.B., Harvard College, 1948, was a senior psychiatrist at Massachusetts General Hospital, a psychiatrist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, and professor of education at Harvard University. He also served on the faculty of the Harvard T.C. Chan School of Public Health. Dr. Pierce held rank of Commander in the US Navy as well as senior consultant to the Surgeon General of the US Air Force, the Children’s Television Network, the US Arctic Research Commission, the Peace Corps, and NASA. Dr. Pierce was the president of both the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and the American Orthopsychiatric Association. He was on the Carter Center Mental Health Task Force from 2001 to 2004, and was the founding president of the Black Psychiatrists of America Association and National Chairperson of the Child Development Associate Consortium. Dr. Pierce published more than 180 books, articles, and reviews during his life, primarily on extreme environments, racism, media, and sports medicine. He took many professional trips to Antarctica where a peak bears his name (Pierce Peak). Dr. Pierce organized an African Diaspora conference in 2002 that ultimately led to the Massachusetts General Hospital Division of International Psychiatry in 2003. The Division was renamed in 2009 as the Chester M. Pierce, MD Division of Global Psychiatry in Dr. Pierce’s honor. Records include annotated secondary sources, teaching records, manuscripts, correspondence, lectures, committee and task force records, biographical materials, professional headshots, newsletters, photographs, and research materials.

 

Prothrow-Stith, Deborah, 1954-; papers, 1983-2009 (inclusive), H MS c595, 39 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Deborah Prothrow-Stith (born 1954), B.A., 1975, Spelman College, Atlanta, Georgia; M.D., 1979, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts, was Henry Pickering Walcott Professor of Public Health Practice in the Department of Health Policy and Management and Director of the Division of Public Health Practice (DPHP) at the Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH). She served two years as Massachusetts Commissioner of Public Health before joining HSPH as Assistant Dean for Government and Community Programs in 1990. She then served as founding director of the DPHP and Associate Dean for Diversity. Prothrow-Stith advocates for the treatment of violence as a public health issue, a view she helped popularize in her 1991 book Deadly Consequences. She specializes in community-based violence prevention and has authored several youth curricula. Records include committee records, teaching records, subject files, reference material, writings, research records, travel files, grant records, departmental administrative records, and biographical materials.

See also: Division of Public Health Practice (institutional collection):

Q

R

Rudnick, Stephen N., 1943-; Teaching Records, 2001-2012 (inclusive), H MS c445, 3 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

The Stephen N. Rudnick Teaching Records relate to the Environmental Health courses Ventilation (EH 253), Properties of Particles/Properties and Behavior of Airborne Particles (EH 292), and Evaluation and Control of Noise and Vibration (EH 254), taught by Dr. Stephen Rudnick between 2001-2012 at the Harvard School of Public Health. They include syllabi, presentation slides (transparencies and printed PowerPoint frames), notes, reprints, and student records.

 

Rutstein, David D. (1909-1986) papers, 1936-1986, 1938-1967 (bulk); H MS c315, 102.25 cubic feet, processed

Consists of records created by David D. Rutstein during the course of his career as Professor of Preventive Medicine at Harvard Medical School, Chief of the Cardiac Bureau of the New York State Department of Health, and Deputy Commissioner of the New York City Department of Health from 1943 to 1946. Papers also includes records of Rutstein’s activities as a researcher, academic, medical school administrator, and contributing member of national and international professional health care boards and foundations. Includes correspondence files for programs Rutstein initiated within the Department of Preventive Medicine at Harvard Medical School, as well as his work on curriculum development; teaching activities; and plans for a program in community health care at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH), Boston. Other professional activitie include: involvement in medical societies, especially the American and Massachusetts Heart Associations and American Council on Rheumatic Fever; consulting and advisory work for a variety of international and national medical bodies, including the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United States Public Health Service, and service as Chairman of the United States-United Kingdom Cooperative Rheumatic Fever Study; research on pneumonia, rheumatic fever, heart and blood vessel diseases, and the dissemination of results to scientists and to the general public through a weekly television program ("The Facts of Medicine") and publications; and lobbying efforts.

S

Schmidt, William Morris (1907-) papers, 1963-1969, MC 684, 17 cubic feet, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Consists of correspondence files relating to Schmidt's involvement with the Dept. of Health, Education, and Welfare Children's Bureau and UNICEF. Includes correspondence, documents, clippings, and other material concerning reorganization of federal welfare, social service, and rehabilitation programs; Operation Head Start; and Schmidt's study of health issues in Ceylon and India.

See also: Papers of William Morris Schmidt, 1948-1976 (inclusive) (GA 79; indexed; contact Public Services)

 

Shattuck, George Cheever (1879-1972); papers, 1919-1960 (inclusive); GA 80.10, 1 box and 3 volumes, processed (contact Public Services)

Contains reports, correspondence, and reprints pertaining to Shattuck’s activities at Harvard and his studies in tropical medicine. Reports concern Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH) contributions to industrial medicine; a preliminary survey of health conditions in Yugoslavia in 1920; and the Hamilton Rice Expedition to the Parima Mountains in Brazil in 1924-1925. Other material relates to Harvard medical units in World War I, Hans Zinsser, and HSPH, and includes a few personal letters.

 

Silverman, Leslie (1914–1966) papers, 1940-1966; H MS c69, 24.8 cubic feet, processed 

Contains mostly professional files of Silverman, reflecting his consulting work, participation in conferences and symposiums, and his air pollution research at Harvard; and also some personal material. Consulting files, including correspondence, data, and reports, pertain to Silverman’s work on problems of industrial hygiene, industrial air sampling and analysis, industrial ventilation, air and gas cleaning, and air pollution, for such industries as General Electric Company, H. Sacks and Sons, Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corporation, Air Reduction Company, Ford Motor Company, and Addison-Wesley Press. Harvard materials include contract reports on air pollution control work done at the Air Cleaning Laboratory, and some patent papers such as correspondence about and copies of patents. Drafts of his writings on industrial health, air analysis and atmospheric pollution, and radiological health, as well as related correspondence and reprints, are included in the professional files. Conference proceedings, correspondence, and other papers document dissemination of research results. Also some personal material, such as correspondence about thesis and appointments; calendars; family correspondence; biographical sketches; obituaries; and awards.

 

Simmons, James Stevens (1890–1954), personal and professional records, 1942-1949; H MS c257, 1 cubic foot, Unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Contains personal and professional records resulting from Simmons' career from 1942 to 1949. Also includes editorial correspondence from the publishing of Public Health in the World Today in 1949.

 

Smith, Richard M. (Richard Mason) (1881[?]-1981); papers 1911-1942 (inclusive); GA 80.35.2, .20 cubic feet, Processed (contact Public Services)

Consists of notes and manuscripts of Smith’s lectures, articles, book reviews, and radio talks, mostly concerning the health of infants and children.

 

Smith, Thomas J. (Thomas Jay), 1940-; papers, 1972-2017 (inclusive), H MS c583, 8 c.f. and .83 GB, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Thomas J. Smith (born 1943), B.A., 1966, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota; M.P.H., 1967, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota; M.S., 1970, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota; Ph.D., 1970, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota, is Professor Emeritus of Industrial Hygiene at the T.H. Chan Harvard School of Public Health. Smith was Professor of Environmental Health at the Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH) from 1977 to 1985 and 1993 to 2012. He directed the Industrial Hygiene Program at HSPH from 1993 to 2011. Smith also taught at University of Massachusetts Medical School from 1980 to 1985 and directed their Division of Environmental Health from 1989 to 1993. Smith’s research focuses on how to best characterize environmental exposures for studies of health effects. He collaborated with epidemiologists and toxicologists to analyze exposures to several agents, including sulfur dioxide, silicon carbide dust, gasoline vapors, glass and mineral fibers, arsenic, and diesel exhaust. Records include notebooks, project files, reports, research, conference records, lectures, and manuscripts related to occupational health.

 

Spengler, John D.; papers, 1970-2002 (inclusive), H MS c470, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Records generated by John Spengler during his career as the Akira Yamaguchi Professor of Environmental Health and Human Habitation in the Department of Environmental Health at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Materials include teaching records, meeting notes, correspondence, reference materials, presentations, and AV materials

 

Spielman, A. (Andrew) (1930–2006) papers, 1960s-1990s; MC 561, 24 cubic feet, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Contains research notebooks, data, correspondence, writings, lectures, and grant applications documenting his activities at the Harvard School of Public Health.

 

Stare, Fredrick, papers, 1940-2000 (H MS c499) 27.82 c.f. and .01 GB, Processed; digitized and available online

The Fredrick J. Stare papers, 1912-2002 (inclusive), 1950-1999 (bulk), are the product of Fredrick J. Stare's professional, research, publishing, travel, and personal activities throughout the course of his career. Subject files (Series I) consist of: Harvard School of Public Health administrative and fundraising records; professional service administrative, fundraising, and publishing records; research administrative records and correspondence; and manuscript drafts and publishing correspondence. Correspondence (Series II) was generated through administrative, fundraising, consulting, publishing, research, and professional activities. Writings and publications (Series III) includes reprints and clippings of Stare’s scientific and popular publications related to nutrition and public health, the bulk of which were published between 1977 and 1999. Harvard University administrative records (Series IV) consists of: financial and fundraising records; committee records; meeting records; hiring records; manuscript drafts; and administrative correspondence. Photographs and negatives (Series VIII) primarily include images of: research in the Harvard School of Public Health’s Department of Nutrition; HSPH Department of Nutrition events and receptions; and Stare’s post-World War II malnutrition work in Europe with survivors of the Holocaust and possibly the Dutch Famine. The collection also includes: travel journals, itineraries, and receipts (Series V); annual appointment calendars (Series VI); versions of Stare’s curriculum vitae and bibliography (Series VI); educational audiovisual recordings on nutrition (Series VII); and collected publications and grey literature related to various topics in nutrition (Series IX).

 

Stuart, Harold C. (Harold Coe) (1891-1976) Writings and teaching notes, 1931-1961; GA 83.10/MC 741, 4.33 cubic feet, Processed 

Contains correspondence, minutes of staff meetings, reports and proposal pertaining to the Child Health Division of the Children’s Medical Center, covering also its establishment; proposals for a preventive health unit and nursery school, and general correspondence with the Children’s Hospital; correspondence about special institutes and conferences held on child growth and development; also correspondence concerning the Department of Maternal and Child Health at Harvard School of Public Health. In addition includes correspondence and related information about the Children’s Bureau Study, a manuscript of Stuart’s book The Healthy Child, and letters belonging to Ethel C. Dunham and Barnet E. Bonar.

 

Strong, Richard P. (Richard Pearson) (1872-1949) papers, 1911-2004 (inclusive), 1911-1945 (bulk); GA 82, 69 cubic feet, Box and folder listed, with small selections from collection digitized (contact Public Services)

Contains correspondence files and related material concerning the Department of Tropical Medicine from the earliest years under the Harvard Medical School until Strong’s retirement, as well as records related to Strong’s: teaching activities at Harvard and at the Army Medical School; scientific expeditions; World War I work as head of the Red Cross commission to combat the typhus epidemic in Serbia; involvement in social clubs, international congresses, and professional societies such as the American Academy and Foundation of Tropical Medicine; advisory work for the National Research Council Committee on Medical Problems of Animal Parasitology; and service on the Massachusetts Public Health Council. The papers also contain: records pertaining to Strong’s research and writing; some family correspondence; some personal financial papers; correspondence, memoranda, and photographs relating to Strong’s teaching for the Army during World War II; a book and series of DVDs about the Harvard African Expedition in 1934; and a diary and letters belonging to Strong’s wife, Grace Nichols. Harvard teaching and departmental material contains correspondence with other offices, information about faculty appointments, lecture notes, course schedules, examinations, budgets, and reports and publications concerning establishment of the department in 1913.

 

Swartz, Katherine; collection on universal health care, 1967-2012, H MS c469, 3.6 c.f., unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Katherine Swartz, B.S., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1972; M.S., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1974; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1976; is a Professor of Health Policy and Economics in the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Collection consists of reports related to universal healthcare implementation in Massachusetts in the 1980s.

T

U

V

Vinson, John W.,  papers, 1924-1979 (inclusive), H MS c479, 2.4 c.f. unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Records include grey literature, publications, and reprints relating to venereal disease, Rickettsion disease, trench fever, drug abuse, Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever, canine rabies, urinary tract infections, and other microbiological diseases. Also contains correspondence, grant records, and some manuscript materials from John W. Vinson.

W

Walcott, Henry Pickering (1838-1932) papers 1861-1927 (inclusive); B MS c59, .20 c.f., Processed (contact Public Services)

Contains correspondence with colleagues and friends concerning Walcott’s involvement in public health, in addition to other professional and personal activities. Also includes manuscripts of three lectures he presented on the international public health movement; essay, 1861; certificates; and clippings.

See also: Henry Pickering Walcott letters received as a Fellow of Harvard Corporation, 1901-1919 (available at the Harvard University Archives); Letter to Henry Pickering Walcott, 1897 July 29 (available at the Ernst Mayr Library); Correspondence and other documents of Fellow Henry Pickering Walcott, 1882-1923 (inclusive) (available at the Harvard University Archives); Records of Fellow Pickering Walcott, 1882-1923 (inclusive) (available at the Harvard University Archives).

 

Watson, Ronald R. (Ronald Ross, 1942-) correspondence, 1971-1972; H MS c276, .15 c.f., Unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Includes correspondence from Watson’s research trip to Saudi Arabia as a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Microbiology at Harvard School of Public Health to study how to immunize and thus prevent or reduce diseases of mucosal surfaces. Contains details on his collaboration with the Saudi Arabian government, research data, and personal family letters.

 

Ware, James H., 1941-2016; papers, 1992-2016 (bulk), H MS c488, 1 c.f. and 47.73 GB, unprocessed (contact Public Services)

Records generated by James Ware throughout his career as the Frederick Mosteller Professor of Biostatistics (1979-2016), associate dean for clinical and translational science, dean for academic affairs (1990-2009), master of Cabot House (1996-2003), and acting dean (1997–1998) at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, including teaching records, manuscripts, lectures, correspondence, research, and administrative records.

 

Weller, Thomas Huckle (1915-2008) papers, 1960s-1970s; H MS c357, 65.7 c.f., Processed

The collection consists of records generated as a product of Thomas Huckle Weller's service on the Armed Forces Epidemiological Board (AFEB), a body providing medical advice to the United States Department of Defense and the American military service. Specifically, records relate to Weller's work for the Commission on Parasitic Diseases and the Commission on Malaria. Records consist of correspondence, meeting minutes, agendas, memoranda, notes, photographs, grant applications, contracts, and annual reports.

 

Whittenberger, James Laverre (1914-2007) papers, 1933-1963; H MS c324, 4.2 c.f., processed

Contains correspondence and related material, mostly concerning Whittenberger's research at Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH). Research which was conducted for the National Foundation of Infantile Paralysis from 1945 to 1962 is documented by correspondence, reports, financial records, and material from congresses and conferences, in addition to reports on poliomyelitis epidemics. Also includes grant files, 1947 to 1957, for HSPH Department of Physiology contracts with the Army Chemical Center in Maryland, and papers from conferences on respiration. There is some material on Whittenberger's work on HSPH committees and with professional societies. Notebooks, 1958 to 1963, contain correspondence with contributors and publishers of Artificial Respiration (1962), which Whittenberger edited, and copies of articles included in the volume, along with notes, memoranda, reviews, and illustrations.

 

Wikler, Daniel; papers, 1974-2009 (inclusive), H MS c506, 12 c.f., unprocesesd (contact Public Services)

Records include subject files, grey literature, teaching records, committee records, reference materials, travel files, writings, and records relating to Oregon Medicaid and the Program in Ethics and Health.

 

Willett, Walter; papers, 1968-2009 (inclusive) (H MS c519) 37 c.f., unprocesesd (contact Public Services)

Walter C. Willett, M.D., Dr. P.H., is Professor of Epidemiology and Nutrition at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, formerly known as the Harvard School of Public Health, and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He served as the chair of the Department of Nutrition at the Harvard Chan School from 1991 to 2017. Dr. Willett has focused much of his work over the last 40 years on the development and evaluation of methods, using both questionnaire and biochemical approaches, to study the effects of diet on the occurrence of major diseases. He is the principal investigator of the second Nurses’ Health Study, a compilation of studies regarding the health of older women and their risk factors for major chronic diseases. Dr. Willett has published over 1,700 original research papers and reviews, primarily on lifestyle risk factors for heart disease, cancer, and other conditions. He has written a textbook and four books for the general public; he is the most cited nutritionist internationally and the second most cited author in clinical medicine. Dr. Willett is a member of the National Academy of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and the recipient of many national and international awards for his research. Records include correspondence, conference and meeting records, training grants, committees, and administrative files.

 

Wilson, Edwin Bidwell (1879-1964); correspondence, 1940-1945 (inclusive), 1942-1945 (bulk); H MS c364, 1.75 cubic feet, Processed

Consists of the personal and professional correspondence of Edwin Bidwell Wilson (1879-1964). The bulk of the correspondence was generated as a result of Wilson’s professional activities as a statistician and member of the Harvard School of Public Health faculty, Boston, Massachusetts.

See also: Papers of Edwin Bidwell Wilson, 1900-196? (inclusive) (available at the Harvard University Archives)

XYZ

Zelen, Marvin (1927-2014); papers, 1949-2010 (inclusive), H MS c456, 28 c.f., unprocesesd (contact Public Services)

Marvin Zelen (1927-2014) was professor emeritus of biostatistics in the Department of Biostatistics and Lemuel Shattuck Research Professor of Statistical Science at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health (HSPH). He was also a member of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (emeritus) at Harvard University. He served as chair of HSPH’s Department of Biostatistics from 1981-1990, and helped create and chair the Department of Biostatistics and Computational Biology at Dana-Farber. In 1975, Zelen founded the Frontier Science and Technology Research Foundation, a nonprofit devoted to advancing the use of statistical science and practice and data management techniques in science, health care, and education. Zelen was known for developing the statistical methods and study designs that are used in clinical cancer trials, in which experimental drugs are tested for toxicity, effectiveness, and proper dosage. He also introduced measures to ensure that data from the trials is as free as possible of errors and biases—measures that are now standard practice. Zelen helped transform clinical trial research into a well-managed and statistically sophisticated branch of medical science, leading to improved treatments for several different forms of cancer. His research also focused on improved early detection of cancer; on modeling the progression of cancer and its response to treatment; and on using statistical models to help determine optimal screening strategies for various common cancers, especially breast cancer.

 

         Countway Three Shield Logo   

Countway Library
10 Shattuck St, Boston MA 02115 | (617) 432-2136

Harvard Library | Privacy Policy | Harvard Digital Accessibility Policy
Copyright © 2020 President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.