Skip to main content

History of Public Health at Harvard

Manuscripts and archival collections for researching the history of public health, including resources related to the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

Introduction

The purpose of this guide is to present historical resources on public health, specifically those relating to the Harvard  T.H. Chan School of Public Health and its predecessor, the Harvard-MIT School of Health Officers. Please contact the Harvard Chan School Archivist with questions relating to accessing these resources.

Discover Public Health Collections at Harvard

Search digitized historic Harvard Chan School course catalogs (1913-2011).

Collection Availability

Many of the Center for the History of Medicine's collections are open and available for use. However, there are collections within this guide that contain restricted materials.

For questions about access to specific collections, please contact reference staff in advance of your visit before requesting any items.

Restrictions apply to certain categories of material:

  • University policy restricts access to University administrative records for a period of 50 years from the date of their creation. University records pertaining to individuals, including student and employee records, are closed for a minimum of 80 years.
  • Archives of student, alumni, and other associated organizations are subject to the same 50- and 80-year restrictions on access.
  • Personal archives of faculty, administrators, students, and alumni/ae may be subject to restrictions established by the donor. University records in personal archives are subject to the same 50- and 80-year restrictions on access required by University policy.
  • Records in general distribution at their time of creation are usually open without restriction. These include announcements, official University publications, calendars, brochures, and public reports.

Latest News from the Center for the History of Medicine

Loading ...