Subject Gateways
HistoryLiteratureManuscriptsPhilosophy / Religion
General Bibliographies: Articles, Essays, and BooksSubject Bibliographies and Databases
South Korean newsNorth Korean NewsFinding Korean newspapers at Harvard and beyond
Biographical DictionariesOther Dictionaries
Photographs and ImagesFilms, Comic Books, and Audio Materials
This is the "Home" page of the "Research Guide for Korean Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Guide for Korean Studies   Tags: how_to korean korea korean_studies  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/content.php?pid=186004 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide provides an introduction to selected electronic resources for Korean studies. Most are available online, but some are digital products in other formats (e.g. CD-ROM) are also included. Please note that this is not intended to be a comprehensive list and that some sites may require subscription or registration. The majority of resources selected are primarily or entirely in Korean.

For more information on scholarly resources for Korean studies available at Harvard, please contact Mikyung Kang, Librarian for the Korean Collection of Harvard-Yenching Library; the Harvard-Yenching Library reference desk; or see Korean Studies at Harvard below.

Research Guides for East Asian Studies

The following guides may be helpful to students and scholars of East Asia:

Finding Images of East Asia at Harvard and Beyond: an overview of East Asia-related photographs and other visual resources.

Introduction to Data Resources for Japan: selected digital and print resources for numeric data collection about Japan.

Research Guide for East Asian Studies
by Chiun Chau, Feng-en Tu, Sharon Yang - Last Updated Aug 22, 2014
1,487 views this year
Research Guide for Chinese Studies
by Xiao-He Ma - Last Updated Sep 29, 2014
19,228 views this year
Research Guide for Japanese Studies
by Kuniko McVey - Last Updated Oct 20, 2014
The guide offers tools and resources for conducting research in Japanese studies.
8,474 views this year
Harvard-Yenching Library Archives
by Chiun Chau - Last Updated Oct 21, 2014
370 views this year
 

Harvard Library Collections

A number of libraries collect Korean language and Korea-related materials at Harvard.

Harvard-Yenching Library: Extensive Korean-language collection as part of holdings on East Asia. Humanities and social sciences.

Fine Arts Library: The Rübel Asiatic Research Collection holds materials in Korean and other East Asian languages on East Asian art. Fine Arts also collects Western-language works on East Asian art.

Government Documents / Microforms:Collects a wide range of publications from the US government, including translations of East Asian media, as well as foreign government, UN, census, and other materials.

Harvard Law School Library: Foreign Law collection includes some materials in Korean, as well as writings in other languages on international law. See their web resources page for information on South Korean law.

Tozzer Library: Anthropological and ethnographic materials, including many on East and Inner Asia.

Widener Library: Materials in Western languages on Asia, including Korea.

Countway Library of Medicine: Medical and public-health resources, including some publications in Korean.

Andover-Harvard Theological Library: Collects on religion and philosophy, including those of East Asia, in Western languages. Also holds a number of missionary publications and papers.

 

Korean Studies at Harvard

The following institutes and departments sponsor Korea-related events and courses:

Korea Institute: A central site for information about Korean Studies at Harvard, including talks, courses, scholarships, visiting scholars and so on.

Asia Center:Information about Asia-related events, publications, scholarships, and resources at Harvard.

Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations: East Asian studies faculty and subject language courses.

Arthur M. Sackler Museum -- Asian Art Collection: strong East Asian art collection, including Korean paintings and ceramics. Periodic Korea-related exhibitions and events.

Committee on Regional Studies -- East Asia: Master's program in East Asian studies.

Harvard East Asia Society:Sponsors events for graduate students in East Asian studies and organizes an annual graduate student conference.

 

Romanization

Although it is increasingly possible to search for materials in library catalogs, bibliographies, and of course online using East Asian scripts, knowledge of romanization is still very helpful. For example, romanized searches in library catalogs may allow you to retrieve materials in characters, Korean alphabet (han'gul), and Western-languages, or let you search for items from older bibliographies which often lack East Asian scripts.

In the case of Korean, the romanization system widely used by libraries in the United States (McCune-Reischauer) differs from the various systems employed at different times by Korean governments. It may also differ from the system taught in Korean language classes.

The following links provide information about romanization of Korean and about using East Asian scripts with the HOLLIS catalog.

Korean McCune-Reischauer Romanization Dictionary
Online tool converting hangul to McCune-Reischauer romanization. Created by Korean Studies librarians in North America.

LC (Library of Congress) and ALA (American Library Association) Romanization Table for Korean
Detailed explanation of the guidelines that many American libraries use to romanize Korean works for cataloguing purposes.

CJK 中日韓 Scripts in HOLLIS
Help documents for installing and East Asian IMEs on Windows systems and tips on searching for East Asian-language materials in HOLLIS. Also available under "Help" in HOLLIS.

Subject Guide

Mikyung Kang
Contact Info
Librarian for the Korean Collection
Harvard-Yenching Library
2 Divinity Ave
Cambridge, MA 02138

Tel: 617-496-1079
Send Email
 

Korean Script Searching for Scholarly Information

Book Stacks Guide

© 2010 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved.
Harvard Trademark Notice
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip