This is the "Home" page of the "New England Naturalists: A Bio-Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New England Naturalists: A Bio-Bibliography  

Last Updated: Nov 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/newenglandnaturalists Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

Home

This bio-bibliography lists works about, and some works by, New England naturalists. Some naturalists primarily associated with other areas are included who have done significant work in New England. Coverage is largely restricted to naturalists active before 1945 or so. This is very much a work in progress. Many entries remain to be checked, so it must be used with caution. Suggestions for addition and corrections are gratefully received. Many of the cryptic abbreviations are explained in the Bibliography. I am happy to answer questions via email.

Articles in the Auk are available online at SORA- The Searchable Ornithological Research Archive.

The most common abbreviations are:

  • AOU: Biographies of members of the American Ornithologists' Union, by T. S. Palmer and others. Reprinted from "The Auk," 1884-1954. [Edited by Paul H. Oehser] Washington, 1954. 630 p.
  • Meisel: Meisel, Max. 1924-1929. A bibliography of American natural history; the pioneer century, 1769-1865.

I am in the process of replacing cryptic abbreviations with full citations.

Fred Burchsted
burchst@fas.harvard.edu

© 2010 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved.
Harvard Trademark Notice
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip