A

Ab

Abbott, Frances Matilda 1857-1939

Metcalf, H. H., ed. 1919. One thousand New Hampshire notables; brief biographical sketches of New Hampshire men and women … Concord, NH: The Rumford printing co., 558 p., portraits. In Google Book Search

Abbott, Frances Matilda. 1906. Birds and flowers about Concord, New Hampshire. Concord, NH: Rumford printing company, 1906.

Abbott, Harriet -1943

Ed.: Fryeberg Academy (Oxford Co?); Town clerk, Fryeberg, ME; School teacher in ME & MA; d, July 21, 1943 in Fryeberg, ME;

Fount of knowledge on birds and mineralogy for the children of Fryeberg.

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 2].

Abbott, R(obert) Tucker 1919-1995; b, Watertown, MA; Worked with mollusks at the Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University.

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [p. 312].

Achorn, John Warren 1857-1926
b. January 30, 1857 in Newcastle, ME; Ed: Bowdoin College and the Maine Medical School; Married Harriet Priscilla Sawyer, 1907, herself a student of wildflowers; Physician in Boston for ~20 years; Wintered in Sandhills of NC; d, August 5, 1926.

Most of his ornithological work was done in the North Carolina sand hills where he spent his summers. AOU

Ackerman, Joseph Moody 1844-1919
March 4, 1844 (Newburyport, MA) - July 22, 1919 (Newburyport, MA); Elected Associate of AOU in 1918

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 5].

Adams, Benjamin Sept. 20, 1873 (Wethersfield, CT) - April 6, 1938 (Wethersfield, CT); Worked in NY Public Library; Member of the AOU (1911- ).

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 5].

Adams, Charles Baker 1814-1853; b, Dorchester, MA; d, St.Thomas; Amherst, B.S., 1834

11 Jan. 1814-18 Jan. 1853
b, Dorchester, MA; d, St. Thomas, V.I.
m. Mary Holmes, 5 children
EDUC: Yale
Amherst College, A.B., 1834
Andover Theological Seminary, 1834-36
Assistant, Natural History Survey of New York, 1836
Tutor, lecturer in geology, Amherst College, 1836-37
Taught at new college, Marion, MO, 1837
Professor of chemistry and natural history, Middlebury College, 1838-47
Vermont State Geologist, 1845-
Professor of natural history and astronomy, Amherst College, 1847-53

His early work was as a geologist, turning to conchology around 1844. Most published work was on tropical, esp. Caribbean molluscs, but founded? zoological museum, esp strong on shells at Amherst.

MSS: Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia
Amherst College archives

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

American Journal of Science, ser. 2, vol. 15, pp. 292-293, 1853.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Bland, T. 1865. Memoir of Charles B. Adams, late professor of zoology in Amherst College, Massachusetts. American Journal of Conchology, vol. 1, no. 3 (July 1), pp. 191-204. Portrait.

Dall, W.H. 1888. Some American conchologists. Proceedings of the Biological Society of Washington, v. 4, pp. 95-134 (pp. 123-126).

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

Clench, W. J. & R. D. Turner. 1950. The western Atlantic marine mollusca described by C. B. Adams. Occasional Papers on Mollusks, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, vol. 1, no. 15, pp. 233-403, vol. 1, no. 18, p. 447, pls. 29-49; 1956, vol. 2, no. 20, pp. 21-136.

Turner, R.D. 1956. Additions to the Western Atlantic Marine Mollusks described by C. B. Adams. Occ. Papers on Mollusks 2(19): 134-136, 1 pl.

Turner, R.D. 1956. The eastern Pacific marine mollusks described by C.B. Adams. Occ. Papers on Mollusks 2(19): 21-136.

Hitchcock, E. 1863. Reminiscences of Amherst College. pp. 90-100.

Seely, H. M. 1903. Sketch of the life and work of Charles Baker Adams. American Geologist, vol. 32, pp. 1-12. Portrait, Bibliography

Seely, H. M. 1904. Vermont State Geol. Report 1903-1904, pp. 3-15. Portrait, bibliography

PRIMARY WORKS

Annual reports of the Vermont state geologist, 1845-48.

Contributions to conchology; conducted by C. B. Adams. v. 1; Oct. 1849-Nov. 1852. NY and London: H. Bailliere, 1849-1852, iv + 258 pp. Almost all by CBA

Mollusca. Fresh water and land shells of Vermont. As published in Thompson's History of Vermont. Burlington, VT, 1842. 19 pp. illus.

Adams, John Coleman 1849-1922

Nature studies in Berkshire. Ill. in photogravure from photos by Arthur Scott. NY: G.P. Putnam's sons, 1899, viii + 225 pp., front., ill., 15 plates. Also: 1901

Adams, Sherman Wolcott 1836-1898

Adams, Sherman W. (Sherman Wolcott). The native and wild mammals of Connecticut. Hartford, Conn., Case, Lockwood, & Brainard, 1896.

Adams, William Clark May 21, 1880 (Wooster, OH) - June 12, 1948 (Albany, NY)

After serving on the Massachusetts Board of Fish and Game Commissioners (appointed 1913, chair, 1916-1928), in 1931 he moved to the NY Conservation Commission. AOU

Adams, Zabdiel Boylston January 25, 1875 (Framingham) - March 16, 1940 (Brookline, MA) Ed: MIT, Harvard Medical School; Boston physician (orthopaedic surgery): Masachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School; AOU

Ag

Agassiz, Alexander 1835-1910
17 Dec. 1835-27 Mar. 1910

Agassiz, G. R., ed. 1913. Letters and recollections of Alexander Agassiz with a sketch of his life and work. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 454 pp. Portraits

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Biographical dictionary of American science: the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

Dictionary of scientific biography, ed. by C. C. Gillispie. 18 v. NY: Scribner, 1970-1990.

Dobbs, D. 2005. Reef madness: Alexander Agassiz, Charles Darwin, and the meaning of coral. NY: Pantheon, 306 p.

Goodale, G.L. 1913. Biographical memoir of Alexander Agassiz, 1835-1910. Biographical Memoirs, National Academy of Sciences 7: 289-305.

Mills, E. L. 1980. Alexander Agassiz, Carl Chun and the problem of the intermediate fauna. Pp. 83–93 in Oceanography: the past, ed. by M. Sears and D. Merriman. NY: Springer-Verlag.

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 3.

Summers, A. P., K. E. Hartel, and T. J. Koob. 1999. Agassiz, Garman, Albatross, and the collection of deep-sea fishes. Marine Fisheries Review, vol. 61, Issue 4, pp. 58-68.

Williams, Beryl and S. 1963. Pioneer oceanographer, Alexander Agassiz. NY: Julian Messner, 191 pp.

Zinn, D. J. 1980. Alexander Agassiz and the financial support of oceanography in the U.S. Pp. 83-93 in: Oceanography: The Past. Ed. by M. Sears and D. Merriman. NY: Springer-Verlag, 812 pp.

More references available in:
Cumulated Bibliography of Biographies of Ocean Scientists, by Deborah Day, Scripps Institution of Oceanography Archives. Revised December 3, 2001.

Primary Works

Taxonomic monographs largely omitted, selected works.

[Acalephan fauna of the southern coast of Massachusetts (Buzzard's Bay).].

North American acalephae. Cambridge, MA: Museum of Comparative Zoology (Memoirs, v.1, no.2), 1865, xiv + 234 pp., illus.

Seaside Studies in Natural History: Marine Animals of Massachusetts Bay. Radiates. Elizabeth C. Agassiz and Alexander Agassiz. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1865, 157 pp. figs. by Alexander Agassiz.

North American starfishes. Cambridge, MA: Museum of Comparative Zoology (Memoirs, v.5, no.1), 1877, iv + 136 pp., illus., 20 plates.

A contribution to American thalassography. Three cruises of the United States Coast and Geodetic Survey steamer "Blake" in the Gulf of Mexico, in the Caribbean Sea, and along the Atlantic coast of the United States, from 1877 to 1880. Boston and NY: Houghton, Mifflin , 1888, 2 v., illus., plates, fold. maps, diagr. Also published as Bulletin of the Museum of Comparative Zoology, v. 14 & 15

Agassiz, Elizabeth Cabot Cary 1822-1907
5 Dec. 1822-27 June 1907

Adkison, J. D. 2008. Elizabeth Agassiz. Pp. 8-13 in Early American nature writers: a biographical encyclopedia, ed. by Daniel Patterson et al. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 433 p.

American travel writers, 1850-1915. Dictionary of literary biography; v. 189. Detroit: Gale Research, 1998.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Notable American Women, 3 vols., 1 vol. suppl. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1971, 1980, vol. 1, pp.

Paton, Lucy Allen. 1919. Elizabeth Cary Agassiz. A biography. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin, 423 pp. Portraits. [Wife of Louis Agassiz]

Agassiz, E. C. in American travel writers, 1850-1915. Dictionary of literary biography; v. 189. Detroit: Gale Research, 1998.

More references available in:
Cumulated Bibliography of Biographies of Ocean Scientists, by Deborah Day, Scripps Institution of Oceanography Archives. Revised December 3, 2001.

Agassiz, Louis 1807-1873
26 May 1807-14 Dec. 1873

Agassiz, Elizabeth Cary, ed. 1885. Louis Agassiz: his life and correspondence. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin, 794 pp. Portraits

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Guyot, Arnold. 1878.  Biographical memoir of Louis Agassiz, 1807-1873. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol. 2, 19, pp. 39-73.

Dexter, R. W. 1974. From Penikese to the Marine Biological Laboratory at Woods Hole: The role of Agassiz's students. Essex Institute Historical Collection, 110: 151-161.

Dexter, R. W. 1978. Some historical notes on Louis Agassiz's lectures on zoogeography. Journal of Biogeography, 5: 207-209.

Dexter, R. W. 1979. Agassiz on zoological classification and nomenclature. Bios, 50: 218-222.

Dexter, R. W. 1984. Agassiz's discussion on homologies and classification of the Radiata (1860-61). Bios, 55: 18-23.

Dexter, R. W.1988. Agassiz's lectures on 'The order of the appearance of animals on earth'. Bios, 58(1-2): 3-7.

Dexter, R. W. 1983. Extracts from Agassiz's lectures on geology and paleontology. Earth Sciences History, v. 2, pp. 35-37.

Dexter, R. W. 1989. Historical aspects of Agassiz's lectures on glacial geology (1860-61). Earth Sciences History, v. 8, pp. 75-79.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

Dictionary of scientific biography, ed. by C. C. Gillispie. 18 v. NY: Scribner, 1970-1990.

Eliot, C. W. 1917. The Agassiz house on Quincy Street. Harvard Alumni Bulletin, v. 19, no. 26 (Mar. 29), pp. 492-495

Emerson, E. W. 1918. Louis Agassiz. Pp. 28-38 in The early years of the Saturday Club, 1855-1870, ed. by Edward Waldo Emerson. Boston: NY: Houghton Mifflin Company, 515 pp.

Herber, E.C., ed. 1963. Correspondence between Baird and Agassiz - two pioneer American naturalists. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press, 237 pp.

Holder, C. F. 1893. Louis Agassiz: his Life and Work. NY: G. P. Putnam's Sons, 327 pp. Bibliography

Irmscher, C. 2008. Louis Agassiz. Pp. 14-21 in Early American nature writers: a biographical encyclopedia, ed. by Daniel Patterson et al. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 433 p.

Irmscher, Christoph. 2013. Louis Agassiz: creator of American science. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 434 p.

Jackson, J. R. and W. C. Kimler. 1999. Taxonomy and the personal equation: the historical fates of Charles Girard and Louis Agassiz. Journal of the History of Biology, v. 32, pp. 509-555.

Jordan, David Starr, 1851-1931. Agassiz at Penikese. Popular Science Monthly. XL. 1892. No. 6. 721-729.

Louis Agassiz and the history of the collection. Commemorative ed. Cambridge, MA: University Antiquaries, Inc., c1975.

Lurie, Edward. 1960. Louis Agassiz: a life in science. Chicago: Univ. of Chicago Press, 449 pp. Portraits

Marcou, Jules. 1896. Life, letters and works of Louis Agassiz. 2 vols. NY. Portraits?? and Bibliography (incomplete and sometimes inaccurate)

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 2.

Solomon, G. E. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 9-12.

Surdez, M. 1974. Catalogue des Archives de Louis Agassiz (1807-1873). Bulletin de la Societe Neuchateloise des Sciences Naturalle 97, 202 pp.

Wilder, B. G. 1898. Agassiz at Penikese. American naturalist, v. 32, no. 375, pp. 189-196.

Winsor, Mary P. 1979. Louis Agassiz and the species question. Studies in History of Biology, 4: 89-117.

Winsor, Mary. 1991. Reading the Shape of Nature. Comparative Zoology at the Agassiz Museum. University of Chicago Press, 324 pp.

Winsor, Mary P. 2000. Agassiz's notions of a museum: the vision and the myth. Pp. 249-271 in Cultures and Institutions of Natural History, ed. by M. T. Ghiselin and A. E. Leviton (Memoirs of the California Academy of Sciences no. 25).

More references available in:
Cumulated Bibliography of Biographies of Ocean Scientists, by Deborah Day, Scripps Institution of Oceanography Archives. Revised December 3, 2001.

Primary Works

Address delivered on the centennial anniversary of the birth of Alexander von Humboldt, under the auspices of the Boston Society of Natural History. With an account of the evening reception. Boston Society of Natural History, 1869, 107 pp.

Bibliographia zoologiae et geologiae. A general catalogue of all books, tracts, and memoirs on zoology and geology. Cor., enl., and ed. by H.E. Strickland London: Ray Society, 1848-54, 4 v.

Contributions to the natural history of the United States of America. Boston: Little, Brown; London: Trübner, 1857-1862, 4 v., 77 plates (4 col., 2 fold.)

An essay on classification. London: Longman, Brown, Green, Longmans, and Roberts, 1859, viii + 321 pp. Also: Edited by Edward Lurie. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1962, xxxiii + 268 pp. diagr.

Geological sketches. Boston: Ticknor and Fields. 1866, iv + 311 pp. front. (port.). Also: Boston: J.R. Osgood, 1873; and Second series,1876, 229 pp. [preface signed, E.C.A.]

Geological sketches. 17th ed. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1894, iv + 312 pp. illus.

Geological Sketches. Second series. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1903, 229 pp. illus.

An introduction to the study of natural history, in a series of lectures delivered in the hall of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York.. NY: Greeley & McElrath, 1847, 58 pp. illus.

Methods of study in natural history. Boston: Ticknor and Fields, 1863, viii + 319 pp. illus. (incl. map). Also: 8th ed. Boston: J.R. Osgood, 1873; 19th ed. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin, 1891.

Outlines of comparative physiology, touching the structure and development of the races of animals, living and extinct... With A.A. Gould. Ed. from the rev. ed. and greatly enlarged by Thomas Wright.. London: H.G. Bohn, 1855, xxiv + 442 pp., col. front., illus. (incl. map). Also: London: G. Bell, 1878. [oringinal ed. is Principles of zoology)

Principles of zoology, touching the structure, development, distribution, and natural arrangement of the races of animals, living and extinct. Pt. 1. Comparative physiology. With A.A. Gould. Boston: Gould, Kendall and Lincoln, 1848, xix + 216 pp. front., illus. (incl. map). Also: Rev. ed. Boston: Gould and Lincoln, 1851, 250 pp., front., illus., map; Boston: Gould and Lincoln, NY: Sheldon, Blakman, 1856, 250 pp., front., illus., map; same, 1873.

The structure of animal life. Six lectures delivered at the Brooklyn Academy of Music in January and February, 1862. NY: Scribner, 1866, viii + 128 pp. illus. Also: 3rd ed., 1874. (Graham Lectures, v. iv)

Twelve lectures on comparative embryology, delivered before the Lowell Institute in Boston, December and January, 1848-9. Phonographic report by James W. Stone. Originally reported and published in the Boston Daily Evening Traveller. Boston: Redding, NY: Dewitt & Davenport, 1849, 104 pp.

Ahles, Harry E. 1924-1981

Ahles, Harry E. A conversation with Harry Ahles: a transcript dealing with the vascular plants of Connecticut. Memoirs of the Connecticut Botanical Society, no. 1. 1984.

Al

Albertson, Alice Owen

Nantucket wild flowers. Ill. by Anne Hinchman. New York and London: G. P. Putnam's sons, 1921, xiv, 442 p. ill., col. front., col. plates Sakonnet, RI: Theophrastus, 1973, xlv, 442 p. illus. (Reprint of the ed. published by Putnam, NY).

Geographical limits for Nantucket flowers. Nantucket Maria Mitchell Association Bulletin no. 1, 1923, [4] p.

Alcott, Rev. William Penn 1831-1919

Herbarium at Peabody Academy of Sciences, Salem.; Collected wool-waste plants while pastor in North Chelmsford, MA.

Knowlton, C. H. 1921. Herbarium of Rev. W. P. Alcott. Rhodora, v. 23, no. 266, (February), p. 47.

Alexander, Richard Chandler 1809 – 1902
(From 1859 named Richard Chandler Alexander Prior) b, Corsham, Wilts.; d, London. English botanist and plant collector. Served as temporary curator of the Fielding Herbarium, Oxford.

Collected in Coos County, 1843

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 35]

Allen, Anson 1829-1884
b, Vermont; d, Orono, ME; Home for 35 years: Orono, ME; Match manufacturer

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

Nylander, O. O. 1943. The Anson Allen mollusk collection. University of Maine Studies, ser. 2, no. 58.

Patch, E. M. 1943. The Maine Bulletin, vol 46, pp. 33-42. Portrait.

Allen, Francis Henry 1866-1953
August 3, 1866-October 24, 1953; b. Jamaica Plain, d. Cambridge, MA; Member: AOU, Massachusetts Audubon Society (Chairman of Directors), Nuttall (Vice-President), Federation of the Bird Clubs of New England (President) [Recreation in and about Boston (Contibutors)]

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

Taber, Wendell. 1955. In Memoriam: Francis Henry Allen. Auk, v. 72, pp. 179-183.

Allen, Francis H. A bibliography of Henry David Thoreau. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1908, 163 lvs, 164-201 pp.

Allen, Francis H. A bibliography of Henry David Thoreau. New York, N.Y.: Johnson Reprint, 1967, 201 pp.

Allen, Francis H. The federation of the bird clubs of New England; a record of its first ten years. Boston, Pub. by the Federation, 1934, 15 pp.

Thoreau, Henry David. Men of Concord and some others as portrayed in the Journal of Henry David Thoreau. Boston, Houghton Mifflin Company, 1936, 255 pp., col. pls. Ill. by N. C. Wyeth.

Thoreau, Henry David. The moon. Boston, Houghton Mifflin, 1927, 61 pp. [Journal extracts]

Allen, Francis H. Nature's diary. Boston, etc., Houghton, Mifflin and Company, 1877, [379 pp.].

Thoreau, Henry David. Notes on New England birds. Boston, New York, Houghton Mifflin company, 1910, 452 pp., Ill. from photos.

Thoreau, Henry David. The journal of Henry David Thoreau. Ed. by Bradford Torry & Francis Allen. 14 v. Salt Lake City: G. M. Smith, 1984.

Thoreau, Henry David. Thoreau on birds: notes on New England birds from the Journals of Henry David Thoreau. The Concord library. Boston: Beacon Press, 1993, 510 pp. Ill. by Louis Agassiz Fuertes. Introduction by John Hay. [Reprint of Thoreau's bird-lore]

Thoreau, Henry David. Thoreau's bird-lore; being notes on New England birds from the Journal of Henry D. Thoreau. [n.p.] Houghton, 1925, 452 pp.

Thoreau, Henry David. Walden, or, Life in the woods. Riverside literature series; no. 195. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., c1910. Introduction and notes by F. A. Allen.

The concealing coloration question. Auk, v. 30, pp. 311-312, 1913.

The evolution of bird-song. Auk, v. 36, pp. 528-536, 1919.

Larus kumlieni and other northern gulls in the neighborhood of Boston. Auk, v. 25, pp. 296-300, 1908.

More notes on the morning awakening. Auk, v. 30, pp. 229-235, 1913.

A nesting of the rose-breasted grosbeak. Auk, v. 33, pp. 53-56, 1916.

Remarks on the case of Roosevelt vs. Thayer, with a few independent suggestions on concealing coloration question. Auk, v. 29, pp. 489-507, 1912.

Summer birds of the Green Mountain region of southern Vermont. Auk, v. 25, pp. 56-64, 1908.

Summer birds of Willoughby Lake. St. Johnsbury Caledonian, Sept. 11, 1896.

Thoreau's editors: history and reminiscence. Thoreau Society booklet; no. 7. [S.l.]: Thoreau Society, 1950, 28 pp.

The white-breasted and red-breasted nuthatches. NY: National Association of Audubon Societies (Educational Leaflet 59), 4 pp. 1 pl. 1912.

Allen, Glover Morrill 1879-1942
8 Dec. 1879-15 Feb. 1942; b, Walpole, NH
Ed: Harvard, Ph.D. 1904

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Barbour, T. et al. 1943. Glover Morrill Allen, 1879-1942. Journal of Mammalogy 24: 297-304. Portrait.

Barbour, Thomas. 1946. A naturalist's scrapbook. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 218 p.[pp. 27-]

Bigelow, H. B. 1942. Glover Morrill Allen. Harvard University Gazette 37(37)

Clark, A. H. 1942. Glover Morrill Allen. Science, vol. 95 (March 13), pp. 266-268

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

Lawrence, B. 1947. Bibliography of publications by Glover Morrill Allen. Proceedings of the New England Zoological Club 24: 1-81

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 31, p. 143. Portrait.

S(clater), W. L. 1943. Glover Morrill Allen. Ibis, 85:108.

Thielen, Bernard. Young Glover Allen's "Birds of New Hampshire".

Tyler, W. M. 1943. In memoriam: Glover Morrill Allen. Auk, vol 60 (April), pp. 163-168. Portrait

Primary Works

The walrus in New England. Journal of Mammalogy, v. 11, no. 2, (May, 1930), pp. 139-145.

History of the Virginia deer in New England. Papers read at conference of Mass. Fish & Game Assoc., Jan. 11, 1929. Boston, 1929. p. 19-38.

Whales and whaling in New England. Scientific Monthly, 1928. v. 27, pp. 340-343.

New England Cetaceans. Boston society of natural history. Bulletin, No. 30. [Boston, 1923].

White, Francis Beach. Check-list of the birds of New Hampshire. Concord, N.H.: White, 1922.

Three interesting great horned owls from New England. Auk, 1919. v. 36, pp. 367-370.

Some vanished birds of New England. Boston Soc. Nat. Hist. Bull., v. 13, 1918, pp. 3-6.

The whalebone whales of New England. Memoirs of the Boston Society of Natural History; v. 8, no. 2. Monographs on the natural history of New England. Boston, Boston Society of Natural History, 1916.

Fauna of New England, 11: list of the aves. Occasional papers of the Boston Society of Natural History; v. 7, pt. 11. Boston: Society of Natural History, 1909.

Fauna of New England. No. 3. List of the Mammalia. Boston, Occasional papers of the Boston Society of Natural History; v. 7, pt. 3, pp. 1-35. 1904.

Howe, Reginald Heber. The birds of Massachusetts. Cambridge, Mass., 1901.

Notes on the reptiles and amphibians of Intervale, New Hampshire. Boston, 1899.

Fringilladae in Newton, Middlesex County, Mass. Oölogist (Albion, N.Y.), v. 9, pp. 244-246, 1892.

Bats. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1939, x + 368 pp., front., illus., plates.

Birds and their attributes. Boston: Marshall Jones, 1925, xiii + 338 pp., col. front., illus., plates, port. Also: NY: Dover, 1962, 338 pp.

Extinct and vanishing mammals of the Western Hemisphere, with the marine species of all the oceans. NY: American Committee for International Wildlife Protection, 1942, xv + 620 pp., illus., port. (Special Publication no. 11

An introduction to the study of birds. Being ten lectures delivered under the auspices of the New England Bird Banding Association. 1924, 2 + 118 pp.

A list of the birds of New Hampshire. Manchester, NH: Manchester Institute of Arts and Sciences (Proceedings, v. iv, pt. 1)/ Nature Study Press, 1902?, 1903, 222?? pp..

Allen, Ira

The Natural and Political History of the State of Vermont, one of the United States of Ameica; to which is added an appendix, containing answers to sundry queries, addressed to the author. London: Printed by J.W. Myers, sold by W. West, 1798, 300 pp. Repr. in Vermont Hist. Soc. Coll., 1870, vol. 1, pp. 319-499.

Allen, Joel Asaph 1838-1921
19 July 1838-29 Aug. 1921; b,Springfield, MA d,Cornwall on Hudson, NY

Allen grew up laboring on his parents' farm near Springfield, MA, where he becamne interested in natural history, especially birds. He attended Wilbraham Academy to which, in 18 , he sold his collections to finance moving to Cambridge to be a special student of Louis Agassiz in 1862. He accompanied Agassiz on his Brazilian expedition. He took care of the birds and mammals in the Museum of Comparative Zoology and served as assistant in ornithology from 1871 to 1885 when he left for the American Museum of Natural History due to financial exigencies in the MCZ.

We was one of the founders of the Nuttall Ornithological Club and of the American Ornithological Union and was long-term editor of their publications, the Bulletin and the Auk. AOU

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Autobiographical notes and a bibliography of the scientific publications of J. A. Allen. Foreward by Henry Fairfield Osborn. NY: American Museum of Natural History, 1916, xi + 216 pp., front. (port.).

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Chapman, F. M. 1927. Biographical memoir of Joel Asaph Allen, 1838-1921. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol. 21, no. 1, pp. 1-20. Portrait, bibliography

Chapman, F. M. & H. F. Osborn. 1921. Natural History (i.e., J. of the AMNH), vol. 21, pp. 513-519. Portrait

Auk n.s., vol. 38, pp. 490-492

Sterling, K. B. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 20-21.

Sulloway, F. J. In: Dictionary of scientific biography, ed. by C. C. Gillispie. 18 v. NY: Scribner, 1970-1990 (vol. 17 (Suppl. 2), pp. 20-23).

Nelson, E. W. 1922. Dr. Joel Asaph Allen, an appreciation. Journal of Mammalogy, vol. 3, pp. 254-258. port.

Primary Works

The American Ornithologists' Union, a seven years' retrospect; an address delivered by the retiring president at the eighth congress of the union, Nov. 19, 1890. NY: The Union, 1891, 19 pp.

A list of the birds of Massachusetts: with annotations. Essex Institute Bulletin, v.10 (Jan. 1878), pp.3-37.

Catalogue of the mammals of Massachusetts: with a critical revision of the species. Bulletin of the Museum of Comparative Zoology (Harvard College) No. 8, 1869.

Catalogue of the reptiles and batrachians found in the vicinity of Springfield, Massachusetts, with notices of all other species known to inhabit the state. Zoology pamphlets, v. 2, no. 9. Boston, Press of A.A. Kingman, 1868-69.

Notes on some of the Rarer Birds of Massachusetts. American Naturalist, Vol.III. pp.505-519; 568-585; 631-648. Salem, 1869-70.

Selected works of Joel Asaph Allen. Introduction by K.B. Sterling. NY: Arno Press, 1974.

MSS: Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia, AMNH

Allen, John Alphaeus 1863-1916

Obituary Record Yale University, no. 76 (whole record), no. 2 (7th printed series) pp. 452-454.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 2-4]

Shell collection in Portland Society of Natural History:
Johnson, R. 1997. Maine’s Portland Society of Natural History. Northeastern naturalist, v. 4, no. 3, pp. 189-196.

Allen, Oscar Dana 1836-1913

Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. [v. 1, p. 54]. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.

Obituary Record Yale University, no. 72 (whole record), no. 3 (6th printed series), pp. 491-492.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 4-5]

Wells, W. L. 1913. [Obituary]. American Journal of Science, ser. 4, vol. 35, p. 560.

[Obituary]. The Bryologist, vol. 17, p. 30, 1914.

Allen, P. D.

Interested in reptiles and amphibians

Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33. [Mentioned p.24].

Allen, S. T.

Member, N.L.D. Society, Amherst College, 1831; Meisel, 1822

For N.L.D. Society (Also called Society of Natural History) see: p. 57 in Student life at Amherst College: Its organizations, their membership and history, by George Rugg Cutting. (Amherst, Hatch & Williams, 1871, 207 p.). Available in HathiTrust. Records at Amherst.

Allen, Zachariah

Founder, Providence Franklin Society; Meisel, 1821

Alsop, Richard 1761-1815

Romaine, Lawrence Bond. 1955. Richard Alsop (1761-1815), Hartford wit and bird-watcher. Mass. Audubon Soc. Bull. v. 37 (Feb), pp. 67-70.

Romaine, Lawrence Bond. 1953. Richard Alsop and his universal account book Conn. Hist. Soc. Bull. v. 18 (July), pp. 18-24.

Am

Ames, Oakes 1874-1950
26 Sept. 1874-28 Apr. 1950; b, North Easton, MA

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Plimpton, Pauline Ames. 1979. Jottings of a Harvard botanist. Cambridge, MA: Botanical Museum, Harvard University, 406 pp.

Andrews, Albert LeRoy 1878-1961

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 5-7]

Steere, W. C. 1962. Albert LeRoy Andrews, 1878-1961. The Bryologist, vol. 65, pp. 25-37. Portrait

Andrews, Luman 1839-1921

Catalogue of the flowering plants and ferns of Springfield, Massachusetts, growing without cultivation. Springfield, MA: Museum of Natural History Bulletin, no.3, 1924, 221p. illus.,fold.map. Springfield Botanical Society, Springfield, Mass.

List of the flowering plants and higher cryptogams growing upon the summit of Meriden mountain Conn.Southington, CT: Southington pub.co., 1906, 15 pp..

A list of the flowering plants and higher cryptogams growing upon the summit of Meriden Mountain Conn. Southington, CT: Southington Pub. Co., 1900 (1899 on cover), 13 pp..

Flowering plants and higher cryptogams growing on the summit of Meriden Mountain. [Hartford, Conn.?: s.n.], 1901.

Edwin Hubert Eames ... Charles Humphrey Bissell, Luman Andrews, Edgar Burton Harger ... and Charles Alfred Weatherby ... committee of the Connecticut Botanical Society. 1910. Catalogue of the flowering plants and ferns of Connecticut growing without cultivation.. 23 cm. (Connecticut. Geological and Natural History Survey. Bulletin no. 14; (State of Connecticut.Public document no. 47). 569 pp.

Angell, Walter Allen 1868-1950; b, Johnston, RI; d, Smithfield, RI; Taxidermist/furrier; Collected butterflies, bird skins, and, especially, New England birds eggs.; AOU

Anthony, John Gould 1804-1877; b, Providence, RI; d, Cambridgeport, MA

17 May 1804-16 Oct. 1877; b, Providence, RI; d, Cambridgeport, MA
Educ: Public schools
m, Ann W. Rhodes, 9 children
Businessman and shell dealer, Cincinnati, OH, 1834-
Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University, curator of conchology collection, 1863

Anthony moved to Cincinnati in 1834 and pursued a career as a businessman. By 1835 he had taken up the study of shells, writing articles largely on freshwater molluscs, dealing in shells, and corresponding with naturalists in the U. S. and abroad. He was noticed by Louis Agassiz, who brought him to Cambridge in 1863 as curator of the Museum of Comparative Zoology's conchology collection.

Collection: Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University
MSS: Museum of Comparative Zoology Library; Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Dall, W.H. 1888. Some American conchologists. Proceedings of the Biological Society of Washington, v. 4, pp. 95-134 (pp. 111-112).

Harmond, R. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 31-32.

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 10, pp. 404-405.

Turner, R. D. 1946. John Gould Anthony, with a bibliography and catalogue of his species. Occasional Papers on Mollusks, Harvard University, vol. 1, no. 8, pp. 81-108, 442. Supplement: 1954, v. 1 (18), p. 442.

Ap

Appleton, F. R.

Appleton, F.R., E.L. Winthrop, Jr. Winthrop Chanler, A.T. French. 1906. An account of travels into the interior of New Hampshire in the year 1906, including cursory observations on the geology and geography of the White hills, the natural history of such objects as were met in the animal, vegetable and mineral kingdoms, and sketches of the physical and moral characters of the various tribes inhabiting said hills, with a map constructed entirely from actual observations made in the course of the travels. Manhattan: Printed and sold at the sign of the Two-botteleers, over against the shop of the Busy Beavers, 30p. plates, map.

Appleton, Dr. John S.1809-1869
9 Jan. 1809-4 Feb. 1869; b., Salem; d., Cambridge, MA; Harvard MD, 1833;
Reptiles/fish; Gloucester

Physician in Hamilton, Gloucester, Westfield, West Newbury and Georgetown, MA (1833-1855). Assistant librarian, Massachusetts Historical Society (1855-1868).

Allen, C.H. 1869. The late John Appleton, M.D. Boston Medical and Surgical Journal, v. 81 (whole no. 2162; n.s. v. 4, no. 1), pp. 27-28.

Deane, C. Memoir of John Appleton, M.D. Proceedings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, v. 15 (1876-77), pp. 365-367. No mention of his natural history interests.

Dexter, R. W. 1977. The Essex County Natural History Society, 1833-1848. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 113, pp. 38-53 [mentioned p. 44].

Dexter, R. W. 1986. Two centuries of naturalists on Cape Ann, Massachusetts. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 122, no. 3, 246-258 [mentioned p. 247].

Archer, Allen Frost 1908-1994

Thompson, J. and M. M. Gangloff. 2004. The Allen Archer Collections at Auburn University: A Global Portrait of Terrestrial Snail Biodiversity. Abstracts – American Malacological Society, 70th Annnual Meeting, Sanibel, p. 90.

Photograph

New England shells in Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University.
Notes concerning the history and contents of the Museum of Comparative Zoölogy, by members of the staff. Cambridge, MA: Harvard College], 1936, 89 p.

Armstrong, Frank Blake 1863-1915; b, St. John, NB; d, Brownsville, TX; Ed: Medford, MA; Studied taxidermy under C. J. Maynard; Traveled in Mexico and Texas (1885-1890), then moved to Texas (1890).; AOU

Arnold

Adams, John. Statesman and friend; correspondence of John Adams with Benjamin Waterhouse, 1784-1822. Boston, Little, Brown, and Company, 1927, pp. 23-24.

At

Atherton, Edward Herbert 1856-1935
b, Still River, MA; d, Maine; Teacher

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 17].

Atkins, Charles Grandison 1841- ; b, Augusta, ME; Bowdoin, 1861; Commission of Fisheries, State of Maine, 1868

Kendall, William Converse. 1914. The fishes of Maine. Proc. Portland Soc. Nat. Hist., vol. 3, art 1, 198 pp.
Google Books version.

U. S. Fish Commissioner, Bucksport

Boardman, S. L. 1893. Agricultural Bibliography of the State of Maine, p. 23.

Who's who in New England, 1915.

Attwood, Stanley Bearce

Attwood, Stanley Bearce. 1973. The length and breadth of Maine. Orono: University of Maine (Maine studies no. 96), 279, 12, 30 p. illus. (Includes 1949 and 1953 supplements)

Attwood, Stanley Bearce. 1946. The length and breadth of Maine. [1st ed.]. Augusta, Me., Kennebec Journal Print Shop, 279 pp.

Atwater, Noah

Atwater, Noah. 1796. Natural history of the canker-worm (Paleacrita vernata). Rules and Regulations of the Massachusetts Society for Promoting Agriculture, 45-50.

Atwell, George C.

Atwell, George C. Check-list of the birds of New Hampshire. [n.p., n.d.].

Atwood, Captain Nathaniel Ellis 1807-1886; b, Provincetown, MA; Fishseller?, Manufacturer; Mass. Senate and House

Blake, J. H. 1931. Nathaniel E. Atwood. Bulletin of the Boston Society of Natural History no. 58, pp. 12-14. Portrait

Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 22, pp. 533-523, 1888,

Putnam, F. W. 1888. Obituary of N. E. Atwood, 1886. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 23, p. 337-338.

Autobiography. Pp. 149-168 in Fisheries and Fishery Industry of the United States, ed. by G. B. Goode, section 4, 1887.

Austin, Coe Finch 1831-1880
born: Finchville, NY, 20 June 1831; died: Closter, NJ, 18 March 1880
Curator, Columbia College herbarium

Collected in Coos County in 1866?

Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 35]

Austin, Oliver Luther

Publ. in Bird-Banding

Austin, Oliver Luther, Jr. 1903-1988
May 24, 1903–Dec. 31, 1988
Education: Wesleyan University; PhD, Harvard University.

Director of the Austin Ornithological Research Center in Wellfleet, Massachusetts, later Professor of Zoology, Air University, and Curator of Ornithology, Florida Museum of Natural History.

Clench, M. H. & J. W. Hardy. 1989. In memoriam: Oliver L. Austin, Jr. Auk, vol.106 (October), pp. 706-709.

Averill, Charles Ketchum, Jr. 1857-1942; b, Brooklyn, NY; d, Bridgeport, CT; Moved to Bridgeport in boyhood; Educ: Sheffield Scientific School; Civil Engineer; Birds and plants; Active in Bridgeport Scientific Society; AOU

List of Birds Found in the Vicinity of Bridgeport, Connecticut. Bridgeport, CT: Prepared for the Bridgeport Scientific Society. 1892, 19 pp.

Ayres, Philip Wheelock 1861-

Ayres, Philip Wheelock [1861- ], ed. Manual of Mount Sunapee. NY: The Knickerbocker press, 1915 viii, 40 p. front., plates, maps (1 fold.) (Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests. Sunapee branch