Music Research Guide

(Contains Grove Music Online)
Great For: authoritative entries across a wide spectrum of genres, musical topics, and people; works lists; bibliographies
Format: online with new articles added regularly

Great For: in-depth articles on musical cultures around the world
Format: online, full-text pdf of printed volumes (Seeger Room ML100 .G16 1998)

Great For: current and historical encyclopedias from a range of subject areas in historical musicology and ethnomusicology
Format: online, full-text articles; multilingual

Great For: reference works and other text resources (biographies, chronologies, lyrics, liner notes, discographies) documenting the African American experience through music
Format: online, full-text

Great For: discussions on cultural, historical and geographic origins; the music industry and political and economic circumstances; notable and influential performers; relationships to other genres. Includes the entire 33 1/3 book series and Sound Studies ebook collection.
Format: online with new articles added regularly, full-text (print edition: Aldrich Room ML102 .P66 C66 2003)

(Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart Online)
Great For: extensive coverage across the fields of music studies
Format: online; German language (print edition: Spalding Room ML100 .M92 1994)

Great For: all musical genres, with entries written by area specialists as well as the original articles by Nicolas Slonimsky.
Format: online, full-text pdfs of printed book

Great For: articles on musical genres, history, instruments, and theory.
Format: print (Loeb Music Aldrich Room: ML100 .H37 2003)

Great For: basic definitions of musical terms, with pronunciation guides
Format: online (web resource)

Great For: extensive, annotated bibliographies on a selection of subjects in musicology and ethnomusicology
Format: online

Great For: annotated bibliography on jazz history and related genres, race and gender, biography, ethnography, and jazz criticism.
Format: online