Music Research Guide

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature features a wealth of content from the early 1800s through the present with some content coverage extending back as far as the late 18th century. Updated monthly, the database includes coverage of relevant articles from more than 10,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music. RILM Abstracts of Music Literature also includes nearly 850,000 records with over 52,000 new records are added every year.

An electronic index of music publications, IIMP draws its current content from nearly 400 international music periodicals from over 30 countries, and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. This service contains publications from Acta Musicologica: Societe Internationale de Musicologie to the Music Educators Journal to Zeitschrift fuer Musikwissenschaft (1918-1935).

The Music Index Online provides citations to articles, book and record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from over 690 international music periodicals covering a wide range of historical, musicological, and ethnomusicological topics.

Includes all titles in the JSTOR collection, excluding recent issues. JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.

A multidisciplinary electronic index to the performing arts periodical literature with full text for over 100 journals. The index covers material from 1998 forward, with some retrospective listings.

Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre, 1880 – 2000##Our new digital archive is sure to receive rave reviews fromthose wanting to know more about behind-the-scenes activities of the music, film, and entertainment industries. By providing the complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, it arms students and researchers with the primary source material needed to develop a contextual understanding of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century.

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications and is searchable.

10,000 articles, interviews, and reviews from music writers, journalists, and critics, from the late 1950s to the present day from publications such as Billboard, Cashbox, Rolling Stone, Melody Maker, and many smaller local publications (city papers). Searchable by keyword, date, subject, publication, writer, artist or band; content ranges from Justin Timberlake to Johnny Cash to Bob Dylan.

Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre, 1880 – 2000##Our new digital archive is sure to receive rave reviews fromthose wanting to know more about behind-the-scenes activities of the music, film, and entertainment industries. By providing the complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, it arms students and researchers with the primary source material needed to develop a contextual understanding of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century.

http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:hul.eresource:holliswb

Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive, focused index covering publications in anthropology and related disciplines issued from the mid-19th century to the present. Social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology and archaeology (particularly prehistoric archaeology) are indexed comprehensively. Closely related fields such as folklore, material culture, human evolution, primatology, zooarchaeology, museum studies, and visual studies are all well represented.####Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes produced in two hemispheres – Anthropological Literature (AL) at Harvard University and Anthropological Index Online (AIO) at the British Museum -- both indexing many of the core anthropology publications while individually covering many lesser-known and local publications, yielding in-depth coverage of a broad array of the world’s scholarship in anthropology.

Help & Support

Arts & Humanities Citation Index, published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the database for articles that cite a known author or work.

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications and is searchable.

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.