Where to Search: Archives in the Catalog
Many, but not all, archival collections at Harvard are listed in these catalogs. Consult an archivist or curator at the collection for help finding uncataloged materials.
Use this Research Guide for Finding Manuscripts and Archival Collections for information about searching materials held at Harvard and elsewhere.
- HOLLISHarvard's main library catalog includes listings for many archival collections. Start your search here - try limiting the resource type to "archives/manuscripts."
- HOLLIS for Archival DiscoverySearch finding aids: detailed inventories of archival or manuscript collections. Use this catalog to get ONLY archives/manuscript results (not books, journal articles, etc.).
- HOLLIS ImagesVisual material from Harvard libraries, archives, museums, and other collections at the University.
Requesting Materials from Special Collections
Many of Harvard's special collections use an online request system called HOLLIS Special Request; after filling out a quick registration form, you can:
- submit requests in advance of a visit or while at the library
- track the status of each request
- access detailed information about past requests
See How to Use Harvard Library's Special Collections and Archives for more information, or register for a HOLLIS Special Request Account.
Care and Handling of Special Collections
Follow these handy guidelines to help preserve Harvard's rare materials for the future: 10 Tips for Reading Room Success.
Traveling? Use this list to help plan your trip.
- Research Travel ChecklistA list to help you plan your trip to a special collection, archive, or other repository.
