Excerpts from Senior Thesis: A Brief Style Guide
This style guide was modified from one created by Professor Suzannah Clark, for Music concentrators writing theses. Have a question about a type of source or situation not listed here? Check the Chicago Manual of Style Online or ask a librarian for more help.
FOOTNOTES
Book
First citation: Carolyn Abbate, Unsung Voices: Opera and Musical Narrative in the Nineteenth Century (Princeton University Press, 1991), 4–17. https://muse-jhu-edu.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/book/41659.
Subsequent citations: Abbate, Unsung Voices, 79.
Immediately subsequent citation: Abbate, 127. [NB: use this form only to cite the same book you cited in your previous footnote]
When you cite an ebook, include the URL, the name of the database you got it from, or the format (e.g. Kindle). Look for a DOI (digital object identifier) and use it when you can; it's a permanent URL others will be able to refer to. You don't need to include the date you accessed it. No page numbers? Refer to a chapter or section if you can, or just cite the entire work.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 13.21–26 and 14.2–62.
Translated book
First citation: Theodor W. Adorno, Beethoven: The Philosophy of Music, trans. Edmund Jephcott (Polity Press, 1998), 52.
Subsequent citations: Adorno, Beethoven, 59.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.5-7.
Edited book
First citation: Ian Bent, ed., Music Analysis in the Nineteenth Century (Cambridge University Press, 1994), 2: 99–101.
Subsequent citations: Bent, ed., Music Analysis, 2: 107.
[NB: This is a multi-volume book. In this note, you're citing something from volume 2; the material after the colon is the page number(s).]
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.9-14.10.
Review of a book
First citation: Ian Biddle, review of Music Analysis in the Nineteenth Century, ed. Ian Bent, Music and Letters 79 (1998): 123.
Subsequent citations: Biddle, Review.
First citation: Jennifer Szalai, "Toward New Ways of Looking and Listening," review of Liner Notes for the Revolution, by Daphne Brooks, New York Times, February 17, 2021, NexisUni.
Subsequent citations: Szalai, "Toward."
[NB: Book reviews may or may not have titles; the first citation is an example of how to cite a review without one; the second is a review with a unique title (note that the citation also includes the name of the database - NexisUni - that I retrieved it from).
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.100.
Article in a book
First citation: Scott Burnham, “How Music Matters: Poetic Content Revisited,” in Rethinking Music, ed. Nicholas Cook and Mark Everist (Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 1999), 193–194.
Subsequent citations: Burnham, “How Music Matters,” 193.
[If you use another chapter from the same edited book, then you cite: John Smith, “The Title of the Article,” in Cook and Everist, Rethinking Music, 25–31.]
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.8-14.12.
Article in a journal
Journal articles often list many authors. For works by two authors, list both in the bibliography and in a footnote. For three or more authors, list up to six in the bibliography; for more than six authors, list the first three, followed by “et al.” (“and others”). In a note, list only the first, followed by “et al.”
First citation: Janet Levy, “Covert and Casual Values in Recent Writings About Music,” Journal of Musicology 5, no. 1 (1987): 9, https://doi-org.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/10.2307/763822.
Subsequent citations: Levy, “Covert and Casual Values,” 10.
Immediately subsequent citation: Levy, 10. [NB: use this form only to cite the same article you cited in your previous footnote]
Observe how in the long form of the journal article, there's a colon before the page number; in the short form it's a comma.
When you cite an online article, include the URL or the name of the database you got it from. Look for a DOI (digital object identifier) and use it when you can; it's a permanent URL others will be able to refer to. You don't need to include the date you accessed it.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.67-86.
Article in Grove – old printed edition and online edition
Printed edition: Harold S. Powers, “Mode,” The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, ed. Stanley Sadie (Macmillan, 1980), 12: 412–415.
Subsequent citations: Powers, “Mode,” 12: 425.
Online edition: David D. Boyden and Peter Walls, “Chin Rest,” Grove Music Online, ed. Deane Root, accessed July 12, 2021, https://doi-org.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.05615.
Subsequent citations: Boyden and Walls, "Chin Rest."
Revised edition of a book
First citation: Charles Rosen, Sonata Forms, rev. ed. (W.W. Norton, 1988), 99.
Subsequent citations: Rosen, Sonata Forms, 23.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.15.
Book in a Series
First citation: Thomas Sipe, Beethoven: Eroica Symphony, Cambridge Music Handbooks (Cambridge University Press, 1987), iv.
Subsequent citations: Sipe, Beethoven, 99.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.25-14.28.
Recording or Video
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Piano Concerto No. 17 in G Major, K. 453, Angela Hewitt, recorded July 11–13, 2011, Hyperíon CDA67919, 2013, compact disc.
Louise Farrenc, Symphonies 1 and 3, Insula Orchestra, conducted by Laurence Equilbey, recorded March 4–6, 2021, Erato 190296698446, 2021, compact disc, Naxos Music Library.
"2021 Fromm Players at Harvard co-curated by Anne Shreffler and Miranda Cuckson," Harvard Music Department Events, April 16, 2021, video, 58:12, https://youtu.be/aFnaBp9oOpA.
Citations for recordings, videos, and other multimedia can be more variable, depending on what aspect is most important to your argument: the composer, the performer, the director, and so on. Include the label number and format if you're using a physical object like a CD or DVD; include a URL or the name of a streaming service if you're using online multimedia.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.261.
Score
Petr Eben, Happy Birthday: Praeludium für Orgel (Pro Organo, 2004).
Cite scores like books.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.155-156.
Webpage
First citation: “Style Guide,” Wikipedia, last modified October 6, 2024, 21:26 (UTC), http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Style_guide.
Subsequent citations: Wikipedia, “Style Guide.”
Citations for websites can be variable, depending on what information you're able to gather from the page.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.104.
Social Media Content
First citation: Loeb Music Library (@harvardmusiclib), “A few seasonally appropriate nursery rhymes to finish out the week! The songs in this children’s book were compiled and arranged by L.C. – that is, Lucy Crane – and illustrated by her brother, Walter Crane, and dedicated in 1878 to "The Friends of Babies, and of 'Baby's Opera,'* in England, America, & Elsewhere.",” Instagram, October 8, 2024, https://www.instagram.com/p/DAtlnzspG1J/?img_index=1.
Subsequent citations: Loeb Music Library, “A few seasonally appropriate nursery rhymes.”
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.106.
Video or Podcast
First citation: Cunningham, Maya. “The Ethnomusicology of Jazz: Freedom Sounds.” Podcast, 34:55-35:23. https://soundcloud.com/musicinculture/the-ethnomusicology-of-jazz-freedom-sounds?utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing
Subsequent citation: Cunningham, “The Ethnomusicology of Jazz,” at 7:08-56.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.167–69.
Interviews
Interviews are usually cited under the name of the interviewee rather than the interviewer.
First citation: William Robin and Kerry O’Brien, “Minimalism: a story told in 8 pulses.” Interview by Noah Caldwell, Deceptive Cadence, NPR, July 20, 2023. Audio, 8:00, https://www.npr.org/sections/deceptivecadence/2023/07/20/1188809648/interview-on-minimalism-documenting-a-musical-movement.
Subsequent citations: Robin and O’Brien, interview.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.108-14.110.
Personal Communications
Personal communications, including email and text messages and direct messages sent through social media, are usually cited in the text or in a footnote only; they are rarely included in a bibliography.
Sam Gomez, Facebook direct message to author, August 1, 2024.
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.111.
Thesis or Dissertation
Jonathan A. Gómez, ““The Way We Play”: Black American History, Humanity, and Musical Identity.” (PhD diss., Harvard University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, 2022), DASH: Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard (29327954).
For more details and examples, see CMOS 14.113.
