Online Audio and Video
Harvard subscribes to a number of streaming audio and video collections, each holding thousands of recordings.
Visit the Early Sound Recording Research Guide for early commercial sound recordings resources.
- Music and Performing Arts OnlineA family of audio and video collections, including: Classical Music Library; Classical Performance in Video, Jazz Music Library; Opera in Video; Dance in Video; American Music; Smithsonian Global Sound; Contemporary World Music; Popular Music Library; Theatre in Video
- Naxos Music LibraryClassical, world, jazz, and folk recordings, with biographical information, opera synopses and libretti, glossaries and pronunciation guides.
- Naxos Music Library: JazzJazz, blues, R&B, rock, and spoken word from Blue Note, Fantasy, Warner, Naxos Jazz and 150+ record labels.
- Naxos Music Library WorldWorld music from the catalogues of Smithsonian Folkways, ARC Music, Nonesuch, and other labels.
- DRAMA collection focused on independent label American recordings (including New World Records and CRI), with liner notes,essays, bibliographies, and discographies
- Ethnographic Sound Archives OnlineHistoric field recordings along with their supporting field notes, photographs, and related interviews.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineFilms covering every region of the world by documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides.
- Ethnomusicology: Global Field RecordingsContains over 60 field collections from ethnomusicologists, produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive.
- medici.tvA collection of classical music videos, including concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and artist profiles. Some performances are available as live webcasts and for a limited time through delayed streaming.
- Met Opera on DemandHundreds of productions from the Metropolitan Opera: Live in HD, telecasts from the 1970s-2000s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
- Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert HallStreaming interviews, documentaries, archived and live concerts.
- Qwest TVStreaming video service created by Quincy Jones. It features documentaries, concerts, archives and other content as they relate to “jazz and beyond.”
Additional Online Audio and Video
A comprehensive list of streaming resources at Harvard are listed on the Streaming Video Research Guide.
Online Resources for Music ScholarsLinks to other audio and video collections
Janus Films/Criterion CollectionIncludes 396 full-length feature films from the Criterion Collection (as of March 5, 2019).
Digital Theatre PlusIncludes full performances, rehearsal rooms, dressing room, backstage, documentaries and interviews from British theatre.
Dance in VideoCovers a wide array of dance styles, including but not limited to: ballet, tap, jazz, African, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
BroadwayHDLive streaming from Broadway from award-winning writers, directors, and actors.
Online Audio and Video Beyond Harvard
- British Library Sounds: World and Traditional MusicField and commercial recordings of musics world-wide, from the British Library's collections. Most can be played by anyone.
- EVIA Digital Archive: Ethnomusicological Video for Instruction and AnalysisA digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Requires free registration to view video.
- The National Jukebox (Library of Congress)Over 10,000 Victor Records recordings made from 1901-1925: jazz, popular music, novelty recordings, opera, political speeches, and sound effects
- Folkstreams: A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots CulturesA streaming collection of documentary films about American folk or roots cultures. Some films are accompanied by transcriptions, essays, and other contextual material.