Master in Design Engineering (MDE) Resources
Two schools at Harvard University - the John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS) and the Graduate School of Design (GSD) - have developed the collaborative MDE program which seeks to foster and develop the next generation of leaders with a broad understanding of complex systems that transcend disciplinary boundaries while firmly rooted in critical thinking and innovative design.
Recommended News Sources
Harvard Library provides free personal accounts for the following newspapers. To set up your individual account or seek assistance please refer to the links provided:
Bloomberg.com – Available by following the instructions provided by the HBS Baker Library.
Financial Times - Register for a "premium" account for the FT.com website by clicking on the link and using your Harvard e-mail address. After the initial registration process, you can use your ID and password to access the FT.com website directly. If you need to re-register, follow the link but then click the Sign In button instead of filling out the registration form.
New York Times – Click on the blue link to Claim Your Account. Please use your official Harvard email address and refer to this page if you have any problems creating an account. For those who already pay for the NYT, there are instructions on how to change it to a free Harvard account.
Wall Street Journal – Click on the link that says sign up for a free personal WSJ.com account. This page includes contacting the Wall Street Journal directly if you encounter any problems setting up your account or would like to cancel your personal paid subscription.
Washington Post – This page provides directions on how to set up your own free account and includes the number for the Washington Post customer care line if you have any trouble logging in.
Below are direct links to the Harvard Library catalog record for the following titles:
- Atlantic Monthly - I recommend scrolling down and clicking the EBSCOHOST ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER link. This database offers full-text access from 1993 to the present. Note: using the default online access button will limit full-text availability to 2021.
- Bloomberg BusinessweekClick on the blue Online Access button
- The EconomistClick on the blue Online Access button
- Financial TimesClick on the blue Online Access button
- New YorkerClick on the blue Online Access button
- New York Times – Click on the blue Online Access button; full text from 1996 to the present
How to Find Specific Journals, Newspapers, or Magazines Titles
To search for a specific newspaper, journal, or magazine title I recommend using the HOLLIS journal search tool. Some titles will have several options, it’s best to look at the years covered to be sure you’re using the optimal database.
Explore Additional Resources
- News & Media Studies – Explore our comprehensive collection of news and media studies available at the HKS.
- Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes – Extensive newspaper resources prepared by the History Librarian, Fred Burchsted.
If you have any questions about library resources or require further assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to one of our knowledgeable librarians or contact me directly at firstname.lastname@example.org.