Reference Sources
A companion to American Indian history, ed. by Philip J. Deloria and Neal Salisbury. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 2002, 513 p.
HOLLIS Record
Online Version
Internet Archive full text
Handbook of North American Indians, ed. by William C. Sturtevant. Washington: Smithsonian Institution, 1978-2008. 17 vols.
HOLLIS Records
Internet Archive full text: Vol. 5 Arctic -- Vol. 8 California -- Vol. 9 Southwest (Another copy) -- Vol. 10 Southwest -- Vol. 11 Great Basin
Encyclopedia of Native American history, ed. by Peter C. Mancall. 3 v. NY : Facts On File, 2011
Internet Archive full text
Handbook of the American frontier: four centuries of Indian-White relationships, by J. Norman Heard. 5 v. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1987-1998.
-- v. 1. The southeastern woodlands -- Internet Archive full text
-- v. 2. The northeastern woodlands -- Internet Archive full text
-- v. 3. The great plains -- Internet Archive full text
-- v.4. The far west
-- v.5. Chronology, bibliography, index
Print version:
Tozzer REF E76.2 .H43
Widener WID-LC E76.2 .H43 1987
Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes, ed. by Sharon Malinowski and Anna Sheets. Detroit: Gale, 4 v. 1998.
HOLLIS Record
- Vol. 1, Northeast, Southeast, Caribbean -- Internet Archive full text -- Another copy
- 2. Great Basin, Southwest, Middle America -- Internet Archive full text
- 3. Arctic, Subarctic, Great Plains, Plateau -- Internet Archive full text -- Another copy
- 4. California, Pacific Northwest, Pacific Islands -- Internet Archive full text -- Another copy
The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas. Cambridge, England; NY: Cambridge University Press, 1996-2000. 3 v. in 6
HOLLIS Records
The Columbia guide to American Indians of the Northeast, by Kathleen J. Bragdon. NY: Columbia University Press, 2001, 292 p.
HOLLIS Record (print only)
Internet Archive full text
The Columbia guide to American Indians of the Southwest, by Trudy Griffin-Pierce. New York : Columbia University Press, 2010, 284 p.
HOLLIS Record (print only)
The Columbia guide to American Indians of the Southeast, by Theda Perdue and Michael D. Green. New York : Columbia University Press, 2001, 325 p.
HOLLIS Record (print only)
Internet Archive full text -- Another copy
The Columbia guide to American Indians of the Great Plains, by Loretta Fowler. NY: Columbia University Press, 2003, 283 p
HOLLIS Record with online access
Internet Archive full text
Encyclopedia of the Great Plains
Many web sources are listed in:
- Indians/Native Americans (National Archives)
- History: Native American (University of Washington)
- Native American Web Sites
- Native American Sites