Dictionaries and Glossaries of Art Terms

‘Isa, Ahmad Muhammad. Islamic Art Terms (Lexicon, Explained and Illustrated). Istanbul, 1994. (RFA 195.4.3)

Petersen, Andrew Dictionary of Islamic Architecture. London, 1996. (RFA 270.69.1)

This dictionary is also available and searchable online via Archnet.

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture. Ed. Moya Carey. London, 2010. (FAL-LC N6260.I42 2010)

The Islamic Art Network. Technical Glossary [online].

Dictionnaire des arts de l'islam. Ed. Jean-Paul Roux.  Paris, 2007. (RFA 271.77)

The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture. 3 vols. Oxford, 2009. (RFA 270.33)

Includes the entries on Islamic art and architecture from Grove Art Online.

Bahnassi, Afif. Mu‘jam al-‘imārah wa-al-fann = Dictionary of Architecture and Arts. Beirut, 1995. (RFA 180.6)

Arabic-English/English-Arabic, with an added index in French.

Ghālib, 'Abd al-Raḥīm. Mawsu‘at al-‘imārah al-Islāmīyah: ‘Arabī-Faransī-Inkilīzī = Encyclopédie de l'architecture islamique: arabe-français-anglais. Beirut, 1988. (WID-LC MidEast NA380.G441988)

Amin, M.M., & Ibrahim, L.A. Musṭalaḥāt al-mi‘mārīyah fī-al-wathā'iq al-Mamlūkīyah (648-923 H. /1250-1517 M.) = Architectural Terms in Mamluk Documents (623-913 A.H./1250-1517 A.D.). Cairo, 1990. (FA 2010.460.3)

Martínez N., Fernando, & Hamurabi F. Noufouri. El diccionario del alarife, quinientos años después: recopilación comentada de vocablos de la lengua española de origen árabe, referentes a la arquitectura y sus artes afines. Buenos Aires, 1994. (RFA271.53)

Marzbān, P. & Marouf, H. An Illustrated Glossary of Visual Arts (Architecture, Sculpture, Painting): English-Persian, Persian-English. = Vāzhah'nāmah-i muṣavvar-i hunarhā-yi tajassumī (mi‘mārī, paykarah sāzī, naqqāshi). Tehran, 1986. (RFA 197.53.1)

Sözen, Metin & Tanyeli, Uǧur. Sanat kavram ve terimleri sözlüǧü: resim, heykel, mimarlık, geleneksel Türk sanatlari, uygulamalı sanatlar ve genel sanat kavramları. Istanbul, 1986. (RFA 198.82.1)

An illustrated dictionary of Turkish terminology for the fine arts, traditional arts and applied arts.

[Arseven], Celâl Esad. Fransızcadan Türkçeye ve Türkçeden Fransızcaya sanat kamusu = Dictionnaire des termes d’art Français-Turc, Turc-Français. Constantinople, 1924. (Widener: 2226.63.10)

The first modern (Ottoman) Turkish dictionary of art terminology.

Arseven, Celâl Esad. Istılâhât-ı mimariye. İstanbul, 1324 [1906].

The first modern (Ottoman) Turkish dictionary of architectural terms; available online.

Modern Turkish translation: Istılâhât–ı Mi'mâriyye: 
Osmanlı Dönemi Mimarlık Sözlüğü. Istanbul, 2017. (FAL-LC NA31 .A773 2017)
 

Sönmez, Neslihan. Osmanli dönemi yapı ve malzeme terimleri sözlüğü. Istanbul, 1997. (RFA 1235.61.82)

Ottoman terms related to construction and building materials.

Cafer Efendi. Risale-i Mimariyye: An Early-Seventeenth-Century Ottoman Treatise on Architecture. Ed. & transl. by H. Crane. Leiden & New York, 1987. (FA 1905.665.1)

Important primary source; includes a glossary of architectural terms.

Subject Guide

Andras Riedlmayer's picture
Andras Riedlmayer
Contact:
Aga Khan Program
Fine Arts Library
Harvard University
1805 Cambridge Street
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
617-495-3372
Website