Rugs & Textiles

Textile Museum (Washington, D.C.). Rug and Textile Arts: A Periodical Index, 1890-1982. Boston, 1983. (RFA 1004.4)

International Directory of Textile Collections (electronic resource)

Textile Arts of the Islamic World: Working Bibliographies. (electronic resource)

Compiled by the curators at the Textile Museum (Washington D.C.)

O'Bannon, George W. Oriental Rugs: A Bibliography. Metuchen NJ, 1994. (RFA 1039.60)

Folsach, Kjeld von. Woven Treasures: Textiles from the World of Islam. Copenhagen, 1993. (AM 316.148.1)

Spuhler, Friedrich. Islamic Carpets and Textiles in the Keir Collection. London, 1978. (FA 7368.40.440)

Entlang der Seidenstrasse: Frühmittelalterliche Kunst zwischen Persien und China in der Abegg-Stiftung. Ed. Karel Otavsky; with contributions by Sheila Blair et al. Riggisberg, 1998. (Fine Arts Fogg 46 B517a 1998) - [In German and English]

Sokoly, Jochen A. Ṭirāz Textiles from Egypt: Production, Administration and Uses of Ṭirāz Textiles from Egypt under the Umayyad, ‘Abbāsid and Fāṭimid Dynasties. Thesis (doctoral), University of Oxford, 2002. 5 vols. (Fine Arts MicColl Microfilm 155)

Carpets and Textiles in the Iranian World 1400-1700: Proceedings of the Conference Held at the Ashmolean Museum on 30-31 August 2003. Ed. by Jon Thompson, Daniel Shaffer and Pirjetta Mildh. Oxford, 2010. (FAL-LC NK2809.P4 I58 2003)

Woven from the Soul, Spun from the Heart: Textile Arts of Safavid and Qajar Iran, 16th-19th Centuries. Ed. by Carol Bier. Washington, D.C., 1987. (FA 7368.47.460.1)

Atasoy, Nurhan. İpek: Imperial Ottoman Silks and Velvets. London, 2001. (FA 7368.41.301.26 Folio)

Silks for the Sultans: Ottoman Imperial Garments from Topkapi Palace. Ed. Ahmet Ertuğ; with essays by Patricia Baker, Hülya Tezcan and Jennifer Wearden. Istanbul, 1996. (Fine Arts Fogg 47 C75tc 1996 Folio)

Schick, İrvin Cemil. "Some Islamic Determinants of Dress and Personal Appearance in Southwest Asia," Khilʻa: Journal for Dress and Textiles of the Islamic World 3 (2007-2009), pp. 25-53. (FA 11.182); also available online.

Edwards, A. Cecil. The Persian Carpet: A Survey of the Carpet-weaving Industry of Persia. London, 1953. (FA 1085.34)

Tanavoli, Parviz. Persian Flatweaves: A Survey of Flatwoven Floor Covers and Hangings and Royal Masnads. Woodbridge, 2002. (FA 7479.47.610)

Balpınar, Belkıs, and Udo Hirsch. Flatweaves of the Vakıflar Museum Istanbul = Flachgewebe des Vakıflar-Museums Istanbul. Wesel, 1982. (FA 7479.41.301.14.2)

Turkish Carpets from the 13th-18th Centuries: Rare Carpets Selected from the Collections of Museum of Turkish and Islamic Arts, Istanbul, Vakıflar Carpet Museum, Istanbul, State Museums of Berlin-Museum of Islamic Arts, Budapest Museum of Applied Arts, Konya Mevlana Museum, Heinrich Kirchheim, together with paintings from State Museums of Berlin - National Gallery, Warsaw National Museum, The National Gallery, London. Essays by Nazan Ölçer [et al.]. Istanbul, 1996. (FA 7479.41.460.12 Folio)

Pásztor, Emese. Ottoman Turkish Carpets in the Collection of the Budapest Museum of Applied Arts. Budapest, 2007. (FAL-LC NK 2865.A1 P37 2007)

Spuhler, Friedrich. Oriental Carpets in the Museum of Islamic Art, Berlin. Washington, D.C., 1987. (FA7479.1.301.33.2)

Subject specialist

Andras Riedlmayer's picture
Andras Riedlmayer
Contact:
Aga Khan Program
Fine Arts Library
Harvard University
1805 Cambridge Street
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
617-495-3372
Website