Islamic Art of India & South Asia

ABIA - Index of South and Southeast Asian Art and Archeology
ABIA is an online bibliography of work published since 1928 on South and Southeast Asian archaeology, art, crafts and architecture (from early to contemporary), inscriptions and palaeography, coins and seals.

Bibliography of Indian Art, History & Archaeology, I.: Indian Art, ed. by Jagdish Chandra. Delhi, 1978. (RFA 285.74)

Separate sections on architecture, painting, handicrafts include subheadings such as: Indo-Islamic Forts & Palaces, Mughal Painting, etc.

Shokoohy Mehrdad. Bhadreśvar: The Oldest Islamic Monuments in India. Leiden, 1988. (FA 1865.209.300)

Merklinger, Elizabeth. Sultanate Architecture of Pre-Mughal India. New Delhi, 2005. (FAL-LC NA 1502.M47 2005)

Hasan, Perween. Sultans and Mosques: The Early Muslim Architecture of Bangladesh. New York, 2007. (FAL-LC NA1510.8.B3 H37 2007)

The Islamic Heritage of Bengal. Ed. by George Michell. Paris, 1984. (FA1865.203.8)

Porter, Yves. The Glory of the Sultans: Islamic Architecture in India. Paris, 2009. (FAL-LC NA380 .P67 2009)

Keller, Sara. Le Miroir du Gujarāt: Les monuments islamiques de la cité d'Ahmedabad (Inde, XVe-XVIIIe s.): étude archéologique. Paris, 2009. (Fine Arts MicColl Microfiche 145)

Architecture at Ahmedabad, the Capital of Goozerat. Photographed by Colonel Biggs, R. A.;
with an historical and descriptive sketch by Theodore C. Hope, and architectural notes by
James Fergusson. London, 1866. (FAL-LC XCAGE NA1508.A3 H7 1866). Also available online

Asher, Catherine. Architecture of Mughal India. Cambridge, 1992. (FA 1864.601.35)

Koch, Ebba. Mughal Architecture: An Outline of Its History and Development (1526-1858). Munich, 1991. (FA 1864.601.31)

Blake, Stephen. Shahjahanabad: The Sovereign City in Mughal India, 1639-1739.
Cambridge, 1991. (WID-LC DS486.D3 B55 1990)

Koch, Ebba. The Complete Taj Mahal and the Riverfront Gardens of Agra. London, 2006. (Loeb Design NA6183 .K63 2006)

Koch, Ebba. Mughal Art and Imperial Ideology: Collected Essays. New Delhi, 2001. (FA 1864.601.39)

Three Empires of Islam: Istanbul, Isfahan, Delhi: Masterpieces of the Louvre collection. Ed. S.Makariou, C.Maury. Valencia, 2008. (FAL-LC NK 1038.T7413 2008)

Merklinger, Elizabeth. Indian Islamic Architecture: The Deccan, 1347-1686. Warminster, 1981. (FA 1865.319.2)

Michell, George & Helen Philon.  Islamic Architecture of Deccan India. London, 2018. (FAL-LC NA1507.D38 M53 2018 Folio)

Golconda and Hyderabad, ed. by Shehbaz H. Safrani. Bombay, 1992. (WID-LC N7307.G6 G65 1992x)

Michell, George & Mark Zebrowski. Architecture and Art of the Deccan Sultanates. Cambridge, 1999. (FA 485.571.8)

Hutton, Deborah. Art of the Court of Bijapur. Bloomington, 2006. (FAL-LC N7308.B55 H88 2006)

Pande, A. & S. Kumari. The Heritage of Haider Ali and Tipu Sultan: Art and Architecture. New Delhi, 2012. (FAL-LC N7308.K37 P36 2012)

Shokoohy, Mehrdad. Muslim Architecture of South India: The Sultanate of Ma'bar and the Traditions of the Maritime Settlers on the Malabar and Coromandel Coasts (Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Goa). London, 2003. (FAL-LC NA1507.M35 S55 2003)

Markel, Stephen. India's Fabled City: The Art of Courtly Lucknow. Los Angeles, 2010. (FAL-LC N7308.L83 M37 2010)

Lucknow: City of Illusion. Ed. by Rosie Llewellyn-Jones. New York, 2006. (FAL-LC NA1508.L83 L83 2006)

Allan, James W. The Art and Architecture of Twelver Shiʻism: Iraq, Iran and the Indian Sub-continent. London, 2012. (FAL-LC N6260 .A387 2012)

Muslim Shrines in India: Their Character, History and Significance. Ed. by C.W. Troll. New Delhi, 2003. (FA 1868.52.5)

Saeed, Yousuf. Muslim Devotional Art in India. New Delhi, 2012. (FAL-LC N7304.S23 2012)

Elizabeth Schotten Merklinger Collection of images of India. [Fine Arts Library]. 6,600 photographs and slides of Islamic architecture in northern India and the Deccan.

Losty, Jeremiah P. The Art of the Book in India. London, 1982. (FA 3463.64)

Leach, Linda York. Paintings from India. London, 1998. (The Nasser D. Khalili Collection of Islamic Art, 8.) (AM345.114.1 (8)F)

Leach, Linda York. Mughal and Other Indian Paintings from the Chester Beatty Library.
London, 1995. (Fogg 48 D81c 1995)

Wright, Elaine. Muraqqa': Imperial Mughal Albums from the Chester Beatty Library, Dublin. Alexandria, Va., 2008. (FAL-LC ND3247 .W75 2008)

Titley, Norah. Miniatures from Persian Manuscripts: A Catalogue and Subject Index of Paintings from Persia, India and Turkey in the British Library and the British Museum. London, 1977. (Fogg 56L84bo)

A guide to one of the world's major collections; the subject indexes are invaluable for iconographic research.

Rogers, J.M. Mughal Miniatures. New York, 1993. (FA 3464.601.133)

Intercultural Encounter in Mughal Miniatures: Mughal-Christian Miniatures. Ed. by Khalid Anis Ahmed. Lahore, 1995. (FA 3464.601.141)

Verma, Som Prakash. Mughal Painters and Their Works: A Biographical Survey and Comprehensive Catalogue. Delhi, 1994. (RFA 1335.74.90)

For Mughal artists see also: Karīmzādah Tabrīzī's biographical dictionary of painters, listed under Persian art.

Subject specialist

Andras Riedlmayer's picture
Andras Riedlmayer
Contact:
Aga Khan Program
Fine Arts Library
Harvard University
1805 Cambridge Street
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
617-495-3372
Website