Interactions between Islamic Art and Western Art & Architecture

The Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive focused on Western interactions with the Middle East, in the 19th & early 20th centuries. It has electronic texts such as travel guides, museum catalogs, and travel narratives, photographic and hand-drawn images of Egypt, historical maps, and interactive GIS maps of Egypt and Cyprus.

Peltre, Christine. Orientalism in Art. New York, 1998. (FA 607.74.14 Folio)

Orientalist Aesthetics: Art, Colonialism, and French North Africa, 1880-1930. Berkeley, 2003. (FA 3928.121.8)

L'Orientalisme, les orientalistes et l'Empire ottoman de la fin du XVIIIe siècle à la fin du XXe siècle. Ed. S. Basch. Paris, 2011. (WID-LC DS61.85 .O753 2011x)

The Lure of the East: British Orientalist Painting. Ed. by Nicholas Tromans. New Haven, 2008. (FAL-LC ND1460.E95 L87 2008)

Edwards, Holly. Noble Dreams, Wicked Pleasures: Orientalism in America, 1870-1930. Princeton NJ, 2000. (FA 919.701.65)

Schick, İrvin Cemil. The Erotic Margin: Sexuality and Spatiality in Alteritist Discourse. New York, 1999. (WID-LC HQ21 .S315 1999)

Alloula, Malek. Le Harem colonial: images d'un sous-érotisme. Paris, 1981. (FA 10143.30.4)

Jacobson, Ken. Odalisques & Arabesques: Orientalist Photography 1839-1925. London, 2007. (FAL-LC TR113.5.J33 2007)

Graham-Brown, Sarah. Images of Women: The Portrayal of Women in Photography of the Middle East, 1860-1950. New York, 1988. (FA 10143.30.6)

Photography's Orientalism: New Essays on Colonial Representation. Ed. by Ali Behdad & Luke Gartlan. Los Angeles, 2013. (FAL-LC NX650.E85 P49 2013)

Orientalism's Interlocutors: Painting, Architecture, Photography. Ed. J. Beaulieu & M.Roberts. Durham, 2002. (FA 607.164)

Çelik, Zeynep. Displaying the Orient: Architecture of Islam at Nineteenth-Century World's Fairs. Berkeley, 1992. (FA1718.37), also available online

L'Orientalisme architectural entre imaginaires et savoirs. Ed. Nabila Oulebsir & Mercedes Volait. Paris, 2009. (Loeb Design: NA957.5 .O75 O75 2009)

Exotische Welten, europäische Phantasien. Ed. H. Pollig. Stuttgart, 1987. (FA 607.74)

With many illustrations & an extensive bibliography on exoticism in Western art and architecture.

Conner, Patrick. Oriental Architecture in the West. London, 1979. (FA 2999.145.61)

Beauthéac, N., & F.-X. Bouchart. L'Europe exotique. Paris, 1985. (FA 2107.36)

Koppelkamm, Stefan. Der imaginäre Orient: Exotische Bauten des achtzehnten und neunzehnten Jahrhunderts in Europa. Berlin, 1987. (FA 2107.36.2)

Miyake, Riichi. Fin-de-siècle Architecture, v. 3: Stile Liberty and Orientalism. Tokyo, 1983. (FA 2106.701.14 F v. 3)

Hammadi, Rodolphe. Paris arabesques: architectures et décors arabes et orientalisants à Paris. Paris, 1988. (FA 2255.1.67 Folio)

Venise et l'Orient, 828-1797. Ed. Stefano Carboni. Paris, 2006. (FAL-LC NK961.V5 V46 2006)

Arte veneziana e arte islamica: atti del primo Simposio internazionale sull'arte veneziana e l'arte islamica. Ed. Ernst J.Grube. Venice, 1990. (FA 706.1.174)

Shalem, Avinoam. Islam Christianized: Islamic Portable Objects in the Medieval Church Treasuries of the Latin West. New York, 1996. (FA 6569.5)

Europa und der Orient, 800-1900. Ed. G. Sievernich & H. Budde. Gütersloh, 1989. (FA 607.74.4)

A massive exhibition catalog, with substantial essays, useful illustrations & extensive bibliography.

The Turk and Islam in the Western Eye, 1450-1750: Visual Imagery before Orientalism. Ed. James G. Harper. Farnham, Surrey, 2011. (FAL-LC N8255.T87 H37 2011)

Avcıoğlu, Nebahat. Turquerie and the Politics of Representation, 1728-1876. Farnham, Surrey, 2011. (FAL-LC NA956.A93 2011)

L'Orientalisme architectural: entre imaginaires et savoirs. Ed. Nabila Oulebsir & Mercedes Volait. Paris, 2009. (Loeb Design NA957.5.O75 O75 2009)

Kroll, Frank-Lothar. Das Ornament in der Kunsttheorie des 19. Jahrhunderts. Hildesheim, 1987. (FA 1741.21

An anthology of 19th-c. texts on the idea of the arabesque and Islamic ornament in European art theory.

Morris, Jan. Stones of Empire: The Buildings of the Raj. 2nd ed. Oxford, 2005. (FAL-LC NA1502 .M67 2005)

Vaillat, Léandre. Le visage français du Maroc. Paris, 1931. (FA 2002.480.1)

Le Caire-Alexandrie: architectures européennes, 1850-1950. Ed. Mercedes Volait.  Cairo, 2001. (FA 2010.546.119)

Scharabi, M. Kairo: Stadt und Architektur im Zeitalter des europäischen Kolonialismus. Tübingen, 1989. (FA 2010.546.67)

Photographic catalogue of colonial-era architecture in Cairo (19th & early 20th c.)

Çelik, Zeynep. The Remaking of Istanbul: Portrait of an Ottoman City in the Nineteenth Century. Seattle, 1986. (FA2999.41.541.3.2)

Vernoit, Stephen. Occidentalism: Islamic Art in the 19th Century. New York, 1997. (The Nasser D. Khalili Collection of Islamic Art, 23.) (Fine Arts AM 345.114.1 (23) Folio)

Islamic Art in the 19th Century: Tradition, Innovation, and Eclecticism. Ed. by Doris Behrens-Abouseif and Stephen Vernoit. Leiden, 2006. (FAL-LC N6260.I828 2006)

Shaw, Wendy. Ottoman Painting: Reflections of Western Art from the Ottoman Empire to the Turkish Republic. London, 2011. (FAL-LC ND867 .S5 2011)

Edgü, Ferit. 20 Modern Turkish Artists of the XXth Century, 1940-2000 : Papko/Öner Kocabeyoğlu Collection. Istanbul, 2011. 3 vols. (FAL-LC N7168 .T74 2011)

Ali, Wijdan. Modern Islamic Art: Development and Continuity. Gainesville, 1997. (FA 376.29.2)

Porter, Venetia. Word into Art: Artists of the Modern Middle East. London, 2006. (FAL-LC N7625.P67 2006)

Eigner, Saeb. Art of the Middle East: Modern and Contemporary Art of the Arab World and Iran. London, 2010. (FAL-LC N7265.E44 2010)

Alaoui, Brahim. Perspective on Contemporary Arab Art: The Kinda Foundation Collection. Paris, 2002. (FA 329.275.1)

McKenna, Caitlin. Between Word and Image in Modern Iranian Culture: A bibliography (online)

Unedited history: séquences du moderne en Iran des années 1960 à nos jours: Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Arc, 16 mai-24 août 2014. Ed. Hélène Studievic. Paris, 2014. (FAL-LC N7285 .U54 2014

Iran Modern. Ed. by F. Daftari & L. Diba. New York, 2013. (FAL-LC NX574.A1 I73 2013)

Picturing Iran: Art, Society and Revolution. Ed. Shiva Balaghi & Lynn Gumpert. London, 2002. (FAL-LC N7285 .P53 2002)

Abedini, Reza & Hans Wolbers. New Visual Culture of Modern Iran: Graphic Design, Illustration, PhotographyAmsterdam, 2006. (FAL-LC N7285.6 .A23 2006)

H-AMCA – H-Net discussion network on modern and contemporary art from the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey.

Subject specialist

Andras Riedlmayer's picture
Andras Riedlmayer
Contact:
Aga Khan Program
Fine Arts Library
Harvard University
1805 Cambridge Street
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
617-495-3372
Website