Islamic Art of Central Asia

Bibliography of Islamic Central Asia, ed. by Yuri Bregel. Bloomington, 1995. 3 vols. (RFA 10.7.100)

See esp. part 3: Archeology, numismatics, architecture, visual arts, epigraphy, historical geography.

Annotated Bibliography of Afghanistan, ed. M.J. Hanifi & D. Wilber. 4th rev. ed. New Haven, Ct., 1982. (RFA 285.21.36)

See esp. pp. 439-496: "Art and Archaeology"

Ball, Warwick. The Monuments of Afghanistan: History, Archaeology and Architecture. London, 2008. (FAL-LC DS 353.B36 2008)

Bibliographisches Handbuch der Turkologie: Eine Bibliographie der Bibliographien vom 18. Jahrhundert bis 1979. Ed. György Hazai & B. Kellner-Heinkele. Wiesbaden, 1986– (RFA 10.61)

A classified listing of specialized bibliographies on the Turkic peoples of Central Asia, Turkey and Iran; see esp.: "Archäologie, Anthropologie, Numismatik, Kunstgeschichte," (pp. 509ff).

Sovetskaia arkheologicheskaia literatura: bibliograficheskii ukazatel' = Archéologie soviétique: index bibliographique. Leningrad, 1965-[1991]. (Tozzer REF GN 823.Z99 S6; Widener Arc 340.25)

Cumulative bibliography of Soviet publications on archaeology 1918–1991; tables of contents also in French; a key resource for Central Asia, Afghanistan, Iran, the Caucasus, Crimea, and European Russia; for more recent work on Central Asia, consult Yuri Bregel, Bibliography of Islamic Central Asia (see above).

Russkaia arkheologicheskaia literatura: bibliograficheskiĭ ukazatel', 1900-1917. Compiled by T.N. Zadneprovskaia. Saint Petersburg, 2003. (Tozzer REF GN 823.Z99 S6 Suppl.)

A supplement covering Russian archaeological publications of the early 20th c.

The Art of Central Asia. Ed. G. Pugachenkova & Akbar Khakimov. Leningrad, 1988. (FA 474.301.22 Folio)

Short, well-illustrated survey of Central Asian art, with a focus on architecture.

Turks: A Journey of a Thousand Years, 600-1600. Ed. by David J. Roxburgh. London, 2005. (FAL-LC N 761.T87 2005)

Catalogue of a major exhibition of Turkish art, from Central Asia to the Ottoman Empire.

Cohn-Wiener, Ernst. Turan: Islamische Baukunst in Mittelasien. Berlin, 1930. (FA 1925.12 Folio)

Illustrated survey of Islamic monuments in Central Asia, based on fieldwork in 1924-25.

Altun, Ara. An Outline of Turkish Architecture in the Middle Ages. Istanbul, 1990. (FA 1904.440.20)

A concise survey of the major monuments in Central Asia and in pre-Ottoman Anatolia.

Brandenburg, D. Die Seldschuken: Baukunst des Islam in Persien und Turkmenien. Graz, 1980. (FA 1924.401.2)

Golombek, Lisa, and Donald Wilber. The Timurid Architecture of Iran and Turan. Princeton, 1988. (FA 1924.601.2)

O'Kane, Bernard. Timurid Architecture in Khurasan. Costa Mesa, Calf., 1987. (FA 1925.482.3)

Lentz, Thomas W., and Glenn D. Lowry. Timur and the Princely Vision: Persian Art and Culture in the Fifteenth Century. Washington, 1989. (FA 500.460.7)

Timurid Art and Culture: Iran and Central Asia in the Fifteenth Century. Ed. by Lisa Golombek and Maria Subtelny. Leiden, 1992. (FA 500.460.7.5)

Allen, Terry. Timurid Herat. Wiesbaden, 1983. (FA 1852.628.4)

Porter, Yves. Tombs of Paradise: The Shah-e Zende in Samarkand and Architectural Ceramics of Central Asia. Saint-Rémy-en-l'Eau, 2003. (FAL-LC NA5998.S26 S6813 2003)

A Century of Princes: Sources on Timurid History and Art, selected and translated by Wheeler M. Thackston. Cambridge, 1989. (FA 500.460.5)

A sourcebook of Timurid-era primary sources on history and the arts, translated from Persian & Chagatay Turkish; includes Timurid genealogical charts, maps and a glossary. Also available in digital format on Archnet.

Frye, Richard Nelson. Bukhara, the Medieval Achievement. Costa Mesa, Calif., 1996. (WID-LC DK876 .F7 1996x)

Bukhara, the Eastern Dome of Islam: Urban Development, Urban Space, Architecture and Population. A.Gangler, H.Gaube, A.Petruccioli. Stuttgart, 2004. (FA 1846.544.12)

Turkestan Album - Turkestanskii Al'bom. -- More than 1,200 photographs, architectural plans, watercolor drawings, and maps of Central Asia, assembled in 1871-72 at the order of Gen. Konstantin Petrovich von Kaufman, the first Russian colonial governor of Turkestan. The original albums are held by the Library of Congress, which has digitized all the images and has made then available online.  

Mazar: Studies on Islamic Sacred Sites in Central Eurasia. Ed. by Sugawara Jun and Rahile Dawut. Tokyo, 2016. (FAL-LC BP187.55.E83 M39 2016)

Muslim Saints and Mausoleums in Central Asia and Xinjiang. Ed. by Shinmen Yasushi. Paris, 2013. (WID-LC BP187.55.A783 I58 2005)

Loubes, Jean-Paul. Architecture et urbanisme de Turfan: une oasis du Turkestan chinois. Paris, 1998. (FA 1785.852.1)

Subject specialist

Andras Riedlmayer's picture
Andras Riedlmayer
Contact:
Aga Khan Program
Fine Arts Library
Harvard University
1805 Cambridge Street
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
617-495-3372
Website