Egypt, Syria, Iraq, and the Arab East

EGYPT

Creswell, K.A.C. The Muslim Architecture of Egypt. 2 vols. New York, 1979. (FA2010.440.4 F)

The Mosques of Egypt from 21 H. (641) to 1365 H. (1946); being a series of views in colour and monochrome of the principal mosques of Egypt with a brief note on each monument, describing its history and architectural features, accompanied by detailed plans and maps. 2 vols. Giza, 1949. (Fine Arts  X2018 E32m PF)

Photo Archive: Islamic Monuments of Cairo. The Islamic Art Network - [online]

Creswell's Cairo: Then and Now. The Islamic Art Network - [online exhibition]

The Monumental Inscriptions of Historic Cairo database. Launched in 2017, the database currently includes 3271 inscriptions from 509 monuments, 3395 bibliographic references from 63 bibliographic items, 12,107 photographs and 1425 drawings, all searchable in English or Arabic.

The World of the Fatimids. Ed. by A.S. Melikian-Chirvani. Toronto, 2018. (FAL-LC NK720 .W67 2018)

Contadini, Anna. Fatimid Art at the Victoria and Albert Museum. London, 1998. (FA 555.450.2)

L'Egypte fatimide: son art et son histoire. Ed. Marianne Barrucand. Paris, 1999. (FA 555.450.8)

Schätze der Kalifen: Islamische Kunst zur Fatimidenzeit. Ed. W. Seipel. Wien, 1998. (FA 555.450.6)

L'Orient de Saladin: l'art des Ayyoubides. Ed. Sophie Makariou. Paris, 2001. (FA 555.450.10)

Korn, Lorenz. Ayyubidische Architektur in Ägypten und Syrien: Bautätigkeit im Kontext von Politik und Gesellschaft 564-658/1169-1260. Tübingen, 1999. 3 vols. (FA 2010.450.3)

Catalogue of Ayyubid monuments in Egypt and Syria.

Rabbat, Nasser. The Citadel of Cairo: A New Interpretation of Royal Mamluk Architecture. Leiden, 1995. (FA 2010.546.73.6)

Behrens-Abouseif, Doris. Cairo of the Mamluks: A History of the Architecture and its Culture. London, 2007. (FAL-LC NA 1583.B44 2007)

Meinecke, Michael. Die mamlukische Architektur in Ägypten und Syrien (648/1250 bis 923/1517). 2 vols. Glückstadt, 1992. (FA 2010.460.5)

Behrens-Abouseif, Doris. Practising Diplomacy in the Mamluk Sultanate: Gifts and Material Culture in the Medieval Islamic World. London, 2014. (WID-LC DT 96.B447 2014x)

Haldane, Duncan. Mamluk Painting. Warminster, 1978. (FA 3620.460)

James, David. Qurʾāns of the Mamlūks. New York, 1988. (FA 3318.17)  

The Baybars Qur'an. An online facsimile of the 7-volume illuminated Qur'an made for the Mamluk Sultan Baybars in 1304-1306, now held by the British Library.  

Atıl, Esin. Renaissance of Islam: Art of the Mamluks. Washington, DC, 1981. (FA 500.460.1)

Mayer, L.A. Saracenic Heraldry: A Survey. Oxford, 1933. (FA 376.5)

On the Mamluk art and achitecture of Egypt, Palestine and Syria, see also: Mamluk Bibliography Online.

THE LEVANT (PALESTINE, JORDAN, LEBANON, SYRIA)

Sadek, Mohamed-Moain. Die mamlukische Architektur der Stadt Gaza. Berlin, 1991. (WID-LC NA1478.G38 S34 1991)

A Gazetteer of Buildings in Muslim Palestine. Ed. Andrew Petersen. Oxford, 2001. (WID-LC NA1477 .P48 2001 F)

The Dome of the Rock. Photos: Said Nuseibeh, essay: Oleg Grabar. New York, 1996. (FA 1970.646.17.5.2)

Grabar, Oleg. Jerusalem. Aldershot, 2005. (FAL-LC NA5978.J4 G73 2005); also available online on Archnet 

Bayt al-Maqdis: 1. Abd al-Malik's Jerusalem / 2. Jerusalem and Early Islam. Ed. by Julian Raby and Jeremy Johns. Oxford, 1992-1999. (FA 1970.646.5.14 vol.1-2)

Ayyubid Jerusalem: The Holy City in Context 1187-1250. Ed. by Robert Hillenbrand and Sylvia Auld. London, 2009. (FAL-LC D182.A99 2009)

Burgoyne, Michael. Mamluk Jerusalem: An Architectural Study. London, 1987. (FA 1970.646.29)

Ottoman Jerusalem: The Living City, 1517-1917. Ed. Sylvia Auld & Robert Hillenbrand. 2 vols. London, 2000. (FA 1970.646)

Peters, Francis E. Jerusalem: The Holy City in the Eyes of Chroniclers, Visitors, Pilgrims, and Prophets from the Days of Abraham to the Beginnings of Modern Times. Princeton, N.J., 1985. (FA111.63.13)

Kanʻān, Tawfīq. Mohammedan Saints and Sanctuaries in Palestine. London, 1927, reprt. Jerusalem,1980. (FA 111.63.27)

Treasures from an Ancient Land: The Art of Jordan. Ed. Piotr Bienkowski. Stroud, 1991. (FA 534.301.7)

Almagro Gorbea, Antonio. El Palacio Omeya de Amman. Madrid, 1983-2000. 3 vols. (FA 972.720.4)

Whitcomb, Donald S. Ayla: Art and Industry in the Islamic Port of Aqaba. Chicago, 1994. (FA 534.512.3)

Najm, Nabīl Yūsuf. ʻAnjar: al-madīnah al-Umawīyah. Beirut, 2003. (FAL-LC DS89.A56 N35 2003)

Kennedy, Hugh. Crusader Castles. Cambridge, 1994. (FA 1708.1)

Debbas, Fouad. Beirut, Our Memory: A Guided Tour Illustrated with Picture Postcards. 2nd ed. Beirut, 1986. (FA 10128.19.2)

Salam Liebich, Hayat. The Architecture of the Mamluk city of Tripoli. Cambridge, Mass., 1983.  (FA 1966.760.1)

Burns, Ross. Monuments of Syria: A Guide. London, 2009. (FAL-LC DS94.5.B87 2009)

Monuments of Syria: A Window on Syria's Past, by Ross Burns. An online, visual supplement to the author's book, with 670 photographs covering 130 sites.

Degeorge, Gérard. La Grande mosquée des Omeyyades, Damas. Arles, 2010. (FAL-LC NA5989.7.D34 D44 2010)

Flood, Finbarr Barry. The Great Mosque of Damascus: Studies on the Makings of an Umayyad Visual Culture. Leiden, 2001. (FA 1964.569.36)

Allen, Terry. A Classical Revival in Islamic Architecture. Wiesbaden, 1986. (FA 1964.800.2.3)

Tabbaa, Yasser. Constructions of Power and Piety in Medieval Aleppo. University Park, Pa., 1997. (FA 1964.508.11)

Watenpaugh, Heghnar Zeiltian. The Image of an Ottoman City: Imperial Architecture and Urban Experience in Aleppo in the 16th and 17th Centuries. Leiden, 2004. (FAL-LC NA1489.7.A43 W37 2004)

MESOPOTAMIA (THE JAZIRAH & IRAQ)

The Art of Syria and the Jazira, 1100-1250. Ed. Julian Raby. Oxford, 1985. (FA 530.450.1)

Sarre, Friedrich, & Ernst Herzfeld. Archäologische Reise im Euphrat- und Tigris-Gebiet. 4 vols. Berlin, 1911-20. (Fine Arts XFA 524.401 Folio)

Classic illustrated survey of Islamic architecture in the Jazirah and Iraq.

al-Kubaisy, Falah. Mosul: The Architectural Conservation in Mosul Old Town, Iraq. Bahrain, 2010. (FAL-LC NA109.I72)    

Janabi, Tariq. Studies in Mediaeval Iraqi Architecture. Baghdad, 1982. (FA 1944.401.1)

Bell, Gertrude. Palace and Mosque at Ukhaidir: A Study in Early Mohammadan Architecture.Oxford, 1914. (FA1920.15 Folio)

Northedge, Alastair. The Historical Topography of Samarra. 2nd rev. ed. London, 2007. (FAL-LC DS79.9.S3 N67 2007)

Strika, Vincenzo, & Jabir Khalil. The Islamic Architecture of Baghdad. Naples, 1987. (FA 1945.188.9)

Grabar, Oleg. The Illustrations of the Maqamat. Chicago, 1984. (FA 4499.123)

Ḥarīrī, 1054-1122. Maqāmāt al-Ḥarīrī. London, 2003. 2 vols. (XFA 4499.247.1 Folio)

Full facsimile of the illustrated Maqāmāt manuscript in the Bibliothèque nationale (Paris).

Milstein, Rachel. Miniature Painting in Ottoman Baghdad. Costa Mesa Calif.,1990. (FA 3545.188.3)

Allan, James W. The Art and Architecture of Twelver Shiʻism: Iraq, Iran and the Indian Sub-continent. London, 2012. (FAL-LC N6260 .A387 2012)

THE ARABIAN PENINSULA

Roads of Arabia: Archaeology and History of the kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Ed. by Ali Ibrahim al-Ghabban. Paris, 2010. (FAL-LC N7270 .R63 2010)

King, G.R.D. The Historical Mosques of Saudi Arabia. London, 1986. (FA 1974.301.8 F)

Hajj: The Journey through Art. Ed. Mounia Chekhab-Abudaya & Cécile Bresc. Doha, 2013. (FAL-LC BP187.3 .H35 2013)

Peters, Francis E. Jerusalem and Mecca: The Typology of the Holy City in the Near East. New York, 1986. (FA 111.63.17)

Esin, Emel. Mecca the Blessed, Madinah the Radiant. New York, 1963. (Widener Asia 7425.6)

The Architecture of the Prophet's Holy Mosque, al Madinah. Ed. by Salma Samar Damluji. London, 1998. (FA 1974.670.200.2 F)

Sardar, Ziauddin. Mecca: The Sacred City. London, 2014. (WID-LC DS248.M4 S33 2014x)

Mauger, Thierry. Impressions of Arabia: Architecture and Frescoes of the Asir Region. Paris, 1996. (FA 1974.516.3)

Yemen: 3000 years of Art and Civilisation in Arabia Felix. Ed. Werner Daum. Innsbruck, 1987. (FA 536.301.3)

Finster, Barbara. An Outline of the History of Islamic Religious Architecture in Yemen. Muqarnas 9 (1992): 124-47.

Damluji, Salma Samar. The Architecture of Yemen, from Yāfiʻ to Ḥaḍramūt. London, 2007. (Loeb Design Oversize NA1490.Y45 D36 2007)

Bonnenfant, Paul. Les maisons tours de Sanaa. Paris, 1989. (FA 1976.733.9)

Giunta, Roberta. The Rasūlid Architectural Patronage in Yemen: A Catalogue. Naples, 1997. (Widener NA1465.5 .G58 1997 F)

Al-Radi, Selma. The ʻAmiriya in Radaʻ: The History and Restoration of a Sixteenth-century Madrasa in the Yemen. Oxford, 1997. (FA 1976.724.1)

Peggy Crawford: Photographs of Yemen. Close to 15,000 photographs of people and places in Yemen, taken on nine trips between 1985 and 2004. A selection of the photos has been digitized and has been made available on Archnet.

Damluji, Salma Samar. The Architecture of Oman. Reading, 1998. (Loeb Design Oversize NA1490.O4 D34 1998)

al-Salimi, Abdurrahman, Heinz Gaube, and Lorenz Korn. Islamic Art in Oman. Muscat, 2008. (FAL-LC N6264.O5 A43 2008)

Hawker, R. Building on Desert Tides: Traditional Architecture of the Arabian Gulf. Southampton, 2008. (FAL-LC NA1465.5 .H39 2008)

Kazerooni, Farry. Persian Gulf Islamic Architecture. Tehran, 2009. (FAL-LC NA1460. K39 2009)

Subject specialist

Andras Riedlmayer's picture
Andras Riedlmayer
Contact:
Aga Khan Program
Fine Arts Library
Harvard University
1805 Cambridge Street
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
617-495-3372
Website